Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


84 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Reformation saint
Luther is a remarkable film in many ways. One disclaimer should be made -- this is not a documentary, in which the standard phrase about scenes being created or adapted for dramatic purposes would be made. No such disclaimer is given here, but the serious observer watching for history as well as entertainment should be warned not to accept everything at face value...
Published on 6 Jan. 2006 by Kurt Messick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring but ultimately rewarding
Eric Till's Luther starts badly - very badly - with a rushed prologue that felt like a bad TV miniseries (I was waiting for the voice-over: "Previously on Luther") and requires the audience's patience for the first 20 minutes or so. Till is a supremely visually unimaginative director - were it not for captions and corruption, you wouldn't know when you were in Rome or...
Published on 15 Nov. 2005 by Trevor Willsmer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars a nice video., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
a really nice video, but upon checking rather a disapointing character in his hostility toward the people of God the jews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther, 1 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
On its own merit a great film. Helped me put this period of history into perspective for the course I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther DVD, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
I thought the production of this DVD was excellent. It made a film well worth watching. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking!, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. R. C. Fincher (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
It has to be rated 5 star simply because it tells the truth it shows the world what happened and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther changes things., 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
Interesting historical period in Europe, I enjoyed the film, Luther changed things for good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Packing., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
The Luther DVD arrived in a strong packing,and wasn`t damaged at all.It is a fine product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Movie, 1 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
Luther is one of the best Christian movies I have seen. I don't know what the budget was but it looks great. The cast are superb, real quality actors and it shows. I know a certain amount about Luther but certainly not as much as some of the other reviewers on here. However, purely as a movie I'd definately recommend this. The story doesn't drag, you are gripped throughout and Joseph Fiennes is compelling to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
R. Pinheiro Goncalves "RPG" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
Very nice product. Arrived fast and well wrapped! Really glad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight, 8 Aug. 2009
By 
Peter R (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
There are some aspects of the negative reviews that I do agree with. The biopic does start quite slowly.

However, to suggest that it is redundant in every aspect is unfair.

The film touches on many aspects of the difficulties in Luthers life. We have to understand that he was fighting against centuries of bondage that the Catholic church had imposed on people. He was also fighting against his own personal demons and struggles in his relationship with God and purity. And the film brings these struggles out clearly and very well.

It also shows that in standing up for what he believed he had to also face the consequences, which were many thousands killed.

It is definitely a film worth watching if you have an interest in church history or you have an interest in the lives of people who have created a change in world history that will have an impact on the world until Kingdom come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Historically Accurate, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
Dave Kinsella "Jesus First" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther [DVD] (2003) (DVD)
I feel the DVD, though entertaining in its own merits, is not historically accurate. There are a lot of sides to Luther that many books and DVDs leave out including his anger problem, murderous hatred of Jews, Catholics, Anabaptists and anyone else who opposed him, his willingness to eliminate or degrade books of the Bible he felt did not suit his theology and so on.

Please do not rate this review 1 star because you like Luther. Check out the facts for yourselves and then rate it.

Will the Theologians Please Sit Down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther [DVD] (2003)
Luther [DVD] (2003) by Eric Till (DVD - 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews