Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big screen - more action
It is always very difficult to migrate the small screen success to the big screen, but here this cult '70s cop drama really gets the treatment that it deserves. The first offering is laden with many actors now household names, and shows a young Lynda Bellingham as a high class call girl (difficult to imagine after 'All creatures great and small!) with Barry Foster (Van...
Published on 12 Oct. 2004 by Richard Batty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney 1 ok. Sweeney 2 dreadful
The first feature film based on the long running series (Sweeney) is exciting. Based on a feasible possibility of government corruption. A number of well known faces include Colin Welland, Diane Keene and Linda Bellinham who sadly gets bumped off right at the begging.
Sweeney 2 has a very weak story. Totally unnecessary car chases, extra add-ons that are nothing to...
Published 22 months ago by Alan Read


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big screen - more action, 12 Oct. 2004
By 
Richard Batty (Bury Cambridgeshire GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney!/Sweeney 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It is always very difficult to migrate the small screen success to the big screen, but here this cult '70s cop drama really gets the treatment that it deserves. The first offering is laden with many actors now household names, and shows a young Lynda Bellingham as a high class call girl (difficult to imagine after 'All creatures great and small!) with Barry Foster (Van der Valk) as her pimp and ruthless press agent for a Government minister. The action is fast and opens up the characters of Regan and Carter Well. Colin Welland also makes an appearance, as he did in the second series.
It is in the follow up Sweeney 2 however that it all comes right with the dream team of Kennedy Martin, Clegg and Childs giving the characters all they should have. In addition The music score by Tony Hatch adds a lot to the suspense. The language is more in keeping with gritty coppers on a serious crime investigation, plus there is gratutious nudity so popular in the period.
The Action is always interesting and realistic, and putting the two films back to back is the best way to see the developments and realisation of the scripts and characters. Highly recommended, paricularly if you have the video versions already as these editions are far superior. The 5 star rating given is in the context of Sweeney productions rather than as a world cinema ranking. Its' appeal is more to fans than the general public
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shut it!, 19 April 2008
By 
M. J. Jones "matt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Great stuff. A shameless world of birds, shooters, guvnors and cars like your dad drove..

This is how the Bill used to be before they adopted soap-opera style plots and policemen and women who look like catalogue models. The Sweeney movies are a wonderful mix of vicious villains and grumpy, randy, chain smoking, drink-driving policemen. Yes the clothes and decor are hilarious (check out Carter's migraine-inducing bathroom wallpaper in the 1st movie)but they are absorbing, exciting thrillers. Sweeney 2 is my favourite, as the action is offset by a surprising amount of humour. The bickering, occasionally bumbling policemen ( the brewery stake-out is hysterical)and the running gags of Regan and the telephonist and his frustration with his new driver make the characters that little bit more human than your average uk police show of the time. John Thaw's potrayal of shock and frustration at the bloody climax is truly moving.His rapport with Dennis Waterman makes them one of THE great double acts of '70s tv
Wonderful un-pc fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff from the sweeney boys, 4 Jun. 2007
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
There is a bit of a snooty myth going around that the Sweeney movies weren't up to much. Unpleasant cash-ins with very little to recommend them.

I must contest this view. 'Sweeney' - the most maligned - is a pretty good crime thriller. Okay, it's not Jack and George leaning on a 'snout' to get the 'blaggers' in the typical Sweeney way, however, as a sort-of political thriller, it holds together.

Regan is framed and off the force. Can he get back? Well, of course, but he also puts paid to a massive, American-led conspiracy. Diane Keen is great and, gosh, you do get to see a lot of her and the Oxo woman is a high class call girl! Goodness. Great period feel and I actually thought the ending was pretty sweet.

I was less convinced by Sweeney 2, which is generally felt superior because Troy Kennedy Martin wrote the script. Don't get me wrong, it is tremendous fun, but why these blaggers were shooting their own team members if they looked like getting caught was beyond me. Seventies blaggers were not famatics, they were professional criminals.

Nevertheless - great entertainment. Regan, drunk, trying to chat up the woman from the The Upper Hand. Superb.

Buy it and add to all those Sweeney series. You deserve it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cracking Cop Thriller With Unique Style, 9 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I've just watched Sweeney! on TV on what was admittedly a quiet night despite the plethora of channels these days - and if I sound like I was a tad reluctant it was because I remembered I'd already seen the movie years ago. What I didn't remember was just how good this film is. It's a cracker.
I was a fan of the TV series, from which the movie is a spin-off, originally back in the Seventies, so that may account for the onset of my amnesia - age taking its toll, alas. But the years have not blunted the action one jot.
If you like your heroes a bit dog-eared - by long hours on a hard job, boozing, smoking, trying to pull the occasional lady who crosses their path, prepared to give the bad guys a good smacking to get results, and above all, totally realistic, this is the stuff. Moreover, it does it so well, it deserves to be recognised as a classic. It broke new ground in UK TV/cinema, was much imitated but never bettered, and is waiting for a new audience to find, for whom the Seventies was before their time and sent up by the likes of Life on Mars, which references The Sweeney in just about every frame.
The plot's intrigue builds inexorably. When an informant's girlfriend apparently commits suicide, he asks Detective Inspector Regan (the truly superb John Thaw) of Scotland Yard's elite Flying Squad, to look into the matter as a favour. Initially sceptical, when the number of people who knew the girl suddenly ending up dead starts to grow, Regan begins to change his mind, and we're flung into a complex web of conspiracy with powerful and totally ruthless villains, some of them in very high places. Regan and his side-kick Sergeant Carter (Dennis Waterman) and high-class call girl and potential witness Bianca (a gorgeous Diane Keen) are all in mortal danger.
Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the movie is that - obvious fashion items and other period detail aside - it has not dated at all. The action is breakneck, the violence terrifying and the antagonists fearsome. It was shocking stuff back then and it still is now. Again, it's the realism that socks home - you don't see actors scrambling down a whole flight of stair in a Bruce Willis movie to escape a machine-gun-toting killer. It's that kind of authenticity that gives the film its gritty, edge-of-the-seat, bite-your-nails-right-down grip.
It certainly lifted an otherwise flagging Friday night, I can tell you. Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We're The Sweeney, son, and we haven't had any dinner", 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
During the 70's I was not a great fan of The Sweeney TV series, but, I saw both of the feature films when working in London in the late 70's and was hooked, particularly Sweeney 2. Maybe it's middle aged nostalgia kicking in, but I felt the need to see both films again to see if they were as good as I remembered. I wasn't disappointed, they are! Both films are different in there own way, but the strength of the two main characters the brilliant John Thaw as Regan and Dennis Waterman as Carter, and the sub plots involved, particularly in the first film, make them both great viewing. The Sweeney was ground breaking TV at the time the series was aired in the mid seventies, tackling the very real subjects of police corruption in the metropolitan police and the the gritty world of the flying squad and the criminals they came up against.
If you love the 70's and enjoy a good realistic drama/action with some great dark humour thrown in, you will enjoy both Sweeney and Sweeney 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best-from the best, 1 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Look, the Sweeney is simply the best TV cop show ever made. Or at least that I've seen. These two movies are hugely entertaining, but very different.

The first movie (the one I remember being an 18, so I couldn't see it when it came out) is NOT a Sweeney story. It's a story straight out of "The Professionals", and as such, the first time I saw it I wasn't so keen. However, the story, in the manner of, say the manipulative financial background of "The Wild Geese" is actually pretty enjoyable for its day if dated now, and the strain between Regan and Carter is something less often seen since the show's movie length pilot. The ending is excellent, and Regan's ruthlessness fantastic; the "What do you think you're doing, Inspector..." (ok, misquoting, I bet..) sequence is well worth waiting for, and the utterly ruthless assassins are amusing.

Sweeney 2- well, that is genuinely the TV series on speed with a budget. "They're blaggers, Jack. They rob banks." what more of a set-up line did you need? Lots of little asides, excitement, lots of faces (Frosts's sidekick as a villain always makes me chuckle), the final party in the pub. The feeling for the villains that, as in "Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid" and "The Wild Bunch", something is coming to an end. This is all classic Sweeney, and fantastic. Hugely entertaining; shame the politically correct lobby seem not to want to let a decent show like this on TV now, so we get children's shows like "Spooks" passed off as cutting edge. And I'm sure this was an AA (14)at the cinema?

Anyway, yes, this is dated stuff, a child or children of the time, maybe even a few years beyond the right time, but with the excitement and humour-lots of humour, particularly in "2" undiminished, it's well worth a watch to remind us how good TV and its spin offs can be.

Ahhh, nostaglia IS what it used to be.

Mind, if "The Sweeney" isn't part of your TV history,or you are a slave to political correctness, you could score this much more harshly. I'm sure.

My review, my score. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney 1 ok. Sweeney 2 dreadful, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
The first feature film based on the long running series (Sweeney) is exciting. Based on a feasible possibility of government corruption. A number of well known faces include Colin Welland, Diane Keene and Linda Bellinham who sadly gets bumped off right at the begging.
Sweeney 2 has a very weak story. Totally unnecessary car chases, extra add-ons that are nothing to do with the main plot. Finally some out of place swearing. Rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two very different films, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Nigel Dyer (brighton, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Sweeney! shows Regan as truly out of his depth, something always hinted at in the tv series. As he flounders in a genuinely distasteful world of corruption, conspiracy and sordid amorality he engages both our sympathy and profound identification. The final frame is chilling, redolent of Villain, Stardust or Flame. Sweeney 2 sees Regan and Carter in more familiar territory and is hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney! - a Canuck's pursuit eh, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Having viewed only the first 20 minutes of Sweeney 2 online, it was a must have, along with the Reagan pilot. Tooks years actually. Having no luck with multi format DVD players, a converting ripper was purchased and finally, albeit running through a computer, success - well worth the effort!
Surprisingly, Sweeney! - trumped Sweeney 2, in my opinion, as I found Sweeney 2 a very strong start progressively running low on spark. Where as Sweeney! ramped up the action and intrigue throughout.
Having watched every episode countless times, the movies were indeed a fitting farewell.
Long live the best Copper show ever. Forty years on, as strong as the first day and an amazing accomplishment.

FOOTNOTE: many UK productions such as Bulman, are unavailable here, so the transfer process must be used. Yes -I am living the past, but oh what great times it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweeney! is a much under-rated film., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
It's fast-paced and has a great cast. All the stars deliver the goods, but watch out for the brilliant gun-toting assassin, who clearly loves his job too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweeney! Movie Collection (Sweeney!/Sweeney 2) [1976] [DVD]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews