Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Defining Moment
Rickie Lee Jones has made more than enough remarkable music in her career to ensure her reputation, no matter what risks she takes in the process of exploring new horizons. But even by her consistently exacting standards, this album is truly extraordinary & very, very special. It is, in fact, a great work of art with Ms Jones turning in the performance of a lifetime. If...
Published on 11 Oct. 2009 by Harvey Randall

versus
16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'One for the purists'
Rickie Lee Jones is my favourite female singer, and I have bought all her recordings from the first LP. I have listened to this cd a few times now, and must admit it is growing on me. For the fan, then buy it because it is different from anything she has done, but if you are new to her, and not sure, then buy the anthology for a good cross section of her work. If you...
Published on 20 Feb. 2007 by I. Douglas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Defining Moment, 11 Oct. 2009
Rickie Lee Jones has made more than enough remarkable music in her career to ensure her reputation, no matter what risks she takes in the process of exploring new horizons. But even by her consistently exacting standards, this album is truly extraordinary & very, very special. It is, in fact, a great work of art with Ms Jones turning in the performance of a lifetime. If you don't get it on first hearing, try & try again until her improvisational genius reveals itself to you from a different angle with each track- as I'm sure it will. I don't believe anything quite like this exists anyplace out there & I very much doubt if we'll hear anything quite like it again. Comparisons have been made with Joni Mitchell & Patti Smith but the comparisons fall way quickly, for with this record Rickie Lee not only delivers more than either of the latter (& that's really saying something) but lays down a powerful claim to be henceforth regarded as the USA's premier female recording artist- with particular emphasis on that word 'artist'.

You could argue that Jones highjacked this record, but if she did then it was with everyone's astonished consent. It started out as a deliberately lo-fi project initiated by Lee Cantelon's desire to set passages from his book The Words in musical settings. Jones was invited to contribute to the recitals but at the very first session asked if she could sing instead. The result was the album's improvised opening track 'Nobody Knows My Name', a single-take masterpiece of off-the cuff verbal/poetic singing that apparently left everyone else in attendance literally speechless in stunned admiration. This was not exactly what Cantelon originally had in mind, but it is to his credit that he recognised what Ms Jones was bringing to the sessions as so far beyond expectation (including, probably, her own) that the project was allowed to mutate into something else entirely, with Jones using the source material as the springboard from which her own abundant gifts were unleashed with devastating effect. There are breathtaking performances everywhere you turn here but I'm obliged to declare that 'It Hurts' brings a lump to the throat every time I hear it, & that 'I Was There' is such a compulsive listening experience that its 8 minutes-plus pass by in what seems to be half that time.

The accompanying DVD offers some insightful glimpses of Jones and the other musicians at work in the studio & is recommended for riveting performances of 'Tried To Be A Man', 'It Hurts' & 'I Was There'. There are moments here where Jones appears to possess shamanic qualities that make themselves felt in her every utterance and each note she plays.

This record which goes beyond any known superlatives & is arguably the most explicit statement yet of the musical genius know to us as Rickie Lee Jones. Prepare to be stricken by genuine wonderment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the real thing, 24 Mar. 2007
This is a wonderful CD. Utterly unique. Apparently she was requested to speak the words of Jesus and asked to sing instead. This is the result. Most of the songs are first take meditations, there is no refinement just direct communication. There is nothing sweet or easy about the music, at times she sounds like Patty Smith or Velvet Underground. Don't be put off by any idea this is a Christian album there is no Christianity in the usual sense, just powerful words and intense music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'One for the purists', 20 Feb. 2007
By 
I. Douglas (Billingham, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rickie Lee Jones is my favourite female singer, and I have bought all her recordings from the first LP. I have listened to this cd a few times now, and must admit it is growing on me. For the fan, then buy it because it is different from anything she has done, but if you are new to her, and not sure, then buy the anthology for a good cross section of her work. If you like that, then start at her first album and work your way through them in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one take, one takes?, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Malcolm Boyd "seven's" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sermon On Exposition Boulevard (Audio CD)
This is a one take, raw recording.
Does that mean it is more live than a recorded cd? On the cd journey i have followed for the last twenty five years RLJ has never dissapointed, always interesting and searching, rubbing up against the boundries of her craft.
Here she expresses (sings)the "word (or words) of "god" (jesus).... dont let the description or difficulty of marketing put you off. One of here live and lived performances, bought and paid for, it stands along the more melodic cd's a rwaw but not rough performance. If you listen carefully you will hear....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Found God, lost quality control, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Franimi (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sermon On Exposition Boulevard (Audio CD)
Hmm. When RLJ was making admittedly loose but real music, I was a big fan. then various demons seemed to grab hold, and the form and content of her output became patchy to say the least. Her voice has always been an acquired taste, and can turn into a unpleasant tuneless wail, and this is mainly what we have here, along with self-indulgence and sanctimony. Proof that being born again isn't sufficient as far as making a coherent, listenable album is concerned. As a general rule I'm allergic to anything in the pop music arena that has a sacred bent, but I thought I'd give her the benefit of the doubt. Mistake. There was a time when this lady had the best producers and the best musicians at her fingertips. The absence of these is the main problem, no guiding hand for advice and quality control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top value, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
Philip lewis -williams "PLW" (Swarkestone..) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sermon On Exposition Boulevard (Audio CD)
This is a classic.. she is the female tom Waits , and she gets better with each album.wrapped CD prompt service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Used to be a fan!, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
I have at least four R L J albums from yesteryear,all enjoyable in their own way.Then i saw this SACD and thought "Oh yes ,i must have this" Well to say i was disappointed was a massive understatement.This has to be the biggest load of nasal bunkum that i have heard in years!That is if you are lucky to make any sense of the lyrics.It is interminable and you will award yourself a putty medal if you make it to the end!If this is what a 10 year layoff produces then stick to her earlier albums...those you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sermon On Exposition Boulevard
Sermon On Exposition Boulevard by Rickie Lee Jones (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews