Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a dipole antenna, therefore use it as intended.
People saying that this aerial brings no improvement over the "piece of wire" you stick into the tuner's socket clearly have no idea how to use a dipole. You don't hide it curled up behind a shelf or something. Lift the center of the top horizontal section as high as possible on a wall inside the room with the receiver, and tack it to the wall with a push-pin. Spread the...
Published 20 months ago by A. Obermann

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No improvement in reception
This product is well made and was dispatched quickly and at a good price by the seller.

Unfortunately there was no improvement at all in the FM reception to my analogue radio over the current aerial, which is a piece of wire pushed into the aerial socket! It was doubly annoying as both the ribbon aerial and the aerial socket on the radio have female coaxial...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Jonny


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a dipole antenna, therefore use it as intended., 4 May 2013
By 
A. Obermann "Dragonheart" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
People saying that this aerial brings no improvement over the "piece of wire" you stick into the tuner's socket clearly have no idea how to use a dipole. You don't hide it curled up behind a shelf or something. Lift the center of the top horizontal section as high as possible on a wall inside the room with the receiver, and tack it to the wall with a push-pin. Spread the top crossbar out straight and level. Dipole antennas work best in a straight T-shape. Tack the ends of the horizontal cable to the wall with push-pins. There are small holes in the ends of the antenna arms for this purpose.

I went from lousy 20dB indoors to 43-46dB which is quite an improvement and allows good stereo quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No improvement in reception, 19 July 2011
By 
Jonny (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
This product is well made and was dispatched quickly and at a good price by the seller.

Unfortunately there was no improvement at all in the FM reception to my analogue radio over the current aerial, which is a piece of wire pushed into the aerial socket! It was doubly annoying as both the ribbon aerial and the aerial socket on the radio have female coaxial connectors, so I also had to buy a male-to-male coaxial adapter. Pair of Coaxial Aerial Adaptors / Connectors Male-Male by Cable Mountain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant aerial, 12 Oct 2012
By 
Peter B (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
I wanted to get FM reception on a bedroom hi-fi without having to run a cable from the distribution box in the loft so I thought I would try this ribbon aerial. Without an aerial connected (and even with a set top aerial connected) all I was getting was static. With this aerial connected I can receive good reception on as many stations as I can using the roof mounted aerial in another room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works with stereo FM tuner, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
Living in a rural area, FM reception is shocking. (Having said that, our 2G phone signal is an intermittent luxury, Freeview obtainable only by mast and booster, while DAB consists of six imperfect stations. FM reception is aspirational.)
Prior to receiving this the HiFi stereo Tuner (Kenwood) could pick up one AM channel and no FM channels. Having plugged this antenna in, the tuner now receives the same range of FM channels that the car radios can get i.e. six FM channels and four AM channels. The latter is an unexpected bonus.
Reception is not perfect- thus 4 stars instead of 5 but it is perfectly acceptable.

The item in question looks and feels like a good quality product, certainly better than anticipated at this price. Be aware that it is a "female" connector.

For those with tuners living in a semi-rural area, this may do the trick and it is an inexpensive trick at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FM Ribbon Aerial, 27 Nov 2011
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
It's an Aerial ! It works really well. Great Value at £1.78 Post Free.
I cut off the Coax plug which I didn't need.
Quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful aerial, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
I purchased this aerial to use with a Bose Wave Radio. It does its job very well. Length is more than adequate and it feels like a quality product - there is no impression of cheap materials or finish. Basically, you can fit it and forget it (especially as it blends into the background well).

A potentially useful companion product, which I needed to connect the aerial to the Wave Radio, is Pair of Coaxial Aerial Adaptors / Connectors Female-Female by Cable Mountain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 30 July 2011
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
Prompt and free delivery. Very good price.
Plug in, tune in radio station, sound at last.
Couldn't be easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FM Ribbon Aerial, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
I finally got really good reception with this ribbon aerial,

Works as expected from the moment you first plug it in,

Couldn't be easier,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reception, 7 April 2012
By 
Cecilwsowden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
I finally got really good reception with this ribbon aerial. For the price it was an incredible bargain and would certainly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazed, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FM Ribbon Aerial (Toy)
I ordered this areal to try it out and am absolutely amazed with the reception from it. I only got one station with with ordinary areal and now can pick up 8, I know thats not a lot but it is 800 per cent better than without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FM Ribbon Aerial
FM Ribbon Aerial by Electrovision
£2.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews