Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Vampire Movies EVER!
I saw this years ago late one night as a teen and absolutely loved it. Up until then I had thought The Lost Boys was one the gems of 80s vampire flicks but when I saw this I realised how wrong I was.

Don't get me wrong Lost Boys is great but Near Dark is exactly that, dark. It doesn't have any of the hollywood gloss that some movies have, it strips the genre...
Published on 5 Jun 2009 by Bookmyster81

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine, if you just want the film.
As much as I love this film, and considered the transfer to be excellent, this disc seriously lacks special features, and even subtitles.

My DVD copy has:-
Living in Darkness' - a 47 minute documentary featuring interviews with the stars and the producers and director
Deleted scene with commentary, Theatrical trailers, Original storyboards, Poster and...
Published 13 months ago by R. J. Seeley


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars near dark, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Gary Morris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great classic vampire flick(vampire not mentioned once in film)excellent transfer to blu ray.Unlike other films i have purchased.Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finger licking good..., 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Caleb Colton meets Mae late night in town and she asks for a ride to her trailer.

It is near dawn and Mae is in a hurry, he asks for a kiss and she bites him on the neck.

When the sunlight hits him he starts to burn. A van appears out of the blue and kidnaps Caleb.

He is introduced to Mae's family: the leader Jesse, Diamondback, Severen and Homer. All of them are predator creatures of night that need blood to survive.

Family are looking for Caleb, when they meet each other in a motel, Caleb has to choose between his beloved family or his love for Mae.

A wonderful western come vampire movie that owes a lot to Cameron, but also shows why Bigelow is one of the most important directors of recent years. Unfairly shadowed by The Lost Boys on it's initial release (They are both great movies, but this should have had more recognition), it plays like the deranged cousin of the Schumacher movie, dark in mood, with a hypnotic score from Tangerine Dream.

The gang of 'undead' are a wonderful creation, each having there own traits and demons, but none more than Paxton. His Severen is an amazing feat, a character who is truly scary from the upstart, and he really goes up to eleven as the film progresses.

The rest of the cast are great and there are some terrific set pieces, namely the bar scenes, which has an amazing sense of dread throughout, much like the Video scene in 'Henry: poask' you feel helpless for the patrons, and even though you know what will happen, you want them to escape.

All in all a great inclusion to the genre, but one that has escaped many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I first saw Near Dark on Film4 and loved it straight away.

I bought the DVD and watch it pretty regularly.

The soundtrack is amazing, the characters are interesting and their isn't a dull moment throughout the whole film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Vamp film!, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] (DVD)
Get it! Watch it! Enjoy it!! It is well worth a sit on the couch and a look see. X!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best vampire movies to emerge from the 1980's!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Near Dark is easily one of the best cult 80's vampire horror films ever made, Kathryn Bigelow's Near Dark is one of the most surprisingly great films I have ever seen and if it wasn't for some easily identifiable hiccups I'd say this might have been my favorite vampire film ever. I'll settle for second best of course as this is still a fantastically atmospheric amalgam of lovers-on-the-run tropes, vampire mythology, and some action genre elements. The best part though is that this film takes a lot of familiar story beats and turns them into one of the most original horror films I have ever seen. The movie stars Adrian Pasdar (from television's Heroes) as Caleb, a love lorn cowboy who is way over his head when he is abducted by a "family" of traveling vampires after he is bitten by the seductive Mae (Jenny Wright). Caleb must prove his worth to his new family by quenching his thirst and kill an unsuspecting victim. Meanwhile, his real family are on the hunt looking for him.

Featuring memorable performances by Lance Henriksen (Aliens, 1986) and a wonderfully over the top Bill Paxton (Frailty, 2001) as the sadistic Severen, Near Dark is an extremely well made, original take on the vampire genre. Bigelow, along with Eric Red (The Hitcher, 1986), have written a screenplay full of unique characters and not sub-standard caricatures. Two characters stand out; the first is Jesse, a vampire who is over 200 years old and fought for the south in the Civil War, played well by Henriksen with subdued ferocity and assured confidence. And second is Homer, an old man trapped in a 12 year old child's body and played by Joshua John Miller, who ironically is the brother of Jason Patric, star of the other, more successful 1987 vampire movie The Lost Boys. This is a violent film, with the bloody massacre of a red neck bar being one of the gorier scenes, however it wasn't over the top like much of the 80's horror films out there. Probably one of the great sequences between the vampires and a battalion of police officers shows off the exceptional eye Bigelow has for action.

The whole cast is clearly enjoying themselves, particularly Paxton, and Bigelow knew how to tie everything together without taking on too much or too little. It works as a short story of sorts, if that makes sense. My only complaint, and it's even really a complaint, is that perhaps the score is a bit dated in parts; can't really say it's at all significant, especially since the perfect use of "Fever" during the bar scene makes up for all of that. Overall, it's one of the better vampire films because, on top of being a subtle and enjoyable look at the genre, its original and almost "western" atmosphere sets it apart.

The transfer from Anchor bay is very good and the source material is remarkably free from blemishes, dirt, etc. The shadow detail is slightly muddy with a little loss of detail in some scenes but overall it looks good. Audio options include DD 5.1, DD 2.0, and dTs and the entire package is THX certified. There is a 16-page collector booklet that features poster artwork, publicity stills, facts about the film, chapter stops, and an introduction by Michael Felsher who talks about the film's history from theatrical release to disappearance to eventual resurrection on DVD. There is also a full-length commentary by Director Kathryn Bigelow. A documentary, LIVING IN DARKNESS which reunites the entire cast and crew and gives a lot of interesting facts and insight about this movie. A deleted scene, 5 sets of storyboards, a poster and still gallery, two theatrical trailers, and an unusually complete cast biographies. Overall, Near Dark was an amazing and highly enjoyable 80's horror flick which I recommend to horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] (DVD)
If you like the lost boys you will like this film vampires galore ! Definitely worth a watch wouldn't rate it a 18
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near Dark Vamps., 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not quite your usual vamping gorge, but more of a family get together. It draws you into feeling sympathy and understanding for their plight. Sad ending with undertones of happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 31 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. P. Shepherd "Trish" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of the vampire movies and I love this film - takes me back a good bit to when I was in my teens and we all used to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] (DVD)
One of my favourites, original and classic. Beats the twilight films! I'd recommend to people who like dark fantasy genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Dark [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I quite enjoyed this. It's a good old-school vampire film. Worth a watch if you like this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8684d20)

This product

Near Dark (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
Near Dark (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] by Thomas Wagner (DVD - 2007)
7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews