Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best even today.
I remember first seeing this film years ago, when I was either approaching or just in my early teens. I remember it being gritty and brutal, loving it, and going straight out to buy it on VHS having just rented it from the newsagent up the road (remember that? When you rented films from the wire rack at your local newsagent?!!)

Anyway, I have just watched it...
Published on 8 Mar. 2013 by The Truth

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie but foreseeable ending
This is definitely a very good movie on gang life in NYC (at least as this could have been some years ago), namely the two leaders. Everyone's acting here is excellent, and a very young Sean Penn shows his capabilities to be developed later. However, the overall plot (the bad one looses, the good one wins) is foreseeable and draws a bit from the overall rating, in my...
Published on 13 Jun. 2011 by F. Panin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best even today., 8 Mar. 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember first seeing this film years ago, when I was either approaching or just in my early teens. I remember it being gritty and brutal, loving it, and going straight out to buy it on VHS having just rented it from the newsagent up the road (remember that? When you rented films from the wire rack at your local newsagent?!!)

Anyway, I have just watched it again tonight and I'm glad to say the film is still just as compelling to watch as an adult as it was when I was younger. It's still gritty, it's still raw, and it still doesn't pull any punches. Parts of it are obviously a bit dated now but it's stood the test of time well and holds up against many of today's films.

It could be called the American version of Scum I suppose, which it kind of is, but I think it feels a lot more real in some ways and there are some good messages in it that come across well without being too cliched or preachy. Bad Boys is a film that has stuck with me since I first watched it and has lost none of its power all these years later, and that's thanks to a great story and dialogue.

Testament to this is the film's running time. Coming in at around the 2 hour mark, which was virtually unheard of back in the early 80s when it was first released, the story isn't rushed and has time to grow and develop, drawing you in as it does so. Buy the end, you really feel you've witnessed life through the eyes of a young offender growing up in Illinois - and let me tell you, it ain't pretty, but it makes for great cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rainford Juvenile Correction Facility-Home of Bad Boys., 15 Mar. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] (DVD)
Bad Boys is directed by Rick Rosenthal and written by Richard Di Lello. It stars Sean Penn, Esai Morales, Eric Gurry, Alan Ruck, Ally Sheedy and Clancy Brown. Music is by Bill Conti and cinematography by Bruce Surtees and Donald E. Thorin.

Mick O'Brien (Penn), a teenage criminal from Chicago, finds himself doing hard time at the Rainford Juvenile Correction Facility after his latest robbery attempt ends in tragedy. Rainford is not a place where young thugs get reformed, it's where they become harder and more prepared for a life of crime........

Teenage hoodlum movies are notoriously difficult to get right, more often than not, in spite of being riveting viewing experiences, they come off as being exploitive rather than educationally observant. Over the years there have been one or two exceptions, leading the way was Scum (1979), Alan Clarke's scorching appraisal of the British Borstal system, and from America, Rick Rosenthal's Scum influenced Bad Boys starring a pre-fame Sean Penn.

Bad Boys is a rare old beast in the pantheon of young offender movies, it manages to overcome inevitability and primitiveness of plot by giving thought to its central characters, notably Penn's wounded animal protagonist., who remarkably isn't a perfunctory part of the plot. Sense of place, too, is given much attention to detail as Rosenthal gets in tight within the confines of this juvenile facility. Di Lello's script is thankfully free of the cliches that often detract from the drama in a prison based movie, the moral choice heartbeat that pounds away in Bad Boys is never twee or shoehorned in by way of a necessity. The thematics exist on very real humanistic terms. Led by a spitfire turn from Penn, cast are mostly great, with Gurry (engaging), Sheedy (tender), Morales (complex) and Brown (menacing) adding a professionalism not often seen in films of this type.

Problems arise when the film goes outside of Rainford's fences, for it loses some pent up momentum. What made Scum so searing and oppressive was that it never left the Borstal facility, claustrophobia and anger inherent were the order of the day. Bad Boys' makers choose to weld two concurrent stories on the outside, with that of Mick O'Brien's fate, it works in respect of the narrative outcome (which with some annoyance is never in any doubt), but at some cost to the mood created in the bleak interiors. There's also the issues of having to accept the ridiculousness of certain developments in the story. Be it the easy access to substances no real life prisoner would be allowed near, or the leap of faith needed to imagine that the prison authorities would allow the final confrontation to become a reality, we are asked to look the other way in order to get some hefty wallop into the drama.

Violent and unflinching in its emotional honesty, and supremely crafted on both sides of the camera, Bad Boys, one or two hiccups aside, is a first rate drama. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal Young offenders movie, 16 Mar. 2004
By 
Darren Ibson (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Boys [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Forget the nicey nicey film of the same title starring Will Smith, this was made some 15 years earlier and remains today one of the the most brutal, shocking and thought provoking movies I have seen. It follows the story of two rival gang leaders both sent down to a correctional facility where their rivalry continues to a bloody and fatal climax.
Sean Penn delivers a superb performance as one of the gang leaders and I have yet to see him in anything better which is not a criticism, only a tribute to a marvellous film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars blu ray lionsgate, 12 Mar. 2013
just to inform you this blu ray is REGION FREE and not region A as is stated on here and on the back of the case as for the the blu ray itself great film great commentery too blu ray is ok not brill not awfull but its cheap :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Steveml (Lancs, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Boys [DVD] (DVD)
Not to be confused with a later film of the same name.
This is a great movie. Brutally honest plot, which is really an
eye-opener. Watched this some years ago, and still remember it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Sean Penn, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] (DVD)
Really glad to have bought this film, I had been watching some of Sean Penn's most recent films and stumbled upon this classic. Its a gritty story with an excellent performance from a young Penn. This film really does give a sense of place and time, and add that with solid directing makes a very engaging film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Sean Penn buy it simple as that, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sean penn is a great actor and one I have watched in many a film, I never heard of this film before so decided to buy it and I really enjoyed it. If you are looking for special effects and explosions etc you will not find it in this movie but what you will find is quality acting and a great story line that will keep you interested to the very end. This movie is over 25 years old and obviously Sean penn is extremely young in it but he delivers a powerful performance along with the other cast members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this film years ago but they never show it on TV so when I saw it on amazon I bought it. Typical sean penn movie and I for one think he is under rated as an actor. This is the American version of ray winstons film scum, if you liked that film you will like this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars note to reviewer, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] (DVD)
quick delivery. Not watched the film. I do not want to write about this. Can someone alter the format so we can tick either good, bad or indifferent. Further comment should be optional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 5 stars, 26 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] (DVD)
Great brutal young offenders prison movie if you like scum, dog pound, Offender, then you will like this i think this the best one out the ones iv seen 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Boys (1983) [DVD]
Bad Boys (1983) [DVD] by Richard Rosenthal (DVD - 2007)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews