Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have known of this film for many years but have recently purchased the DVD.
The colour and sound are impeccable but that is by-the by. The performances by the
main acts are superb. I adore Alice Faye and clearly there is an easy understanding with Don Ameche who is impressive both with his style but surprisingly effective with his voice. Alice gets star billing but the costumes (Travis Benton) make her appear 'heavy' and do not do justice to her beauty until, of course, she sings.
'They met in Rio' stands out. However, Carmen Miranda does steal the show with, I
find words difficult to describe, other than taking over the cameras and doing
what she does best i.e entertaining. The film is superb. Not overlong: not
difficult to follow: No special effects. Sheer escapism. At the price being
offered it is impossible to resist. I'd have paid a lot more!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
I just had to purchase this DVD because I just loved it when I first saw it at the cinema in 1941 aged 15 years. It was typical of the "get away from it all" film that was so necessary during those dark days of the war. 20th Century Fox churned them out. It may be a little dated now but still enjoyable and I knew every word of the excellent songs. Don Ameche was such a charmer, if only there were actors like him today. I am so glad I purchased it.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Fox churned out musicals in the forties, and this is one of the best. It is well scripted and the stars are at the top of their form. Carmen Miranda has two of her best numbers, Don Ameche plays himself twice and Alice Faye is herself! What more can you ask?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
Carmen Miranda the architypal Latin singer and dancer joins forces here with the beautiful Alice Faye, and handsome Don Ameche, for some musical comedy and bedroom farce. Enchanting! The film gives the appearance of all being filmed in studio sets, but one can relax knowing that everything will ultimately work out well.Some of my favourite CM songs are here, including Chic a Bum Chic and I-I like you very Much, with the elegant dresses and wonderful head dresses.Present day Samba shows in Rio feature Carmen Miranda selections,so it has to be a must in the collection of any lover of Latin music.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Carmen Miranda in Rio!

There is nothing like a classic film from the golden age of cinema. There is nothing like a film with massive musical numbers and there is nothing like a film with Carmen Miranda throwing things at some poor actor.

This is a very entertaining film that provides the benefits of two people looking like each other and one pretending to be the other and the other finding out and pretending to be the guy who is pretending to be him and then confusing the ladies who end up confused.

The film does revolve around Rio however much of it was actually filmed IN Rio is a different matter. But we all know that the star of this show is Carmen Miranda who has a habit of hogging the limelight with her very exuberant acting style.

It is a feel good, amusing film from an era of filming that we forget about too often.
I would recommend it only if you like films with musicals, Carmen Miranda, tooty fruity hats or cheesy comedy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
That great movie of the 40's is a very colourful and beautiful movie with lots of beautiful dresses. This time was a great time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
The real star and to be admired is Ameche. I didn't know the actor before and have to say, he's great here giving a fine performance. Faye and Miranda are "second chorus" but nice as usual, nothing more. No famous songs or special dance performances but a well interpretated (also by minor characters), amusing story is enough for having a nice evening with this well done film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Realy enjoyed this film. Picture quality and sound are good considering its age. Just a fun film. Can't imagine them making films like this these days. Not sophisticated enough! No foul language, sex or gratuitous violence. But there was the dance sequence with the bananas! It's a film of its time, providing light-hearted entertainment during a dark time in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
This is a typical forties film. Romance and singing and people having a good time. During the war it must have seemed like heaven and it's still enjoyable now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
A fun-filled and light hearted film. One of the feel good films for a rainy day. Alice Faye was so beautiful in all her films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)