Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profondo Rosso - a must own movie
For fans of the genre's thriller, mystery, and horror, this is a movie that their collections should NOT be without. Profondo Rosso (a.k.a. Deep Red) is one of Dario Argento's greatest works and it rightly deserves its spot in the IMDB top 50 horror movies of all time.
The movie's plot sees an American freelance pianist named Marcus Daily witness the murder of a...
Published on 7 Dec 2007 by Mr. G. Williamson

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try but not as good as US Blue Underground blu ray.
As this is one of my favourite films, I have to say this release is a major letdown for a couple of reasons. First of all is the video glitch mentioned in a couple of the other reviews (there's a brief picture breakup at around the 45.27 mark), and then there's the subtitles. Unfortunately they sometimes appear before a character speaks and on occasion they appear and...
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Sean Brady


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Profondo Rosso - a must own movie, 7 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. G. Williamson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For fans of the genre's thriller, mystery, and horror, this is a movie that their collections should NOT be without. Profondo Rosso (a.k.a. Deep Red) is one of Dario Argento's greatest works and it rightly deserves its spot in the IMDB top 50 horror movies of all time.
The movie's plot sees an American freelance pianist named Marcus Daily witness the murder of a famed female parapsychologist, who also happens to be his neighbour. Following what Marcus witnesses he becomes obsessed with the murder to the point that he decides to figure it out who the killer is himself. Little does he know however that by doing so he will put both his and his friends lives at risk as the killer (who is extremely brutal when it comes to murdering their victims) soon turns their attention to Marcus.
Within the movie there are many scenes that you are unlikely to forget, for instance the table of objects scenes which are accompanyed by a catchy goblin music score, or the mechanical dummy's appearance, or the movie's climax etc.
Profondo Rosso is a movie that is guaranteed to keep you gripped from beginning to end with its unforgettable story, superb matching soundtrack by Goblin (their movie debut I believe), great acting performances and amazing directing by Argento.
I would also like to suggest that instead of purchasing this edition of the DVD that you instead go for the Dario Argento Ultimate Collection (also from Amazon). The reason being is because for just around 3.00 extra (at the time of writing) you get the same DVD except with five other Argento movies, these being The Bird with the Crystal Plumage, Cat O'Nine Tails, Demons, Demons 2, and Phenomena. This suggestion may however only apply to those who don't own the majority of those movies already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre Moments and Shocking Clarity., 17 July 2004
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
I wouldn't consider myself one of these Dario Argento buffs, raving about colour and chiarascuro BUT......
.......he does grows on you. The more you watch, the more you want. Not just the films, but the characters and the collection of bizarre moments and shocking clarity too.
I started off thinking the whole 'Italian horror genre' thing was overrated. I got Suspiria on a whim and before I knew it I'd bought and watched Profondo Rosso too.
Its that Argento never seems to play straight.
There are moments of brilliance, style, suspense with genuine oddness but then some real rubbish: cheesy 70's dialogue and awful dubbing - but you can forgive all that and at least the music's not as intrusive as it was in Suspiria.
The editing from one scene to another is very abrupt too. Does he do this deliberately? Or is it a question of taste?
Every time you pin him down he confounds you- like he says on the DVD commentary- he tries to conjure up a dream with twists and turns.
I mean, fancy having slapstick farce in the middle of a very disturbing hacker movie?
The film gets more intruiging as it goes on. Same storyline as a million others but it's the ways its done. Visually splendid, with stunning scenery/sets, framing and his shot selection is second to none.
The opening shot which is in fact part of the credits is VERY disturbing. Don't miss it!
Well worth watching and never boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Profoundly good, 1 Jun 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a minor classic from director Dario Argento. An excellent thriller with horror elements thrown in that make the current wave of 'torture porn' movies look decidely second rate (which most of them are).

In the leading role David Hemmings plays a pianist who witnesses a murder and starts investigating them himself. Now why he would do this I don't know, but once you allow for this artistic licence, the film moves by with great pace. Full of atmosphere, tension, odd camera angles as well as the trademark roving camera for which Argento is well know. You can still also detect the influence of Hitchcock in this film. But Argento has moved things on to a different level.

Listen out for the music score by the Italian prog rock group Goblin. They worked with Argento on a regular basis and their pounding music scores added a little extra to Argento's films.

This disc contains 2 versions of the film. An English version which runs to 100mins and an Italian version that is 123mins. My advice is to watch the Italian version as this is in widescreen. The English version is panned and scanned. However your view on this will be affected by your attitude to subtitles and dubbing in films. In the English version of course David Hemmings isn't dubbed and there are no subtitles.

Argento is most famous for Suspira, which I was never a huge fan of. Buy this and 'The Bird with the crystal plumage' and in my view you'll own his two best films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a wider audience, 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
Profondo Rosso is widely held to be Dario Argento's best film. It is also held by some to be fairly dull, with the inventive death scenes few and far between.
In my opinion, the second view is a mistake. The whole film is saturated with a menacing atmosphere, and almost every moment is a delight. Do you think the scenes of David Hemmings investigating the derelict house are boring? Look again. Visually it's wonderful. Do you think the scenes between Hemmings and his co-star, Daria Nicolodi, are unnecessary? On the contrary, they're integral, going a long way to dispel the accusation that Argento is sexist and also being a pleasant suprise in the not-usually-woman-friendly giallo tradition. (oh, and the scenes of the pair in Nicolodi's car are priceless...)
Argento can do more than just portray death, and it is also this quality that turns his film 'Tenebrae' into a small masterpiece. On the other hand, when Profondo Rosso (his very large masterpiece) deals out death, we again come up trumps, particularly with the last two murders. And who can forget the prelude to the psychic's murder, as the camera roams about the killer's possessions of knives, marbles, crudely drawn figures with massive bleeding?
Thus, it gets five out of five from me. One more thing before I sign off- Gabriele Lavia plays the unluckiest wretch ever to grace a giallo. I can't tell you why without massive spoilers, but just as you think it couldn't get worse...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argento's best!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion this is Argento's best film.
It successfully straddles both the giallo and horror genres combining the two into an intriguing, creepy film.
Normally I would have bought the Arrow Video release as I like the packaging and poster that comes with their releases but sadly their transfer cannot hold a candle to this one, the Blue Underground version (which is region free and will play on any Blu Ray player in the UK).

The disc contains both the English and the longer Italian version of the film in a pristine quality. For a film shot in 1975 "Deep Red" has never looked better than it has on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt "Profondo Rosso" is one of the best murder-mystery films ever made., 23 Feb 2012
Thrilling giallo masterpiece is considered by many to be one of the finest, if not the finest, films made by horror master Dario Argento. In the early 70s, Italian director Dario Argento took the world by surprise with the release of his first three movies, three excellent entries in the "Giallo" genre that had been growing in popularity across the 70's. In only two years, the success of "L' Uccello Dalle Piume Di Cristallo" ("The Bird with the Crystal Plumage"), "Il Gatto a Nove Code" ("The Cat o' Nine Tails") and "4 Mosche Di Velluto Grigio" ("Four Flies on Grey Velvet) turned Argento into the new rising star of horror, and his "animal trilogy" into classics of the Italian thriller. However, after this huge success he decided to move away from the Giallo for a while, and in order to explore something different, he made two TV dramas and a comedy named "Le Cinque Giornate" ("Five Days in Milan"). While this offered him the chance to try something new, it also allowed him to prepare his return to horror with what would be known as one of the best Giallo thrillers ever made: "Profondo Rosso", known in English as "Deep Red".

The film is the story of Marcus Daly (David Hemmings), a British piano player who is spending some time in Italy as a music teacher. One night after work, as he walks towards his apartment, he watches through the building's window and notices his neighbor Helga (Macha Méril) struggling with an unknown man. Helga, a psychic, gets brutally killed in front of Daly's eyes, who runs towards the apartment in a futile attempt to save her. After being interrogated by the police, Daly notices that he could have seen the killer's face among a group of portraits on the wall, but he can't truly figure out what's missing. This thought becomes an obsession and Daly decides to investigate the murder of the psychic with the help of reporter Gianna Brezzi (Daria Nicolodi), however, his obsession becomes dangerous as he becomes the killer's next target.

This film is a fascinating whodunit with enough creepy images to fill in a year worth of bad dreams. Here, Argento sticks to themes that have to do with childhood, a theme that's very prominent in many of his pictures. We get a creepy child song, a doll hanging from the ceiling, violent childish drawings and wait till you see that crazy robot puppet. Argento does his "you've seen something but it's not what it seems" trick and it works here again. Amidst all the mayhem there's also a good dose of humor that lightens the grim tone and a strong mystery. My only qualm with the film is that it lags on occasion. But it's worth it when you consider the reward : an original, stylish, creepy, bloody flick with enough plot twists to keep you on your toes.

Presented in an aspect ratio of 2.35:1, encoded with MPEG-4 AVC and granted a 1080p transfer, Dario Argento's Profondo Rosso arrives on Blu-ray courtesy of British distributors Arrow Films. Please note that Disc 1 contains the Director's Cut, while Disc 2 contains the International Theatrical Cut of the film. I preffer the director's cut since it is the complete version and obviously more satisfying. There are a few frame transition issues, but considering the type of limitations various SDVD releases of Profondo Rosso have conveyed during the years, the quality improvements are indeed very impressive. As for the extras, theres a new introduction by composer Claudio Simonetti from the legendary Italian band Goblin. A commentary track with Danish filmmaker and Dario Argento expert Thomas Rostock, who discusses Profondo Rosso.

There are also two trailers, Lady in Red - Daria Nicolodi Remembers Profondo Rosso, Music to Murder For! - Claudio Simonetti on Deep Red and Rosso Recollections - Dario Argento's Deep Genius in which the legendary Italian director discusses what inspired him to film Profondo Rosso, its characters, his family, the films he liked while growing up, etc. As one of the modern masters of horror, Dario Argento's career is one of enormous value for horror fans, and among his many works, Profondo Rosso is an essential one. A remarkable work of style and technique, Deep Red is a movie that simply grabs you and doesn't let you go until it ends, making an excellent experience and a good companion piece to Argento's follow-up, the masterpiece Suspiria.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great film, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: Deep Red [1975] (NTSC) [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] (DVD)
This is one great film. It's a whodunnit that gets better and better every time you watch it. even once you know whodunnit its great fun to watch the clever story unfold. its packed with great violent murders, each treated with incredible style and accompanied by a fabulous score by the prog rock group Goblin. Deep Red is a great piece of cinema and if you are interested, the best introduction to Italian horror and its king Dario Argento. Next stop Suspiria. you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 2 Feb 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is a gem of a horror movie with its many moods and dimensions. The feeling of terror starts early when a clairvoyant giving a demonstration suddenly experiences a panic attack and lets out that there's a murderer in the audience. From then on, the terror takes many forms as we see glimpses of the past in an old house with a sealed room. The eerie children's singing and beautiful photography contribute towards making this more than just another horror flick. A true art movie (without being self-consciously so) but don't underestimate the sense of menace and doom that is maintained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argento at his chilling best, 13 Jun 2002
By 
MISS S MARSDEN (BELFAST, DOWN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Profondo Rosso [DVD] (DVD)
I watched 'Profondo Rosso' for the first time during my year abroad in Italy. I don't normally enjoy horror films,to me they're just senseless, tasteless gore, but my friend Paola practically nailed me to the sofa and said WATCH THIS! So I did. I was pleasantly surprised, well, I can't say pleasantly, I was 21 at the time and I had nightmares for weeks! Argento has such an inate talent for not only scaring the hell out of you but messing with your mind, and that to me is the most scary of horrors. My favourite scene - without giving too much away - was the one involving the bird....this film gave me the creeps and stayed with me when I wanted it to go away like another film, 'Don't Look Now', incidentally set in the foggy sidestreets of Venice. Watch it and experience a real Argento trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try but not as good as US Blue Underground blu ray., 27 Jun 2011
By 
Sean Brady (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As this is one of my favourite films, I have to say this release is a major letdown for a couple of reasons. First of all is the video glitch mentioned in a couple of the other reviews (there's a brief picture breakup at around the 45.27 mark), and then there's the subtitles. Unfortunately they sometimes appear before a character speaks and on occasion they appear and disappear so quickly that they are almost impossible to read properly unless you pause the movie to read them. Neither of these things occur on the US region free Blue Underground release of the film, which is the version I recommend if you're a serious fan of this film. There are fewer special features but the movie is what matters most so if you want a great copy of the film, go for that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Red [1975] (NTSC) [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import]
5.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews