Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegant, boodsoaked, one of a kind.
No-one made horror films like Lucio Fulci. Even when the material was nothing more than cooked up spaghetti gore and hoary cliche he still managed to produce creepy, doom laden masterpieces, with atmosphere you could carve like a fillet of beef. City of the Living Dead doesn't disappoint; the incoherent and incomprehensible narrative borrows widely from Lovecraft and EC...
Published on 20 Nov. 2001 by tessa weale

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars City of the Living dead
After a priest hangs himself in a cemetery, the gates of Hell are opened. Zombies appear and start killing off people in the remote town of Dunwich. Psychic Mary dies of what appears to be fright and is buried - only to revive, buried alive, in her own coffin. Investigating reporter Peter Bell, who is intrigued by the case, is present at the grave-site and rescues her and...
Published on 25 May 2012 by A. J. Harrison


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible pap, 29 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
Not since 'Spookies' have I witnessed such a display of inadequate plot, acting, cinematography and direction. Characters appear, disappear, then reappear for no discernable reason. Can anyone kindly explain why the priest keeps popping up in a blaze of bad special effects ("it's the double-take priest!" Sang in a rag-time style)? Obviously the budget ran out before the film could be completed, because towards the end all coherence goes out the window and you are left wondering if all the film actually made it on to the tape. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
did not like to for postage when it free on play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most ridiculous thing I have ever seen......, 5 Feb. 2008
By 
Rachel Pryer (Petworth, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With music stolen unashamedly from George Romero's 'Dawn of the dead', and actors stolen from 'Crossroads', this was 90 minutes or so of my life I will never get back. The acting is so wooden it beggars belief; no-one seems to be particularly afraid or interested, as if dead people often walk around in their town (perhaps they do) There are so many pointless things done, and ridiculous things said in this film that it would be hard to quote them all; but something along the lines of
'In 48 hours we'll all be dead if we don't do something!'
'Yeah but I'm hungry, let's get something to eat first!'
Or the fact that millions of maggots blew in inexplicably through an open window, but no-one thought to go and SHUT IT!
The 'heroes' were so useless that they couldn't find the priest's tombstone in a cemetary occupied by only about ten graves, so that wasted more time (they had to find his grave before Saints day, for some reason) So of course they ended up with only one minute left to do whatever it was they were going to do before midnight (I'm losing will to live by now). And then, just as I was contemplating what kind of sandwich I was going to have for lunch, they saved the day..........or did they? Who knows, and who cares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars City Of The Living boredom, 14 Jun. 2006
By 
M. A. Schiller "chillidog19" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ive had a love for horror films for years i remember watching many of them when i was younger from behind the sofa, its very much the same for City Of The Living Dead but more for it being utter rubbish. Ive had more scares and a better story line watching my kids Teletubbies. This is utter rubnbish dont waste your time or money, stir well clear of this

If there was a star rating lower than 1 it would get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong format, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered the dvd City of the Living Dead... But got the BluRay version instead... I havdnt got a BluRay player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this movie, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the quality of this edition im sure is fine what no one is saying is that this film is crap. I love zombie movies foreign and english if anyone is thinking of buying this because they like romeros day of the dead etc dont you will be very disappointed dont waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars City of the Living Dead, 7 Feb. 2005
This movie is a fantastic disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City of the Living Dead [1981] (NTSC) [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import]
Used & New from: £6.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews