Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MY PERSONAL FAVORITE - ONE OF THE BEST VAMPIRE MOVIES EVER MADE
THE MOVIE

Despite all the negative criticism (even from the great Christopher Lee himself), SCARS OF DRACULA is my personal favorite of all vampire movies ever made. I love most of Hammer's Dracula movies, but this one beats them all.
Needless to say, Christopher Lee is GREAT as Count Dracula, to me the one and only Dracula. Yeah, better than Gary Oldman...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Caligula II.

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still A Good Time
Though not considered one of the best by Hammer fans, Scars of Dracula is still an enjoyable vampire film. It is dark and violent and at times twisted. Lee himself has said on more than one occasion that this was his least favorite in the series, because of the violent nature of the film, and the acts of torture his character was directed to perform. Yet, it is still...
Published on 26 Sept. 2005 by Robert E. Rodden II


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gothic Fairytale, 12 Jan. 2005
By 
Vlad the Impaler (barnstaple, devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This, Hammer's fifth entry in the series, actually breaks from the continuing Dracula saga and is a story in its own right. The film starts with Draculas ashes being splashed with fresh blood dribbled from a bat's mouth and the good count returning to wreak terror and fear into the hearts of the long suffering villagers once more. Christopher Lee is given more screen time in this film and it is used to great effect with more dialgoue and a little more emphasis on sadism as he brands his manservant Klove (played almost sympathetically by Patrick Troughton) with a white hot poker after he lets the two young lovers (played very woodenly by Dennis Waterman and Jenny Hanley) escape. Lee himself is also more visually impressive than in other films with his deathly palour and bloodshot eyes!! This is definitely one of Hammer's best!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
E. Freeman (Cambs, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Having seen all the Hammer Dracula films I can say that this is the second worst or possibly even the worst! Dracula 1972 challenges it for that title. The story is thin. The acting is poor, particularly Dennis Waterman. The special effects and flying bats are feeble, looking exactly like rubber bats on wires. The only good points are Christopher Lee and Jenny Hanley who is a luscious lovely admired by all the males in the film. Even Patrick Troughton gives the worst performance of his life. It is a poor and dated movie and one of the worst films Hammer ever made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Hammer Dracula Film !, 16 Jun. 2008
By 
Bradleyklawson (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Granted it's not "Horror of Dracula" or "Dracula: Prince of Darkness", But this has to one of the best because Christopher Lee has more to do in this one than in any of the others, He has more screen time than in the first film. I like this one also because Dracula has some cool moments in the film such as branding poor Patrick Troughton's back with a red hot sword. This film deserves another look, Christopher Lee dispite his low opinion of the film has more dialogue and screen time than in the early ones or the later ones.

Great Film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 29 Jan. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
If I could have given 2.5 stars it would have got an extra 1/2 of a star. I am a lover of Hammer horror films, but having seen this recently it really is rather poor.

Dennis Waterman is hopelessly miscast in a sort of romantic upper class leading role. He is one of two brothers who are pitted against the Count. There are two main problems with this film. Firstly it was made in 1970 and it has an early 70's feel to it, which isn't a good thing. Secondly there was no Peter Cushing or even somebodyelse to replace the Van Helsing character. Consequently the Counts opponents appear weak and a lot of believability (if you can such a thing in a Hammer film!) is lost. Christopher Lee himself was quoted as saying this was one of the weaker films of the series.

None of Hammers films had huge budgets, but because of this films other failings, you tend to notice the poor special effects. By comparison to the other films in the series this is certainly one of the weakest. If you want to buy the Christopher Lee Dracula films the first is by far and away the best, and one of the best Hammer films ever made. The 2nd film Dracula Prince Of Darkness is pretty good. I haven't seen any of the others recently.

There isn't much on the plus side for this film, but James Bernards score, as always, is very good. If you really do want want this film you would be better buying the 5 film Hammer boxed set it appears in, where at least you get The Devil Rides out as well, which IS a classic Hammer film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 20 Mar. 2010
By 
R. Landon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Some people dislike this film...I don't know why...I think it's awesome...one of the best Hammer Horror Dracula films. Patrick Troughton has a great role in the film as Dracula's manservant, taking care of business round the castle. Great torture scene in it too.

Any Minder fans will have a laugh seeing a very young and heroic Dennis Waterman star in the film.

This really is a must own of Hammer's offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear....., 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm giving this top marks for the price and delivery. The film itself is wonderfully awful. I am a big fan of the Hammer Horrors, but Christopher Lee looks like he wanted to be somewhere else. The acting by Jenny Hanley and Dennis Waterman is as wooden as it comes. It will add to my collection but I doubt it will be get much viewing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The devil has won., 8 Jun. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
A village girl found murdered, could it be that Dracula is back? Playboy Paul Carlson is about to find out.

A bat hovers over a concrete slab, blood frothing from its mouth, the drops of which are reinvigorating the Prince Of Darkness. Yes, Dracula is back, bloodier than usual and even kind of chatty! Directed by Roy Ward Baker and starring Christopher Lee in his fifth outing as Dracula, Scars Of Dracula, hamstrung by low budget as it is, is one of the better efforts in the Hammer Horror Dracula cycle.

Standard rules apply, buxom wenches are ripe for slaughter and the guys are a mixture of village yokels and posh gentlemen. Lee as ever is charming and carrying his air of nastiness, and the story leads us nicely to a castle top finale of some standing. There's also some nice visual flourishes and memorable scenes along the way. Blood drips onto white candles that segue into red ones and Drac walks up walls. While the redness in the piece has never more been so vivid thanks to Moray Grant's impacting photography. The cast reads like a who's who of British television, you got a Doctor Who {Patrick Troughton with the worlds scariest eyebrows}, Minder {a badly miscast Dennis Waterman}, a Bond girl and presenter of Magpie {the lovely Jenny Hanley} and Lord Melbury from Fawlty Towers {Michael Gwynn}.

Safe & solid Hammer Horror fare that just about rises above the normality of the script. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Odd One, 14 Jun. 2010
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Scars Of Dracula [DVD] [1970]Roy Ward Baker directed this film from Hammer in the year 1970. After "Taste the Blood of Dracula", Hammer was in a dilemma. The year was 1970 and audiences were used to the usual resurrection of the Count in every movie so far. This film is not a continuation of "Taste the Blood of Dracula". This shows Dracula awakening in his Castle from Blood spitted by a bat. (What will they think up next?) The villagers are as usual terrified by the desecration of the local church. There are no 'heroes' in this film with the same stature of Professor Van Helsing or Father Shandor for that matter. Dracula also uses sadistic methods like whipping a victim etcetera. The scenes are quite revolting. It does not make any sense. Hammer only incorporated one element from Stoker's novel. The Count crawling down the castle wall like a lizard. But even that sequence is done badly. Sir Christopher Lee, of course, is a delight to watch, for the fans of the genre. I bought the DVD for his sake alone and I cant say I am disappointed. He sure is his true evil incarnate. For a change, Dracula dies, in true Biblical style with lightning striking him down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
was brought for a present and was very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
John Edward Robinson "Beau Alfie" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
Christopher Lee the greatest Dracula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970]
Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] by Roy Ward Baker (DVD - 2007)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews