Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars MY PERSONAL FAVORITE - ONE OF THE BEST VAMPIRE MOVIES EVER MADE
THE MOVIE

Despite all the negative criticism (even from the great Christopher Lee himself), SCARS OF DRACULA is my personal favorite of all vampire movies ever made. I love most of Hammer's Dracula movies, but this one beats them all.
Needless to say, Christopher Lee is GREAT as Count Dracula, to me the one and only Dracula. Yeah, better than Gary Oldman...
Published on 2 July 2010 by Caligula II.

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still A Good Time
Though not considered one of the best by Hammer fans, Scars of Dracula is still an enjoyable vampire film. It is dark and violent and at times twisted. Lee himself has said on more than one occasion that this was his least favorite in the series, because of the violent nature of the film, and the acts of torture his character was directed to perform. Yet, it is still...
Published on 26 Sept. 2005 by Robert E. Rodden II


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still A Good Time, 26 Sept. 2005
By 
Robert E. Rodden II (Peoria, IL. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Though not considered one of the best by Hammer fans, Scars of Dracula is still an enjoyable vampire film. It is dark and violent and at times twisted. Lee himself has said on more than one occasion that this was his least favorite in the series, because of the violent nature of the film, and the acts of torture his character was directed to perform. Yet, it is still very much the Hammer-style film, with luscious, colorful sets, ghothic atmoshere, and great performances by all the actors involved. And in a way, Lee's Dracula here is more frightening than some of his other incarnations, because of his twisted, satanic ways. He gives a feeling that Dracula could indeed originate from the lower regions of hell.
It would've been a better film with the reappearance of a Van Helsing type vampire hunter, like Cushing, or Andrew Keir (Dracula: Prince of Darkness), as the kill-scene is my least favorite of all the Lee/Dracula films. But the DVD itself is beautiful, the picture quality near perfect, the sound clear and crisp. And it is a well put together film.
The extras from Anchorbay, as usual, are far superior to anything anyone else (with the exception of Criterion, perhaps) includes with their DVDs. There's an audio commentary with Lee and director Roy Ward Baker. You get trailers, a poster gallery, and with the limited edition two disc set, you also get a neat and personal interview with Lee called "The Many Faces of Christopher Lee", and two totally cool music videos that Lee participated in. Anchorbay, as always, has treated the Hammer Horror fan with an exceptionally good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Count clocks on for another night on the treadmill, 15 Dec. 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
The budgets were hitting rock bottom and the formula getting tired by the time Hammer persuaded Christopher Lee to don the cape yet again for 1970's Scars of Dracula, their second Dracula outing of the year after the superior Taste the Blood of Dracula. Not particularly bad though awfully overfamiliar, this has the feel of everyone clocking on to work at a treadmill as yet another unwary (and in this case accidental) traveller finds himself shunned by tight-lipped superstitious locals (well, Michael Ripper and a couple of extras) and soon regretting taking advantage of the Count's hospitality in the first half while in the second half his brother (a young and miscast Dennis Waterman) and romantic interest Jenny Hanley go through much of the same routine in the second as they go in search of him. There's an effectively nasty surprise waiting for the villagers in the church after their early attempt to burn the Count out of house and home and there's an engagingly matter of fact just-another-day-at-work sequence where Patrick Troughton's servant discards the remnants of one of his master's unwanted brides with a hacksaw and an acid bath but this is more notable for upping the violence than improving the quality.

Unlike the US Anchor Bay DVD, this UK release only offers the trailer as an extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit long in the fang..., 18 July 2002
By 
G. Francis "darth_jurious" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, after several previous outings as the Count, Lee again resumes his role in this installment, 'The Scars of Dracula', the last of the 'Gothic' Dracula films in which he would star, if I'm correct.
Though a fairly lenient fan of the Dracula genre, I did find unforgivable problems with this picture - for one, I could never take the giant rubber bat seriously; secondly, the plot seemed almost spoof-like, and again lowered the tone, and thirdly, there were some appalling characters which didn't make the picture feel like a traditional Hammer horror at all - namely the stupid pair of Policemen.
On the up side, there's, of course, the fantastic Christopher Lee, who gets plenty of screen time, and plenty more lines than usual. His presence is stunning, although I found Dracula's death scene a little over-rated. Most of the actors are fairly good, and most of the settings are decent enough.
If you want a good Hammer horror with the legendary Mr.Lee as Dracula, I recommend any of this film's predacessors, and even Dracula AD 1972 - unfortunately, this one is one of my least favourites of the Dracula franchise starring Mr.Lee. Just one too many flaws for my liking.
But, either way, you can't go wrong with Christopher Lee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hammer gone to seed, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
I really like Hammer films. I wanted to like this, since seeing it in my youth i recall variable bloody portions of it. As a whole piece of work, and it is work sitting through this, the whole is not the sum of its parts. The whole is a cheap mess and i deplore myself for saying such things about the marvelous Hammer studios..

Chris Lee scowls, as well he might with an appallingly feeble script. There are other people in it, none of them acting likeable, against a backdrop of very cheap sets cheaply shot. Whereas in the past Hammer could arrange a set to its best advantage, Scars of Drac simply seems cobbled together and i've seen some cobbling in my time and this is indeed, cobblers.

The superior wacky 'Drac 1972' is in fact more entertaining and has a cult following, a strange cult, wearing kaftans & jigging about to images of caroline munro saturated in kensington gore..Scars of drac however is as lamentable a construction in set design, acting range & weak production values as anything dredged from the late Hammer period can be. But at least Chris Lee gets to mutter some dialogue.

Upon re-watching this once again i am in fact convinced that it has some peculiar effect, what with the blood letting & the gory details. Palatable, but not a wine to be consumed with food. Perhaps a bit earthy, maybe the vintage is corked...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars one of hammer's worst dracula offerings., 13 Sept. 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
when i watch "scars of dracula," i've always struggled to find something remotely positive to say in the film's favour.
the low budget is more evident than before, the plot is threadbare, the dialogue hardly rises above being routine, the climax is one of the least-convincing i have yet seen(the rubber gloves and mask on the stunt man are painfully obvious) but somehow, the cast do their best with what they have.
once again, the dracula character has been added almost as an afterthought and therefore has little to do or to offer, besides looking creepy and menacing. i can understand christopher lee's unhappiness with this particular hammer production. i thought patrick troughton was well cast as the castle servant klove, he brings more of a sinister quality to the role than philip latham back in 1965. it is good to see michael ripper one last time, playing the landlord of the local village tavern. when he left the company at this time in 1970, hammer lost one of its leading actors.
the two young leads are o.k, if nothing special.
being as bad a film as it is, i did enjoy the audio commentary that was provided. it made for interesting and informative listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY PERSONAL FAVORITE - ONE OF THE BEST VAMPIRE MOVIES EVER MADE, 2 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

Despite all the negative criticism (even from the great Christopher Lee himself), SCARS OF DRACULA is my personal favorite of all vampire movies ever made. I love most of Hammer's Dracula movies, but this one beats them all.
Needless to say, Christopher Lee is GREAT as Count Dracula, to me the one and only Dracula. Yeah, better than Gary Oldman! Forget the Twighlight series or Bill from TRUE BLOOD. Lee is the ultimate vampire Lord! Lee is given more lines than usual.
Also starring Patrick Troughton as Klove, as well as Dennis Waterman, Anouska Hempel and Jenny Hanley.
Descent directing by Roy Ward Baker.
The special effect are rather cheap, and there are few, still SCARS OF DRACULA is carried more by its able cast than any makeup effects.
The sets are fantastic, especially the marvelous castle, interior and exterior. SCARS OF DRACULA has a very unique atmosphere, the ever persistent threat and the fear of the townsfolk is brought across well. I also liked the fog effects.
SCARS OF DRACULA is known to be the most violent in the series, still many scenes remain on the cutting room floor and probably will never be restored. The movie is very well edited and those additinal scenes are not essential however.
5.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2007 Optimum/Studio Canal UK DVD
Feature running time: 91 mins. (cut theatrical version)
Rating: R (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 2.0 mono
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 12
Extras: Theatrical Trailer, Audio commentary. Stills gallery
Region: 2

Descent picture and audio quality given the age of the film: C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it.I'm a masive fan of Christopher Lee as Dracula and a fan of Hammer horror films.I actually got this one as a very young and very poshly spoken ( ! )Dennis Waterman is in it and I am very big fan of his.The story is similar really as all the other Hammer Dracula films but still worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars dont expect much, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] (DVD)
this is a candidate for worst dracula film but it is the goriest.yes its bloody,bloody awful the actings poor the story does not follow on from the last movie and it has rubber bats flying about.it tries to shock with more violence and more gore than any before it rather than trying to improve the standard.the budget was low for this movie but even so more could have been made of it.the only real upside is lees greater screen time and a greater number of scripted lines.putting the film aside lee himself is magnificent and is in my opinion lees best performance of dracula because he was given the chance to show his abilities,he is one of our all time great actors but was not seen in that way due to his association with dracula.the only reason this got three stars from me was because of lees performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The bat! The broth!, 3 Nov. 2013
Often regarded as one of the worst Hammer Draculas,Scars has actually got a fair bit going for it;Lee has more screen time and dialogue than usual and looks amazing.I also like the wall-climbing and the concept of a virtually impregnable hiding place for the Count,and any film with Michaels Gwynne and Ripper,with the addition of the splendid Patrick Troughton has got to be worth seeing.On the downside the acting of some of the younger cast members is appalling,especially the young lady who plays Julie,the almost at times virtually non existant day for night photography is laughable even by Hammer's standards,and the ending seems rushed and tagged on.A film I come back to more often than the overrated ...Risen From The Grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hammer's nominee for the worst Dracula movie ever made, 31 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
How to explain "Scars of Dracula"? This 1970 film directed by Roy Ward Baker was made by Hammer Studios and stars Christopher Lee as Count Dracula, but has nothing to do with the previous films in the series. When last we saw the count at the end of "Taste the Blood of Dracula" his ashes where in Victorian London. Now the ashes are near his castle in Transylvania and the time appears to be about a century earlier. Go figure. As soon as the count is restored when a giant bat spews blood on his ashes, you know this film is in trouble. We have the villagers going to burn down the castle while Dracula sends a horde of vampire bats to rip their wives and children apart. Years later the movie's main trio of victims arrive upon the scene: good guy Simon Carlson (Dennis Waterman) and charming rogue Paul Carlson (Christopher Matthews) are both in love with Sarah Fransen (Jenny Hanley). Soon not only the Count but his hunchbacked servant Klove (Patrick Troughton) are after the lovely Sarah as well. This time around Dracula is more into physical torture than before and while the eroticism that characterized Hammer's vampire films at this time is present the emphasis is much more on supposedly gory special effects. However, in the end there is yet another totally new way of disposing of Dracula. While I applaud the fact that the script gives Dracula actual lines and gets away from the animalistic version of the Count we get in several Hammer films, there is nothing new here worth pursuing. Even the production values, something of a hallmark with Hammer's films, are notably lacking. Even the title, "Scars of Dracula," is really lame. Fans of Hammer/Dracula/Lee will only watch this one out of a need for a sense of completeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970]
Scars of Dracula [DVD] [1970] by Roy Ward Baker (DVD - 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews