Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely splendid Old Chap!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. B. Fraser (London United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
One unbeatable collection of early sixties black and white comedy feature films!

Leslie Phillips is augmented here with an excellent cast of familiar comedy actors and actresses from the era of fast direction and splendid close-up type of films.

Joan Hickson and Esma Cannon (A treasure) feature here in "No Kidding" an exceptional film, where the Adult actors here excel, especially Esma as the district nurse! Credit to underused June Jago as a prim Matron who battles with the inebriated cook (Joan Hickson).

Early sixties Pop hearthrob Mike Sarne ("Come Outside")has a cameo role here too.

Truly an awsome collection of long forgotten crisp comedy classics!

Excellent value that will keep the whole family entertained on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some fine films, 15 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box set solely for Please Turn Over which has the delectable Julia Lockwood as the lead. Truth be told, it's more of a Ted Ray film (who is very funny when drunk) but I would regard it as an ensemble piece. Everyone gets to play two characters and June Jago (why wasn't she in more Carry Ons?) is quite touching in it. It's become one of my favourite films.

As a brief guide: PLEASE TURN OVER is about a young girl who writes a book which suspiciously resembles her family. Leslie is a doctor in this who is a friend of the family.

NO KIDDING has Leslie and Geraldine McEwan setting up a holiday home for rich and jet-setting parents who seem to neglect their children

CROOKS ANNOYMOUS is about a group of roguish theives decide to go straight but resist the temptation to do so (with guest appearnces from Arther Askey and Hugh Paddick).

WATCH YOUR STERN has Leslie as an officer on a ship and could be seen as a film version of The Navy Lark.

These fims are great. You see so many regular faces (esp. Cyril Chamberlain and Marianne Stone) that it suggests that the film acting profession was like one big family at the time. I will say this: the box provides evidence that Leslie (or "Lovable Leslie" as he called himself in The Navy Lark) was not just the suave rakish cad he is portrayed nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ding Dong!!, 17 Oct 2010
By 
M. Davis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
Classic British Comedy with a great leading actor. Some super films with great supporting cast around Leslie Phillips. His characters are always great and I chuckle and laugh my way through all of these....a great Sunday afternoon with a cup of tea and a packet of biscuit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Star, 21 Aug 2011
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
Ding Dong, I love Leslie Phillips and never fail to laugh at his caddish smooth charm ! This collections has a couple of gems on it but felt his better known films were sadly missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars icons of the screen, 11 Feb 2010
By 
P. D. Lynch "monarch" (gt britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
leslie phillips one of the great actors of the british film scene. still going strong and always worth watching. the box set was good not some of his best films but still 4 star.
lets have some more box sets with leslie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
This just has to be one of the best ever 1950-1960's set of full length comic films.
All four are just outstanding proper comedy.
The best ?
Well all of them but if pushed Watch Your Stern is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars leslie phillips collection, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
fast arrival and in excellent condition, very pleased with this boxset, I would definitely recommend. cheap price also a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leslie Phillips Collection., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered as a last minute Christmas present, they were delivered within a couple of days. My dad was delighted, my mom less so as she says he laughs really loud at them. Would recommend to any 'Carry On' fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy collection, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
We've always loved the old black and white comedies starring Leslie Phillips, Alastair Sim etc. so when I saw this at a good price I couldn't resist the four films of gentle humour/farce that you can while a winter.afternoon away with. From 'Watch your stern' with its echoes of or precursor to the Carry On films through 'Crooks Anonymous' , 'No Kidding' and finally to 'Please Turn Over' which has possibly a bit more social comment than the others, these are enjoyable films that can be watched again. Leslie Phillips gentle humour draws you in and instantly makes you feel cosy for a couple of hours. A brilliant buy for any Phillips fan and sent quickly as usual. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldies but goodies, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD] (DVD)
I had not seen two of this collection and really enjoyed seeing them as they were by the Carry On makers. The quality is excellent, extremely clear black and white.
I bought this as one of my favourite films is Crooks Anonymous but I had lost my recording of it so when I saw this collection I ordered it straight away.
Leslie Phillips is so good in these films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leslie Phillips Collection - Comic Icons [DVD]
17.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews