Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double oh five out of double oh five.
The ninth movie in the series (and the last in black and white) sees the team having go at the Bond series. Eric Barker makes a welcome return as the head of MI6 (in his last Carry On... for 15 years). Barker has no option other than send out a gang of trainee agents on the latest mission as no other agents are available. A secret formula has been stolen and it's their...
Published on 28 Jan 2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful
I can't stand Barbara Windsor being in this. It is too far-fetched that she can remember every detail as her job as a spy.
Published 15 months ago by Marianna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double oh five out of double oh five., 28 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The ninth movie in the series (and the last in black and white) sees the team having go at the Bond series. Eric Barker makes a welcome return as the head of MI6 (in his last Carry On... for 15 years). Barker has no option other than send out a gang of trainee agents on the latest mission as no other agents are available. A secret formula has been stolen and it's their job to find it. Heading the agents is Desmond Simpkins (Kenneth Williams in "snide" voice for the whole film) joined by Harold Crump (Bernard Cribbins in his last Carry On... for 27 years!), Charlie Bind (Charles Hawtrey) and Daphne Honeybutt (Barbara Windsor in her series debut). Throughout the film we encounter Jim Dale and Dilys Laye in supporting roles. It's a fast-paced, riotous farce from beginning to end and some of the Bond observations are spot on. The best performance comes from Williams who uses his "Stop messin' about" voice throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enter Barbara Windsor, 22 May 2006
By 
Ian Phillips (Bolton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Carry On Spying marked the debut appearance in a Carry On Film of the bubbly Barbara Windsor who would become a sex symbol in the series. This amusing paraody of the James Bond films is another classic in the series. Desmond Simpkins (Kenneth Williams) along with his three extra-special agents by his side (Barbara Windsor, Bernard Cribbins, Charles Hawtrey) all plot to take on the malevolent powers of STENCH, namely Dr. Crow, Milchmann and The Fat Man, members of the Society for the Extinction of non-conforming Humans. Clues to the exact location of STENCH HQ lead the quartret of spies into the heart of Harry Lime country in Vienna, the Casbah and finally the corridors of the Orient Express.

Fun and adventures all the way with the gangs reaching new heights of invention and parody in this one. The cast are all excellent, especially Barbara Windsor who sparkles in every scene. A comic gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gags galore, 3 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
Cribbens returns in this classic yarn , not only is this the last one to be made in black and white but also the first to feature Barbara Windsor. Its a blast from beginning to end with gags galore. Kenneth Williams steals the film with his `snide` mode voice. Its a great mickey take of the James Bond films. This is also the last we see Jim Dale in a brief role. Its a shame that Bernard Cribbens didnt make another Carry On until 28 years later in "Carry On Columbus".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like finding a fiver in your pocket you'd forgotten was there, 31 Aug 2009
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
Although I yield to no-one in my admiration of Sid James, Carry Ons Spying and Screaming are two of the most enjoyable, fully-realised movies of that long series, even without his presence. Sid gradually became the dominant personality in the films and, fun as that always was, there's a sense that, in his absence, the rest of the gang get more of a look in, get more of the centre-stage business to do and consequently raise their game bigtime.

The beautiful double act of Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtrey sets the tone, their performances a perfect balance of knowingness and cheeky abandonment to whatever fun is waiting around the next corner. It says a lot about how brittle and inflexible the James Bond machine was becoming even in 1964 that the Broccoli organisation brought out the lawyers and instructed them to cut the legs off this mildest, most affectionate of parodies. Fortunately for us, they didn't succeed beyond forcing Hawtrey's "James Bind" to become "Charles Bind" -a name that director Lindsay Shonteff also used in his seventies Bond take-off, "Licensed to Love and Kill", starring (and I'm not kidding) Gareth Hunt.

But Bond isn't the only target for the spoofery. The Third Man gets a wink, as does Modesty Blaise; in fact, every cliché (sorry: archetype) of the spy genre has a friendly raspberry blown in its face, and the fact that "Carry On Spying" ticks a lot of the boxes more satisfyingly than at least half a dozen of the Bond films says a lot for the makers' fondness for the genre they were sending up (and it's important to stress that this is a spoof, not a piss-take; there's no sneering involved).

This was Barbara Windsor's first Carry On film, pub-quizzers, and also stars Sir (at least in our house) Bernard Cribbins. And any film that features Victor Maddern as a super-spy belongs on some kind of plinth in the museum of Sunday afternoon hangover telly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i love this film, 20 Mar 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
the 9th movie in the much loved series and released in 1964 is notable for being the last black and white carry on and the first of the leading lady of carry on babs windsor.This film also mocks the james bond film series and also takes a swipe at the classic films the third man and casablanca.

Starring kenny willams and bernie cribbins,spying takes the gang around the world,more like around the studio chasing after a villain who threatens humanity and with some warped gadgets and some of the worst disguises seen in the history of the world,carry on spying is a real classic with a sense of mischief that few will ever be able to recreate,a worthy addition to anyones collection either as a one off carry on or as part of your carry on collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Carry On, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Barbara Windsor makes her very first apperance in this film.The film was made in 1964. This movie is about the agents battling against the evil powers of Stench. The fearless agents Desmond Simpkins (kenneth Williams), James Bind (Charles Hawtrey), agent Honeybutt (Barbara Windsor) and agent Crump (Bernard Cribbins).The agents travel round trying to find the secret
formula. on there way they meet Dr Crow, Milchmann and the fat man.This is very funny film and i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bond spoof that bond spoofed, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
One of the Carry Ons that I don't recall seeing on TV for a long long time but recently got a dvd set with it in it. And I really enjoyed it right from the opening sequence - the milkman is brilliant. The Carry On team was very quick to spoof James Bond which hit the big screen with Dr No in 1962 followed by from Russia With Love 1963 and Goldfinger 1964. Why list these? Carry on Spying came out in 1964 so only two Bonds could have been seen by then. There is of course a more direct link to The Third Man (and better film buffs than me will no doubt spy out others!) but the point is that Bond might have got its own back by spoofing Carry on Spying by using a milkman in much the same way in The Living Daylights! I'm sure it was unintentional, but.... There is much to enjoy with the terrible puns and daft antics of Kenneth Williams, Charles Hawtrey (agent OO-O), Bernard Cribbens and Barbara Windsor and let's not forget Eric Barker who appeared in the early Carry Ons and deserves to be recognised as such. They all looked so young in this one and Barbara Windsor was superbly bubbly in her first Carry on role in Spying. Each of them was perfectly cast in their roles and there is a plot that holds the whole thing together. But then who cares if it didn't? The scenes were nicely filmed and the sets look really quite good. The Carry Ons have - mostly - a charm of their own and perhaps I'm a creature of my era but I laughed a lot at this one as a kid and perhaps laughed a little more gently now that I'm in my 50s. A very pleasant way to spend an hour and a half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Carry On, 20 Oct 2013
By 
C. Cassidy "poodle extreme" (bucks, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
Yes Kenneth Williams does partly reprise his "Snide" character from Hancock, but that's the film's great strength. Kenny is in the form of his life in Spying, his all-knowing conceited complete idiot performance carries the film.

Spying is the only Carry On that doesn't have a dull 15 minutes, or 5 minutes for that matter. My 19 year old daughter just watched it on TV and thought it one of the funniest things she's ever seen.

I am amazed that there are so many positive reviews of Screaming, which I thought one of the most tedious, dull least funny movies. Even Kenny couldn't pull that one off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I can't stand Barbara Windsor being in this. It is too far-fetched that she can remember every detail as her job as a spy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best of babs, 7 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carry On Spying [DVD] (DVD)
this is one of the best, a proper spoof. Babs Windsor in her first and best role. good comentary too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carry On Spying [DVD]
Carry On Spying [DVD] by Gerald Thomas (DVD - 2007)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews