Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrible tykes, gin and horses, and the great Alastair Sim as Millicent Fritton, headmistress at St. Trinian's
Choose your fate: The terrible tykes of the fourth form, playing practical jokes that involve axes, or the...ummm...well-developed girls of the sixth form, who discovered some time ago cigarettes, gin, sex and how easily men can be led astray. The problem is that one set comes with the other. They are all there at St. Trinian's, that remarkably easy-going English school...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Just Ain't What it Used to Be
I suppose I'll get panned, but I do have nice 'memories' of sitting down in the East Midlands in the 60s and watching this in the afternoon on BBC2 when I'd managed to wangle a day off school with a sniffle. It was slightly risque and cute; and, in my memory, very funny. So I was disappointed. Funny then is not always funny now and while the playing (of the adults at...
Published 17 months ago by Mario


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrible tykes, gin and horses, and the great Alastair Sim as Millicent Fritton, headmistress at St. Trinian's, 2 Aug 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
Choose your fate: The terrible tykes of the fourth form, playing practical jokes that involve axes, or the...ummm...well-developed girls of the sixth form, who discovered some time ago cigarettes, gin, sex and how easily men can be led astray. The problem is that one set comes with the other. They are all there at St. Trinian's, that remarkably easy-going English school for girls led by headmistress Millicent Fritton (Alastair Sim). As Miss Fritton is fond of pointing out, "In other schools girls are sent out quite unprepared into a merciless world, but when our girls leave here, it is the merciless world which has to be prepared." Miss Fritton sounds something like a melding of Julia Child and Eleanor Roosevelt, and definitely has Sim's droll and deadpan comic genes.

In The Belles of St. Trinian's, a sly, chaotic comedy from the team of Frank Launder and Sidney Gilliat, St. Trinian's is, as usual, on the brink of financial disaster. Salvation may be at hand, however, when a rich sheik sends his daughter to join the fourth form and receive a proper English education. The sheik also is a horse owner and one of his prize racers, Arab Boy, is being trained near the school for a race. It's only a matter of time before the fourth-form girls form a racing pool and bet heavily on Arab Boy, with Miss Fritton adding to the pool what funds the school has left. (Much of the fourth-form girl's money comes from the gin they make in chemistry, then bottle and lower by rope to Flash Harry (George Cole), a Cockney fixer, for distribution. "It's got something...I don't know quite what," says Miss Fritton on sampling the stuff, "but send a few bottles up to my room.")

Miss Fritton, however, has a brother, Clarence Fritton (who, by some coincidence of casting, also is Alastair Sim), a bookmaker who not only has placed a bundle on another horse, but who also has a daughter. And he has placed the precocious Arabella in the sixth form to keep him informed. Soon the sixth form has kidnapped Arab Boy, the fourth form has taken the horse back, Flash Harry has joined forces with Miss Fritton, the sixth-form girls are determined that Arab Boy will not leave the second floor of St. Trinian's, Clarence and his Homburg-wearing gang have arrived, parents are driving up for Parent's Day and the Ministry of Education has arrived in the person of a very proper inspector. Total war breaks out at St. Trinian's. It's hard to say which is more dangerous, the African spears or the flour bombs.

Alastair Sim as Millicent Fritton turns in a tour de force performance. Miss Fritton is a tall woman with a stately bosom, fond of long gowns with embroidered lace and Edwardian hats with lots of feathers. She takes everything in stride, even a fourth-former pounding at something in chemistry class and, after hearing an explosion a few minutes later, the results. "Oh dear. I told Bessie to be careful with that nitro-glycerine!" She is firm in believing that St. Trinian's is "a gay arcadia of happy girls." Sim was one of Britain's great eccentric actors. Other than the sheer chaos of all the little (and not so little) girls doing terrible things, he delivers much of the film's pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flaming poetry!, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, it's a genuine work of art.

Inspired by cartoonist Ronald Searle, who caricuatured his hideous Japanese POW camp guards as horrible little English school-"gels", St Trinians is typically English. It also contains every filmic cliche known to man, and then some!

Despite which, its' charm,mirth and general appeal remain undimmed. A distinguished cast totters between completely inspired anarchic lunacy, surreal interruptions from staid educational Civil Servants, the inimitable Spiv, Flash Harry, and occasional realisations that they are actually supposed to be the voice of authority-well, intermittent realisations, anyway!

Not only should it never have worked, despite Alistair Sim,Joyce Grenfell, Beryl Reid, Hermoine Baddeley and George Cole in the cast, it should, after 54 years, be fit for the dustbin. Is it hell! I've just laughed my socks off at it for the 99th time this weekend, which is not bad for someone who never attended such an establishment(good job, with MY five-o-clock shadow!!).

Please give yourself a treat soon and relive a truly funny film-it's an enduring gem;as Shirley Bassey sang-Diamonds are Forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 19 Sep 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
The opening section of this film is very funny. After the school holidays end the St Trinians girls return to their school. This causes panic in the local town. Shops are being boarded up, the local Policeman starts taking tablets and in the end the town is deserted. This is the best section of the film and you wouldn't expect it to maintain such a high standard. However it nearly does and laughs are to be had throughout the whole film.

The cast are a joy. The inimitable Alistair Sim stars as both Head-Mistress Millicent Fritton and her bookie brother Clarence. A young George Cole is Flash Harry. Amazingly Cole's character is very Arthur Daley like. I wonder if this was the original inspiration for Minder? With Joyce Grenfell, Irene Handl and Joan Sims as well the cast alone should have you watching.

The plot revolves around a race-horse owned by the father of one of the pupils. Naturally it is stolen and various factions of the St Trinians girls are involved. If you haven't seen the film for many years, this a great reminder of a classic period for British films. Wonderful comedy from a different era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Belles of St Trinians, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
Period piece with the great Alastair Sim and George Cole. If you like old Britsh films and Ealing comedies, you'll enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear. I told Bessie to be careful with that nitro-glycerine!, 8 Dec 2009
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
Oh dear. I told Bessie to be careful with that nitro-glycerine!

The beauty of the internet is that you can look up to see who are in films but I didn't spot Barbara Windsor, Shirley Eaton or Carole White in this film.

A great British comedy and very anarchic for its time. who would have thought in fifties Britain you could make a film about a completely over the top girl's boarding school which seemed to have cheating at hockey and betting on the curriculum.

Alistair Sim as the headmistress appears to take no notice of the mayhem that takes place around her as she tries to balance the books. The idea comes up to back a horse after having it kidnapped so that it doesn't get doped by her brother the bookmaker.

The sixth form are as sexy as you can get and seem to be all knowing.

A great comedy with sterling performances by Joyce Grenfell as the put upon police constable and George Cole as Flash Harry takes bets for the girls.

We would all like to think that girls boarding schools were like that which they might be these days but I doubt it with the emphasis on league tables but I am sure Flash Harry would know how to fix those. It spawned a great series of which a new one was made in the last few years. I haven't seen that yet but was not raved about at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not available is USA, 18 May 2009
By 
Rene Torres "http://onceuponagardenblog.blogs... (Collingswood, New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
As a lad growing up I remember the wonderful antics of the girls from St Trinians. I remembered more of the pranks than the sexy undertones that also were provided. Kudos to you accross the pond for keeping us Yanks in culture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still funny, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
I love these movies don't like the modern version with Russell Brand can't stand the man ,the very very first of these movies are the best Alastair SIMM wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Just Ain't What it Used to Be, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose I'll get panned, but I do have nice 'memories' of sitting down in the East Midlands in the 60s and watching this in the afternoon on BBC2 when I'd managed to wangle a day off school with a sniffle. It was slightly risque and cute; and, in my memory, very funny. So I was disappointed. Funny then is not always funny now and while the playing (of the adults at least) is excellent, the script is only sporadically amusing. There's George Cole and Alistair Sim's neatly contrasted pair - good dialogue there, and then Joyce Grenfell 'running' and some other good character work (Irene Handl etc) throughout. But the plot is nothing, the girls a tiresome bunch, and the sum less than its parts. I wanted to be back there chuckling into my blanket, but in the end I wanted to go to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the first actually........., 18 Aug 2007
By 
philip freeman (cambridge, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD] (DVD)
Although this little comedy is well worth a view, and is certainly better than the sequels that follow it is not as stated on this site the first in the "st trinians" series of movies. Alister Sim also starred in the wonderful comedy of 1951 "the happiest days of our lives" which features Margaret Rutherford as Headmistress of St Trinians girls school. Unfortunately, this film has only ever appeared albeit briefly in VHS format. It is high time this comedy classic was given full dvd release (please)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St. Trinians - The Belles Of St. Trinians [DVD]
8.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews