Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross my heart (not my butt) -- what a fantastic animated movie!
Fantastic. The Ant Bully is just a fantastic animated film on multiple levels. The animation is superb, the characters are wonderfully memorable, the cast of voice actors boasts many a big name, and the story is as educational as it is entertaining. Adults should have already learned the message of this film, but they can still enjoy The Ant Bully just as much as the...
Published on 24 Feb 2007 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My kids enjoyed it.
My 2 yr old kids enjoyed it. I didn't like the plot. I think it will appeal to younger kids.
Published 17 months ago by Linda


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross my heart (not my butt) -- what a fantastic animated movie!, 24 Feb 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Fantastic. The Ant Bully is just a fantastic animated film on multiple levels. The animation is superb, the characters are wonderfully memorable, the cast of voice actors boasts many a big name, and the story is as educational as it is entertaining. Adults should have already learned the message of this film, but they can still enjoy The Ant Bully just as much as the kids. Frankly, I had never even heard of this movie until a couple of weeks ago, and that's a real shame because this is an animated film that should have been talked about just as much as Cars, Happy Feet, etc.

Like Lucas (Zach Tyler), the little boy in this film, I used to squirt water on ants and destroy their little ant hills - I'm not proud of that, but I was just a dumb kid. Lucas has yet to learn that tormenting other creatures is bad. A local bully keeps picking on him because he's little, so he turns around and picks on ants because he is bigger than they are. For their part, the ants in his front yard have had enough of the horrible beast they call "Destroyer," and thanks to a young wizard named Zoc (Nicolas Cage), they have a way to fight back. Using a potion, they shrink Lucas down to their size and carry him back to the colony. Many of the ants want to kill and eat their nemesis, but the benevolent Queen (Meryl Streep) decrees that he is to remain in the colony and, through training, learn to become an ant himself. Zoc's girlfriend Hova (Julia Roberts) eagerly volunteers to train him, which threatens to drive a wedge between her and Zoc.

Lucas makes for a stubborn student, rejecting the teamwork inherent in ant society; he doesn't need anybody's help, thank you very much. Not having any human friends, he is even reluctant to accept the friendship that ants such as Hova offer him. When the colony finds itself in danger, though - particularly when The Cloudbreather shows up to exterminate the lawn - Lucas sees the error of his ways, begins to understand how important friends are in life, and even goes so far as to risk his own life to protect those around him. It's hard for a child to realize that a "me first" philosophy won't get you very far in life, and The Ant Bully communicates that very important lesson in a wonderful, expressive way. While most animated films play strictly for laughs, The Ant Bully uses comedy to reinforce one of life's most important lessons. Yes, there's an element of socialism in it all (and heaven knows how much I hate socialism), but the true message of the film is a good and proper one.

I love this film's animation and cinematography. The attention to detail is amazing; for example, it would have been all too easy to just give the ants plain white eyes, but these animators went the extra mile to make their ants' eyes reflect the convexity of real ants' compound eyes. In terms of the cinematography, I found myself thinking back to some of the epic battle scenes from the original Star Wars trilogy as the ants rushed to defend their base from an aerial assault by wasps. I also loved the scene where the view pulled way back for a dramatic ant-sized explosion, only to show - from a human perspective - the very modest poof of a little firecracker. That doesn't sound like much, but I thought it was brilliant. In fact, I thought this entire movie was brilliant. And wait - there's more. You also get to hear the great Ricardo Montalban and Bruce Campbell lend their voices to a couple of characters, as well. Wow! What else could you ask for? Truly, The Ant Bully is one of the best animated films I've seen in some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC! one of the better ones!, 20 July 2007
By 
K. bruce "BubbleWorm" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
just finished watching this with the kids! wow! i don't know who loved it more, me or them! i thought cage was excellent as a cartoon, i knew his voice straight away, (almost) and felt he played the character well, all the rest were great to. much better than some of the other animated features i have watched recently in this genre, definitely worth watching and buying! the environment in which the ants live is absolutely beautiful, alot of imagination has obviously gone into this one and the character design is one of the best i have seen, each ant looks different, the colours and textures used are stunning, their are alot of tribal elements hinted at and for me these are the best ant's i have seen in in comparison to bugs life and antz.

the story was interesting and held my attention from start to finish, (and the kids, one is 4, the other 2) although they didn't quite get some of the jokes, (aimed at older viewers) such as the "yellow rain" lol, i was laughing, panicking, the lot!

the initial scenes of destruction were very well done, the effect's are very detailed and "expensive" looking, i found myself gasping at those scenes and yelling at the antz to escape! very realistic, i felt as if i was watching a live action "war of the worlds/the day after tomorrow" scene!

i won't say any more so as not to spoil it except go out and buy buy buy!

excellent effects, character designs, great voice overs, character development, an actual 'good' storyline and alot of originality!

you've nothing to lose with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice movie with lovely subtle message, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a lovely movie. The story is simple yet interesting enough to keep my 3year old entertained over and over and over. The moral is a good one and the animation is beautiful. Very pleased with this purchace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, entertaining and fun, 29 Mar 2008
By 
M. P. Barnes "BarnseytheClaret" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
One of the better animated films, this is a story, as always, with a moral, but it doesn't let that, or over-sentimentality, get in the way of the action or the story. With so many famous names cast as the voices, it has a quality feel to it, and, at 1h30 long, you don't really have time to get bored, as there is a pretty good pace to proceedings...You should see it because "You have a brain the size of a peanut!" (That's a compliment, by the way!;-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Ah you got to love this film and bought it at a great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this for my 5 years daughter. although she did not seem to be interested in watching this movie, she absolutely loves it now. she has now been watching it almost everyday for about 3 weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This was PERFECT, It was the best thing I could find and it fulfilled my needs at this time... Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
my son is a picky movie watcher but loves this movie. would recommend to any child of the fitting age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family film, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A great film for all ages it puts you in a place where things appear somewhat different . A must for a cold day when the kids are in !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006]
The Ant Bully [DVD] [2006] by John A. Davis (DVD - 2007)
£2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews