Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (331)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!
I had been told to watch 'Sprited Away' by a friend some time ago and, having heard her recommendation, resolved to watch it some day, promptly forgetting all about it. i eventually did see it and, what can i say? i was a fool not to have listened to her, i should have hightailed it to a blockbuster immediately and proceeded to spend the next 2 hrs glued to a...
Published on 27 Feb. 2005 by Ms. E. J. Mercer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One problem
I am a huge fan of this so when i reseved the DVD i was really exited, the DVD came in good condition but had one major flaw. at sertan times in the playing of the DVD it would skip right to the start, this happens at least 4 times!!!

so if you are planning to get this you might want to rethink, for if they are all like the one i reseved it will put a damper on...
Published 6 months ago by jake cordeaux


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 27 Feb. 2005
By 
Ms. E. J. Mercer "intrigued" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
I had been told to watch 'Sprited Away' by a friend some time ago and, having heard her recommendation, resolved to watch it some day, promptly forgetting all about it. i eventually did see it and, what can i say? i was a fool not to have listened to her, i should have hightailed it to a blockbuster immediately and proceeded to spend the next 2 hrs glued to a screen.
I promise that anyone with any romance or appreciation for art and music in their soul must watch this film! You will NOT regret it.
Be warned though, it does tend to leave you with either a monumental desperation for a sequel that will probably never be, or an immediate need to run and watch all of Miyazaki's films, so be prepared to wake up one day and find his entire collection along with numerous other animes you've been tempted into buying in pride-of-place next to your dvd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purely stunning., 21 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
Well, what can I say or add that the other reviewers have not? Not much. Only that this is FAR from the average violent & profane techno anime. This movie is something that anyone would enjoy; old or young, prepare to be spellbound. Children love it as it is interesting and fun, adults love it because it is deep and beautiful, and provides much escapism from the reality of life.
I first saw this movie some time ago, at a friend's house. When the credits rolled by, I sat there literally stunned. I borrowed the DVD, took it home and began to watch it non-stop over and over (this caused some alarm among my other family members, by the way :).
Miyazaki is a GENIUS. I am so in love with this film, that I find it impossible to accept the fact that once upon a time, I did not even know that this movie existed. I am now going on a mad rampage, trying to accumulate all of Miyazaki's films; it is proving rather expensive, but it the most worthwhile obsession I have ever had!
If you loved this film, I urge you to give at least these others of Miyazaki's a try: 'Princess Mononoke', 'Howl's Moving Castle', 'My Neighbour Totoro', 'Kiki's Delivery Service', 'Nausicaa: Valley of the Wind', 'Laputa: Castle in the Sky', 'Porco Rosso'. Hats off to Amazon for re-releasing them; all us distressed & deprived fans are very grateful!!
Beginners beware: If you see this, you will want to buy it; more than likely, you will become as addicted as me. So think it through before you take the plunge ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "What happened to my spell? Only love can break it", 6 Nov. 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There are many outstanding aspects about this film that contribute to place it among the best anime productions I have seen in my life. It all starts with the animation, since the attention to detail in Miyazaki's work is seldom experienced. I could not help gasping when in one of the scenes I saw the perfect reflection of Chihiro on the window of a train in which she was traveling. These are the kind of details that give the production a realism that is really hard to find. The second crucial element is the story itself, which is proof of a prodigious imagination, and which without a doubt can be experienced several times without generating boredom in the spectator. Finally, and maybe this is the most striking aspect of all, this is a movie that can be appreciated by audiences of all ages, because there is something to take away for everyone. I can only imagine how interesting it will be for my daughter to watch this film as a kid, teenager and adult, since there are things to discover at each level of maturity.

Chihiro, the main protagonist of the story, is a ten-year-old girl who is moving with her parents to a new city. She is the typical kid nearing adolescence, and therefore, is unhappy with the world, her parents in particular, and shows no interest in anything. When looking for their new house, a wrong turn leads them to a mysterious place that looks like an abandoned theme park, but when night falls quicker than expected, Chihiro finds herself all alone in a world full of spirits. There are no words to describe the astounding magical world in which she is immersed, and the transformation the character undergoes is as mesmerizing as it is revealing.

When a few years ago I watched "Princess Mononoke" I thought I had experienced Miyazaki at the top of his game, but this film gives it a run for its money. Bottom line is that both works should be required watching for every fan of the genre. People that are looking for an introduction to anime can find no better place to start than with "Spirited Away". The only drawback is that it will create a tough benchmark for future experiences to match.

In terms of the Extras, the disc that has the film, also has a piece on the Art of Spirited Away, where Miyazaki shares some of the "secrets" behind his inspiration and peers and coworkers talk about the wonderful qualities of this magnificent director. In most cases I would say that the praise was scripted and disregard it as such, but in this case it really rings true, and it is entertaining and insightful to watch. This segment also includes commentary on the challenges faced with the translation, and on the steps that were put in place to conserve the original intent of the film. This is extremely important, especially in the anime / manga genre, where sadly, lousy translations that mangle the product are not uncommon.

The Extras in the additional disc were not really worth watching, and I felt like they were there just as a way to make this a two-disc edition. Nevertheless, the rest of the product is so outstanding that I could not bring myself to lower my rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a brilliant animated feature..., 14 Dec. 2006
By 
C. MILLIGAN "Zaarin2006" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
Occasionally, just occasionally, a film becomes a culture in its own right, and everything it is related to falls away around it to leave it standing on its own. Spirited Away is such a film. It has taken over box office records in Japan, and not done too badly in the western hemisphere, widely being cited as one of, or even the, best animated film ever produced.

But Miyazaki's epic is not just a brilliant animated film. It is a brilliant film. All too often, animated features are great because of the animation, that is the technical dazzle and sheer fantasy nature that the animated medium allows for. And that's great. Spirited Away, however, goes further. The themes it touches on - greed, emotional attachment and the imperfection complex that blights every human being; as well as presenting the importance of traditional values - can be found nestled in the scripts of the deepest live action films.

We quickly become immunised to the sheer weirdness of the world presented to us in this film, and that helps us identify with the characters that we might otherwise struggle with.

The plot is summarised well above, but to give a brief outline (which falls massively short of doing the film's complexity justice); I don't want to ruin the sheer surprise of the exotic, and downright bizarre nature of the spirit world; suffice to say it'll leave you dumbstruck and inspired by the attention to detail that has gone into it. Essentially, the film follows Chihiro, a ten year old girl, who, along with her parents, is transported magically into a world of spirits and sorcery. When her parents are turned into pigs by a cruel spell, she must battle her way through the politics and intrigue of the society she has been stranded in. Helping and hindering her along the way are the friendly but icy spirit Haku, and the greedy sorceress Yubaba. Chihiro must find her way out of the spirit world alive, and with her parents restored to human form. Confused? You will be, so the trick is to let go for two hours and allow yourself to become immersed in the fantasy of this spirit world.

You come away from this film feeling like you've learnt something, feeling like you've had a good time, and absolutely certain that you're going to watch it again. This is the hallmark of a good film - shelf life - and in this respect Spirited Away is timeless. Like all truly brilliant motion pictures (e.g. Where Eagles Dare, The Sting, Crouching Tiger: Hidden Dragon), you come away with a substantial number of questions, and a need to have a repeat viewing to start to answer some of them.

Purists will prefer the original Japanese version, but the dubbed English version has made the film accessible to many more; and, as it's an animated film, the dubbing is considerably less obvious than with live action films. As an animator, I have found a repetitive draw to this film for inspiration and ideas; but as a regular movie-goer, I simply find it a truly excellent, must-see flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirited Away DVD by Hayao Miyazaki, 10 Aug. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
Wow!!!!! What an adventure! What a story! What a fantasy! I wish I could watch this animation when I was young like Chihiro! But even now being 28 years old, I am impressed.... So, what's special in this movie? Why everybody likes it?
1) Well, first of all, there is a very unusual story. It's just not what you expect from fairytales or what you are accustomed to expect from fairytales. The story is intriguing and is absolutely unpredictable. Each next scene will make your eyes and mouth wide. That's why you'll be glued to the screen the whole 2-hour time while the movie goes. So, I am not going to tell you what's the story is about, as I want you to be excited in the same way I was when I watched it for the first time...
2) Humour. There are plenty of moments there, which will make you laugh. The humour is very intelligent and that's why it's very pleasant and enjoyable. In the course of the movie you'll see various characters. Most of them will make you smile without saying a word!
3) Main characters. I don't know whether you've seen already "Tokyo Godfathers". If yes, then you know how quality drawn characters can be. The 10-years old Chihiro is so real here. Well, actually, my favourite character there is not Chihiro, but wonderful granny Yubaba!!! Oh, she is so cool and witty! Quite a special character I must say, but so lovely! She is so smart and funny that I wish she could be my grand mother!!!
4) Music. You know, with such an original score, you don't really need to watch anything. Just listen to this masterpiece of the famous Japanese composer Joe Hisaishi!!!! Splendid! You will not hear a single electronic sound, but what you'll hear are beautiful orchestral, piano and violin themes. This movie got rich and quality soundtrack.
Conclusion: this movie is a masterpiece. I am very happy I watched it and I am glad I got this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless masterpiece of genuine magic, 24 Nov. 2014
As Hayao Miyazaki’s remarkable directorial career draws to a close with the poignant The Wind Rises, the Studio Ghibli founder's undisputed award-winning masterpiece, Spirited Away, finally receives the pin sharp Blu-ray treatment in the UK. There aren’t many films we can all agree on, but I’ve never met anyone who was left untouched by the spellbinding magic contained within Miyazaki’s ethereal bathhouse for the gods.

The most widely known and praised of Ghibli’s – and all Japanese – animation, it’s cheering to see that this particular experience is one that so many have identified with. Ostensibly it's a focused Alice in Wonderland re-imagining that sees 10-year-old Chihiro catapulted from the land of the living (where she’s a stroppy sourpuss, sulking at the thought of moving home) to a mythical fantasy land of weird and grotesque creatures. There is a wide-eyed wonder and haunting melancholy that we share with Chihiro, cast adrift in this strange, magical place, resigned to a life without her parents. As Chihiro feels her way around the spirit world she must seek work and make alliances to avoid the wrath of the house’s owner, the witch Yubaba. The story is small, and so is Chihiro, but the transfixing scope of the world is the closest cinema has ever come to real magic.

With this immaculate high definition release, the beauty and detail of the creator’s vision is vividly present in every frame: scenic paintings so textured and ambient they should be framed; incidental characters or objects that barely register but are shaped with as much love and inspiration as the central focus. The world, and all of its magic, feels real because it has been drawn and painted by people who believe in it. Underscored by longtime Miyazaki collaborator Joe Hisaishi, the music is every bit as iconic as the visuals. Jaunty piano melodies appear when required, as do soaring moments of triumphant orchestration. Perhaps the highest praise that can be paid to the music, though, is that it just feels right. As with every hand-drawn and digitally animated line, every note of the score is a deeply interwoven part of the Spirited Away experience.

The character design alone is an overwhelming achievement of creativity, melding folklore and fantasy to conjure beings the like of which those of us fed on a rich diet of Disney could never conceive. Not cute, anthropomorphised animals and teapots, but bobbing severed heads, terrifying stink monsters and the glutinous drifting No-Face. For there is a darkness in Spirited Away, and that real fear that children crave. We can all remember the stories and films that freaked us out as youngsters – they are the ones that touch us the most.

Most importantly this is not a morality tale. Every character is capable of both good and bad, and the only victory to be sought is a personal one for Chihiro, as her confidence and bravery begin to grow – making friends at a new school will be small potatoes after this. And who couldn’t identify with that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and imaginative Japanese animation, 18 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
Writing as someone who has never watched anime before, this animated feature is an incredibly imaginative superior production with an intelligent story.

Chihiro is on her way with her parents to a new home - on the way they stop to explore a strange tunnel, which takes them into another world. In this world, through gluttony, her parents are turned into pigs, and Chihiro is rescued by Haku, a young boy. She finds work in the centrepiece of this world, the bathhouse for spirits, in which she has many adventures which gradually change her from sullen and spoiled to helpful and kind.

The ideas are complex, and the animation suitably layered as well. The bathhouse creatures are weird and wonderful creations - neither heroes nor bad guys, good nor bad - just fascinating multilayered characters. All of the main storylines involve layers of identity, nothing being what it first seems, and the animation style lends itself to this incredibly well. There is the slime monster who everyone cannot bear the smell of, who, with a little kindness reveals a more benevolent and powerful spirit. Or the `No-face', sort of a walking `Scream' portrait, who changes his identity through loneliness, but returns once kindness and friendship are given. And of course Haku, who takes many forms before being redeemed when reminded of his true identity.

Though the animation on one level may appear simplified compared to modern cgi `toons', in fact the colours and rhythm of events are richer than most, and although I am writing this after one viewing, one suspects that there is much more to be seen on multiple viewings.

Amongst the almost universally glowing reviews however, it is worth remembering that this is a Japanese film. This is both an asset and a detraction. The asset is clear - this movie has more imagination in one scene than any current animated Western feature has in its whole length, both in animation and story. However, while Hollywood sometimes falls prey to too much schmaltz, the absence of a sweetener to the tale here means that it is difficult to be absorbed on more than an intellectual level. Animated features work because you become passionate about the characters or the outcome - not easy when all you are doing is thinking how wonderful all the ideas are.

The DVD comes in two disc form, with the first showing the film in both English dubbed (by John Lasseter of Toy Story / Pixar boss fame) and the original Japanese with subtitles. There is also an option to watch the whole movie in its original storyboard form, but hard to imagine anyone would watch the whole movie this way - though it is fascinating to see this embryonic stage of the movie for a minute or two in places.

The second disc contains a range of material educating the non-Japanese and anime fans amongst us of Miyazaki's output, amongst other generally interesting bits and pieces.

Having said that, the tale is a complete one, the experience rich, and the moral positive. Perhaps younger children will find this a little scary in places, and perhaps a little complicated, but it's a small quibble with so much to warrant the Oscar (Best Animated Feature, 2002) it won. Recommended, as long as you are comfortable with something a little bit different, and prepared for not so much sugar with your dessert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's absolutely worth to see., 17 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
I am Japanese, so I should describe a review in terms of Japanese point of view. Miyazaki is pretty popular in Japan, not only do children see his movies, but also adults. In this movie, he is showing the Japanese ancient, but almost forgotton sense of value.
In a movie there are many gods visiting a bath house in order to rest. Japanese ancient religion contains so-called 8 million gods, which means everything has spirit. The meaning of this is we would respect everything. If you believe that a god lives in your coffee cup, you feel it valuable and would try to use it as long as possible. Moreover if you respect each river, mountain, and other nature stuff, it leads to environmental protection, which is Miyazaki's big concern.
If you like it, I recommend to see other movies produced by Miyazaki. My favorite is Nausica, and Laputa is also fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic film which will trail you into another world, 22 Aug. 2004
This review is from: Spirited Away [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched many animation films from Ninja Scroll to Akira but Spirited away stood out as the most wondeful and artistic piece of animation that i have laid my eyes on. From where the film starts you will end up being dragged and more cautious about what will happen with each colourful and eye thrilling texture that is shown throughout the film.
Chihiro first ventures into a new surrounding of moving home and has hard thoughts into realising the consequence of leaving home sweet home. As they come closer to their new home they find a mysterious pathway that seems to be of good use into getting to their new home quicker. But in this pathway their awaits a strange yet wondeful world of strange and mystical ghosts and creatures and only Chihiro can weave her way out of this world.
This DVD is a journey of extravegance and extrodinary fantasy from the start to finish and will leave any movie fan on the edge of their chair waiting for more spills and great assets that endure in this film.
So if your wondering wether you should buy this DVD then the clear answer is yes. Im sure you will all enjoy this so sit back and feel the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic, 7 Dec. 2003
Miyazaki is not well known outside anime fans in the UK, even though the feature Castle in the Sky (originaly titled Laputa) was shown over Christmas periods a few times, but he deserves to be. His works are what Disney strives to be but fails each time. Miyazaki pulls out fantastical masterpieces that dirve the imagination to new levels and they are enjoyable for all audiences no matter their age.
Hiragi and her family are moving to a new home and after taking a wrong turn, the wind up exploring an abandoned amusement park. Hiragi's parents happen upon a vast display of food and start stuffing themselves, Hiragi continues her exploration of the area and is warned to leave before night falls, returning to her parents, she discovers that they have turned into pigs and night is falling. Without understanding why, she is thrown into another world, one inahbited by spirits, witches, demons and monsters and only in this world can she possibly find hope in bringing her parents back to their original state.
The animation is top notch and the storytelling is on par for Miyazaki (perfection, as always) and this is a movie that is worth beinf seen by all. Easily 5 stars and would grant more if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spirited Away [DVD] [2001]
Spirited Away [DVD] [2001] by Hatao Miyazaki (DVD - 2007)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews