Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love you once. I love you twice. I love you more than beans and rice!,
I like this movie and I have seen this countless of times. 'Pretty Baby' is a testament to the fact that the 70's were vastly more liberated than our times, at least when it comes to sexuality. In here pretty baby is twelve-year-old Violet, played by Brooke Shields. Violet has grown in the environment of a circa World War I whorehouse in New Orleans, where her mother...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A look inside the Red Light District
This story takes place at the turn of the century in New Orleans'. A prostitute becomes pregnant decides to keep her baby and gives birth to a daughter named Violet. They live in the brothel where she continues to work. Twelve years later, Violet is old enough to attract the attentions of the brothel's customers. Her mother agrees to have her virginity auctioned off to...
Published on 5 Oct. 2007 by M. A. Ramos


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty baby dvd
i gave 5 stars for this dvd
i would recomend this dvd to anyone over 18 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brave, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby [DVD] (DVD)
Brooke Shields was magical as so was Susan Saradon a sweet film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby [DVD] (DVD)
great leads in sensitive work on a delicate subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Mar. 2015
By 
C. T. Petersen "CTP" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby (DVD)
Great product received in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking Disturbing Provocative, 24 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Pretty Baby [DVD] (DVD)
I seen the movie title listed in an Amazon.com Kindle book titled THE DEFINITIVE GUIDE TO GIRLS IN COMING OF AGE MOVIES by Carl Wo. , Which lists 600 different movies that truly fit the genre. It is not a movie to watch with the whole family as there are numerous nude and sex scenes, including several of the star of the movie Brooke Shields when she was 13 years old and playing the part of a 12 year old daughter of a prostitute.
The movie was made in 1978 and there are edited versions of it, so beware of what you buy, becaue there are heavily edited versions of the movie.
The story centers on the coming of age of Violet (Brooke Shields), but the movie also covers the life of her prostitute mother.
Violet sees it all, from walking in the bedroom when her mother is with a man, to having her ownself auctioned off to sell her virginity, to falling in love with a middle age photographer who comes to the brothel to photograph the prostitutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby (DVD)
Not good seems over edited
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Baby my review, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby [DVD] (DVD)
High rating, pretty baby has a good story line which is plausible. A child or in this story children being raised in a New Orleans brothel and all the goings on in this whore house that the children witness on a day to day basis. By todays standards this would not happen?
It is an amusing film as well as having a serious side. Very much sex for sale by the ladies and some indication to the types of men clients that frequent the place. A good performance by Keith Carradine who plays the role of a photographer whose interests are in capturing photos of the ladies of pleasure especially young Violet (Brooke Shields) and her mother (Susan Saradon) The story is set in 1917.
The film has a controversial theme child prostitution and its interpretation by the director and entire cast is outstanding.
I have no dislikes of the film but this is one for adults only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pretty Baby (Amazon Instant Video)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Whore with Heart?, 9 Oct. 2007
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty Baby is certainly not a boring movie but it is not a great one either. My first jolt out of the world it wanted to convey was the appalling miming at the piano by Antonio Fargas. This really is the Directors fault as the camera angel chosen showed too much of his aimless finger work. That aside the atmosphere of the Whore House was convincingly portrayed.

The main problem with the film has to be the performance of Keith Carradine. In both film versions of "Lolita" the Humberts played respectively by James Mason and Jeremy Irons convincingly portray their desperate love for their nymphet. Keith Carradine does not.

Brook Shields and Susan Sarandon are excellent but the material they are asked to work with never rises above simple observation. No ones heart is ever truly exposed and so a coldness pervades the picture.

The DVD transfer is good. The Sound could be better. There are no Extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it should when it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pretty Baby [DVD]
Pretty Baby [DVD] by Louis Malle (DVD - 2007)
£24.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews