Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still a great show!
Unless you possess a very large TV indeed, you will not get the full potential of this great movie. Maybe 95%! Movies are made for the cinema, not for TV and are seen at their best on movie theatre screens, or at second best on large TV screens. However this is still terrific stuff. You'll not come across a better circus film than this one. Lots of big stars, Charlton...
Published on 30 Oct 2008 by DoDo Fan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing
Good interpretation of circus life,very colourful,fabulous costumes. and circus rings very well done. Overall weak story line and poor acting. worth a watch if just needing chill out time.
Published 10 months ago by MRS J TOMLINSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE GOOD OLD CLASSICS., 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
They do not make films like this any more.
excellent, WE WILL NEVER SEE THE LIKES OF THESE FILMS
ANY MORE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !00 precent viewing!, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
An Excellent film! I cannot understand why the TV stations do not show more of the classics! I am happy to have this film in my private collection,and will order more from Amazon,as you always have what I want! Many thanks to all at Amazon UK!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Bought this as a gift so have given it already and had no complaints back so can only assume it met with approval but for me Great in the fact that the item was available and the prompr response in receiving it was perfect too thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars circus showtime, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
bring back the animals to the circus.it may be old and looking it but it could not be made nowadays because of the politically incorrectness of the situation.combines several stories and children love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH IT AND BE ENTERTAINED, 3 Jun 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
The old style classics cannot be bettered in today's modern world of computerised technology. Sure - some effects may be a little outdated but the storyline is superb: the actors are cast in great roles and the viewer is entertained and enthralled from start to finish.
This movie brings the old style world of circus right into your home with all the thrills and spills we used to see when we were kids.
I would recommend that anyone who enjoys a great movie should watch this. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Sep 2012
By 
C. Cook (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Had forgotten how good this film was, bought it for the grandchildren, and they really enjoyed it, they have watched it at least three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rather dated but enjoyable., 25 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Bought this as an extra for my husband for Christmas, as he's circus mad. Rather dated now, but all the same enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Watching, 27 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
This is a great family film with something for everyone. There is fun, excitement, danger, and behind it all a love story or two. It is an older movie but i enjoy it just as much today as the first time i watched it all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
Good interpretation of circus life,very colourful,fabulous costumes. and circus rings very well done. Overall weak story line and poor acting. worth a watch if just needing chill out time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD for an elderly parent!!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
S. Nicholls (Cardiff. Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a present for my father. He was a cinema projectionist early in his life and loves any old movies. I thought this was a very reasonable price - and was quick to be delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952]
The Greatest Show On Earth [DVD] [1952] by Cecil B. de Mille (DVD - 2007)
5.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews