Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing AND educational
It's highly entertaining watching this modern day "odd couple" traipse around the vineyards of France during the summer of 2006. Respected wine "expert" Oz Clarke is attempting to educate enthusiastic wine consumer James May. The constant bickering and arguments (usually centred on Clarke's frustrations with May getting tanked at every opportunity) make for great...
Published on 21 Dec 2006 by Steve Wilson

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great idea but mixed results
Some of this series is excellent but for most of the first few episodes James May's oafish and offensive behaviour was truly cringe-making. Rude, surly and sulky public schoolboy behaving yobbishly in feeble attempt to get "street cred" - he was an utter embarrassment. I can't understand how Oz Clarke and the unfailingly-charming vineyard owners managed to put up with...
Published on 28 Mar 2009 by Bill Bloggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing AND educational, 21 Dec 2006
By 
Steve Wilson "Wilbur" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
It's highly entertaining watching this modern day "odd couple" traipse around the vineyards of France during the summer of 2006. Respected wine "expert" Oz Clarke is attempting to educate enthusiastic wine consumer James May. The constant bickering and arguments (usually centred on Clarke's frustrations with May getting tanked at every opportunity) make for great viewing.

Along the way Clarke does well to impart a great deal of wine knowledge which is actually useful.

Well worth a watch, whether you're looking for some light entertainment, or an easy introduction to the complexities of French wine making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 11 May 2008
By 
T. Hansen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny and highly entertaining program of well known wine expert
OZ Clarke and Jmaes May known form Top Gear, who together travels on a
wine adventure. James knows nothing about wine, but have chosen the car
for the adventure (of course an English jaguar) and is like a rebel
boarder school boy taught by the slightly older and more distinguished
Oz Clarke, who continuously tries to learn James about the different
wines and the impressions they make. It all turns into a lot of very
entertaining and very funny situations, filled with humour, and there
is a lot to learn and view, both from the more experienced and newcomer
to wine tasting, on this fantastic wine adventure filled taste -and
sense impressions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Programme This Year., 6 Dec 2006
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't laughed so much in a long time. James is hilarious as the normal bloke to Oz's wine snob, basically getting drunk at every available opportunity. If you ever looked at someone spitting out the wine during a tasting and thought "what a waste" you'll appreciate the humour. Personally I love wine and I love James May, so can't say I'm an impartial judge, but I'd defiantly recommend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasently surprisingly funny, 29 July 2008
By 
Matthew G. Pople (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
While i can see where the reviewer saying its just "Sideways" the tv series is coming from, i find this program far more entertaing than that film. I am very much like James when it comes to wine, i always wanted to like it but had no idea where to start and the whole arena is suurounded with pretension and posing. James May can sometimes seem to be a bit close minded and being stupid for the sake of it but the pairing do work well together prioducing some very funny moments if, like me, drier humour is your thing. I'd heartily reccomend this show and its Californina sequel which is probably better imo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oz & James's Big Wine Adventure, 4 Mar 2007
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Oz the wine buff allegedly met James the beer drinker in a pub and the result was a month long trip around France to teach James all about wine. It's a great job that they did. This DVD is very funny and at the same time very informative. Even if you're not a big wine fan it's great to see a two very different guys form a really good friendship. This DVD is thoroughly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
this is very informative about wine and very funny although the USA one is better i highly recommend this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Product Review, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Great service, packaging case slightly broken on arrival but not too concerned.

Great and very promt service. Thank a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great idea but mixed results, 28 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Some of this series is excellent but for most of the first few episodes James May's oafish and offensive behaviour was truly cringe-making. Rude, surly and sulky public schoolboy behaving yobbishly in feeble attempt to get "street cred" - he was an utter embarrassment. I can't understand how Oz Clarke and the unfailingly-charming vineyard owners managed to put up with him. I can only assume they were all being very well paid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed this CD. We visit France regularly and enjoy French wine so this was enjoyable and relevant to us
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oz and James's Big Wine Adventure, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. P. G. Deakin (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz And James's Big Wine Adventure: Complete BBC Series One [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Great fun and educational, even for wine buffs like myself. Makes you want to follow in their footsteps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews