Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York Stand Up
I've developed a bad habit over the last few months of reading ignorant, superficial bloggers' tirades against Nas and his new album. Most of them big up the likes of T.I. and Young Jeezy in the same sentence and think Nas's album title is a slur on the credibility of 'their' music and the artists they choose to admire.

This album however, as proclaimed by Nas...
Published on 16 Jan 2007 by The Imperial

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Good
Only giving the 3 stars as I'm not that big a fan of mainstream-type hip-hop and do not want to encourage the type of production that goes with this territory.

Otherwise; a pretty great album. Not anticipating this, the Will I Am beats were fantastic, 'Hip Hop is Dead' and 'Can't Forget About You' are some classics. Other great tracks on the album but was...
Published on 18 Jun 2008 by Ted Frost


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New York Stand Up, 16 Jan 2007
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
I've developed a bad habit over the last few months of reading ignorant, superficial bloggers' tirades against Nas and his new album. Most of them big up the likes of T.I. and Young Jeezy in the same sentence and think Nas's album title is a slur on the credibility of 'their' music and the artists they choose to admire.

This album however, as proclaimed by Nas himself, is not about New York Vs The South or Boombap Vs Crunk, it's about the disintegration of what was one of the most creative artforms of modern times. The decline of Hip-Hop is based around two main themes: 1) Emphasis on sales 2) Less emphasis on the art of lyricism/MCing. Nas (Nastier on this than on other post-Illmatic outings)details this in full over an album that provokes, inpires and comes at you hard.

From the opener 'Money Over Bulls**t' you realise Nas is back with increased tenacity, a harder, edgier sound that makes you sit up and take notice. The title track follows the trend and despite its similarity to Thiefs Theme, it's a classic slice of pure hip-hop. Nas sounds rejuvinated and passionate about an artform he's helped develop and aggressive and stubborn about its decline. Nas, however, proclaims it in such a way that most hip-hop purists may feel optimistic about its future after their listen.

The middle of the album generates a more soulful feel and gives the listener a more introspective Nas. Some may still yearn for the heavier beats of the first 6 tracks but enveloped in the more mellow end of the album are Kanye-crafted gems 'Still Dreamin'' and 'Let There Be Light', both perfectly executed slabs of soulful hip-hop. The only let-downs here are the lazy Scott Storch produced 'Play on Playa' and the Kelis featuring 'Not Going Back'. Why Nas would enlist the help of pop producers Stargate for an album slating hip-hop fakers is beyond me. Plus, rappers doing duets with wifey are always useless so its no surprise this strikes out.

These are minor quibbles - this is a hugely successful concept album and one that bubbles with a genuine intensity most modern day hip-hop albums are lacking. The key to this is that Nas allows all his emotions to flow generating a confident, arrogant hip-hop swagger at one level and a vulnerable charm the next. This is what makes hip-hop great.

Nas may be right when he proclaims Hip Hop Is Dead but if rappers are still producing albums like this it's still hard to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop Is Alive, 17 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Illmatic, It Was Written, Stillmatic, Lost Tape's, God's Son, a Street's Disciple. NaS has one of the most impressive back catougle in music, and is most certian a Hip Hop icon. This new album under Def Jam see's NaS brining top producers,Kanye West,Dr.Dre,L.E.S,Salami Remi, Just Blaze, Scott Storch,a Will.i.am(No Premo)and Collabo's with Jay-Z, Snoop, Game, Kanye, a Mrs.Nas Kelis. This is Hip Hop, not for you pop fans, this isnt about crossover, a mainstream accepteance this is about real Hip Hop for real Hip Hop fans. Standout track Can't Forget About U
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Good, 18 Jun 2008
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Only giving the 3 stars as I'm not that big a fan of mainstream-type hip-hop and do not want to encourage the type of production that goes with this territory.

Otherwise; a pretty great album. Not anticipating this, the Will I Am beats were fantastic, 'Hip Hop is Dead' and 'Can't Forget About You' are some classics. Other great tracks on the album but was ultimately let down by a few mediocre tracks such as 'Carry on the Tradition' and Carry on Tradition'.

Rappers of Nas's standard should take note of this: a few slighlty less than dope tracks can prevent what could otherwise be a classic. Therefore; keep an album down to the bare minimum of absolute classics rather than trying to appease a few mediocre beat makers. A lot of indie dudes have taken this lesson on board and hip-hop could take this on board to gain a bit more respect.

Otherwise, a pretty class album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Music, 26 Jun 2007
By 
A. Taylor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Nas is truly gifted with words. I have thought that since listening to illmatic, amd in this album he displays in some ways a more coherent but equally poetic content. What I admire most about Nas is his integrity, he has real respect for what real music is and acknowledges those that have paved the way for him , and comes across as particularily nostalgic here especially on in my opinion the albums best track Cant Forget About You. I Think this track is a masterpiece and worth the full album price on its own . Nas is a real artist and is so far removed from one trick pony rappers like T.I. and anyone else in the mainstream currently that its not even worth debating about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again the wait is worth it, 19 Dec 2006
By 
T. Ainsworth "Shadds" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Once again I have to give it to Nas for bringing out a top quality album!! With the Disjointed Streets Disciple in 2004 I was worried that this was gonna go the same way but this is well produced and a good first album for Def Jam. I hope the next is a good as this! 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to his best, 18 Dec 2006
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Well "Hip hop is dead" is a killer album,i've been semi disappointed this year with ok albums by jay z,p.diddy,the game etc..not that they were bad just ok..well nas's new album is the hip hop album of the year along with lupe fiasco's album.

Producers include. dr dre,kanye west,wil.i.am,scott storch. Killer trax inc "Black republicans with jay z,money over bullshit,the kanye prod trax "still dreaming" and "let there be light" and the dre banger "Hustlers",there are more dope trax so get one of 2006's best hip hop albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 23 Dec 2006
By 
S. Cooper "Coop B" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
Fact: This IS the best album of 2006

Fact: Nas IS the best rapper alive

False: Hip Hop Is Dead

Why is Hip Hop not dead? Simple, becasue of Nas.

That's right, Hip Hop will remain alive aslong as this man is on the scene to breath air into the lungs of a genre which is becoming increasingly repetitive and uninspirational.

Nas kicks the album off with the AMAZING 'Money Over Bulls%*t', instantly reminding fans who the King of Hip Hop is.

This fantastic quality remains throughout the 17 track LP without a single 'filler'. Nas fans will notice he sticks to his similar formula, switching from his typical melancholy flow on the fantastic 'Blunt Ashes' to the inspirational 'Let There Be Light', assisted by Kanye West. Production is consistent with contributions from Salem Remi and L.E.S, two producers who cosistantly appear on Nas' most recent albums, as well as veterans Dr Dre, Scott Storch and the in-form Will.I.Am.

As ever, Nas' lyrics are on point and deliver a message which has aroused reactions from just about everyone connected with hip-hop.

Standout tracks on this brilliant album are 'Where Are They Now', title track 'Hip Hop is Dead' and the Dr Dre produced 'Hustlers'.

Overall Nas' latest offering is brilliant and as a Nas fan myself, i see this as his best album since his classic LP Stillmatic.

As far as wether Hip Hop is Dead, well 2007 sees New York lyricists Papoose and Fabolous release albums which are sure to be great. Conversely however, the man many view as the no 1 witness for Hip Hops Murder, steroid fiend 50Cent, returns with 'Till i Self-Destruct' which is sure to put commercial hip-hop back in young girls stereos and produce another G-Unit piece of s*&t!

But HHID is proof who the king of Hip Hop is and that is by no means a dead genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good .. but .., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
For me although this is a good solid album, Nas could've done better.

If you're going to call a CD Hip Hop is Dead then, with that being such a bold statement, maybe you could use the CD to explain your thoughts on that. He does, to an extent, but it should have been a narrative running through all of the songs, not just some.

I find it ironic that he drops 'Black Republican' straight after 'Who Killed it?' as seemingly what killed Hip Hop is money and commercialization and having Jay-Z on that track.. well it just highlights that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favourite hip-hop albums, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
all I can say is wow, this album is quality. The message is really good and there isn't a bad song.
My favourite song is hustlers its brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Aug 2008
By 
A. Auburn (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hip Hop Is Dead (Audio CD)
This is definitely Nas's best album (so far). Yeah everyones like Illmatic blah blah blah...but this is so timeless. I would rate every track at four or five stars. I loved the music, the featured artists like Chrisette Michelle, Will.I.Am etc, and of course Nas's legendary lyrics. Buy it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hip Hop Is Dead
Hip Hop Is Dead by Nas (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews