Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invisibility is its strength, strength is its weakness.
My preferred sticky tape for my usage on notes, documents and some lightweight gift wrapping. Expensive to buy on the high street but priced more favourably on Amazon. I waited for a 50% price drop and then it was a no-brainer.

The main point of this tape is its lack of appearance once applied, its invisibility which is why it is 'magic'

If you...
Published 10 months ago by A Cactus

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Question "Scotch" brand
Scotch Magic Tape - invisible - 3 rolls - 19mm x 25m

Although described as Scotch Magic tape and acording to the packaging made in France - as is the genune article - the products delivered are inferior in quality to those that I have purchased over the years. Specifically, each of the tapes tends to split instead of allowing pulling out and cutting on the...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Headley J. des Forges


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invisibility is its strength, strength is its weakness., 15 Nov 2013
By 
A Cactus "Andy Cactus" (NW UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
My preferred sticky tape for my usage on notes, documents and some lightweight gift wrapping. Expensive to buy on the high street but priced more favourably on Amazon. I waited for a 50% price drop and then it was a no-brainer.

The main point of this tape is its lack of appearance once applied, its invisibility which is why it is 'magic'

If you expect a more traditional tape usage for strength then don't use this magic tape. Different people want different things from a tape and this Magic tape has quite a unique combination properties that are quite different to more common types of tape and so may not suit everyone's specific application.

It has a matt finish and can be written over easily. It becomes pretty much invisible when applied and smoothed on to paper. You can tape over existing text/writing or figures and it is still visible and scan/copyable.

The adhesive used is a kind similar to that used on PostiT notes so it can also be removed and repositioned many times without damaging the underlying surface. This feature therefore comes at the expense of permanent fixing so if you want to tape something down and discourage removal then use a different tape. Do not use it to seal packages for posting as the tape can easily be removed leaving no obvious signs of any tampering. so beware. (Remember the first erasable ink pens and the warnings about not using them on cheques?).

Magic tape mechanical strength properties are not like other normal tapes it is relatively easy tear once 'nicked' and not resilient to frequent bending so if you want a tape for reinforcing a fold against repeated bending and tearing forces then use a different tape. If you want to wrap a heavy, oddly shaped gift (e.g. unboxed shape with large voids under the paper) then use a different tape. Regular boxed, books and rectangular gifts are just fine and the tape vanishes leaving only the gift wrap pattern. ** However the matt tape is visible if the wrapping paper has a metallic or glossy finish **.

I would say the unusual tear properties also means a tape dispenser with a metal tooth blade is absolutely necessary as otherwise finding the start edge will be very tricky and frustrating as the polymer used is prone to shredding into useless fragments. It is a brittle polymer which means it is extremely sensitive to any kind of split or defect: any crack tip will quickly travel through the tape. But if you get a clean cut without nicks or defects then tape is strong enough for its purpose.

So a lot of review words for a sticky tape but its a great tape as long as you understand what it is intended for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Question "Scotch" brand, 20 May 2012
By 
Headley J. des Forges (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
Scotch Magic Tape - invisible - 3 rolls - 19mm x 25m

Although described as Scotch Magic tape and acording to the packaging made in France - as is the genune article - the products delivered are inferior in quality to those that I have purchased over the years. Specifically, each of the tapes tends to split instead of allowing pulling out and cutting on the serrated edge of my Scotch C38 dispenser, which failure of course interrupts whatever packaging process is in progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
I bought this tape as an extra, so I didn't have to pay for postage on another item! It's definitely the best tape for wrapping presents! I would highly recommend it! Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tape, 22 Jan 2014
By 
PTC8 (Beverley, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
Bought this for , you guest it, wrapping up the christmas presents, great tape, nice and easy to use and cuts well in a dispenser. Nothing much more to get exited about as its....well...tape. Does the job and does it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Transparent but tough to use, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
This is transparent and it does a good job of making joining documents so as to not make them look like two torn pieces of paper have been put together. It is very plasticy, not filmy, so doesn't stand out. I suppose that's the magic bit. But just you TRY using it! My colleagues and I have given up applying it on anything other than important legal documents that have accidently ripped (for which we have no choice and no other tape). It's because the tape is far too magical ;) It's difficult to find where the end is on the roll! It would make a good late night office party game I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed., 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
This tape is of very poor quality. I bought it to join A4 sheets together, but after only a few foldings it tears apart. It's probably OK for sealing birthday parcels, but no use at all for strength and durability in the long-term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 27 Feb 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
Bought this set for use with my Scotch tape dispenser, and they are great for the price. The tape is not the usual clear type, but has a frosted look. I like the way the tape easily cuts without much pressure and the great adhesion properties.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always exxcellent, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
With so many inferior tapes on the market, it is wonderful to find one that is truly excellent. I highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tape!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
Love this tape, it is so much easier to use than normal selotape, it's strong, holds well and you can write on it too. It may be more expensive than ordinary tapes, but it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best tape, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Duchess (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3 (Office Product)
My favourite tape! Love the fact it's not glossy so you don't really notice the tape when you've wrapped presents. Item arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scotch Magic Tape Refill Roll 8-1925 x 3
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews