Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a different corner
Terrific show, right up there with 'The Good Wife' in terms of a female driven drama and so completely refreshing after the aplha-male posturing of 'The West Wing'. This show - sadly dismissed after only one series - gives insight in the challenges of an indepenent President (never mind that she's female) and also the difficulties of that 21st century problem, the...
Published on 4 Aug 2011 by R. L. Judd

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too many flaws
It may well be it was chopped half way through the series, that you get a sense that it's unfinished, and have to "imagine" the end result of some of the story lines that they had started to show. This had the makings of an excellent television series, but let down by by those half baked story lines and some inconsistencies too. Would there really be an independent vice...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by BeRo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a different corner, 4 Aug 2011
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Terrific show, right up there with 'The Good Wife' in terms of a female driven drama and so completely refreshing after the aplha-male posturing of 'The West Wing'. This show - sadly dismissed after only one series - gives insight in the challenges of an indepenent President (never mind that she's female) and also the difficulties of that 21st century problem, the work-life balance!

The eighteen episodes whip along at a fairly quick pace, with alot being drummed out of the 45m inute slots, so viewer beware - you may have to pause and rewind at times to ensure that you've understood the episode challenge! The acting, from a star cast, is terrific and the 'pop up' appearance of so many guest stars is great (Peter Coyote, Polly Bergan...).

Of course, there are frustrations and I will highlight the two that I feel do the show the most injustice -
1) Geena Davis (although enjoyable to watch in the lead role of Commander In Chief) is too ballsy and, well, masculine. The casting age range of the female President is perfect, but I wonder if a softer, more femine actress in the lead(think Anne Archer or Sally Field) would have engaged more?
2) The guy playing the First Gentleman is to small, skinny, wimpy and whiney, when compared to Davis' (who towers over him in every scene) and was clearly a casting error and, one that ultimately makes the central relationship unbelievable.

Donald Sutherland is great as the Speaker of The House and nemisis of the President, although his constant, thrawted attempts to undermine her presidency become tiresome; as does the theme of 'good v evil' in self-corrupting politics.

That said, I cannot highly rate this show enough. Its dynamic, fluid storytelling is its core, but coupled with a strong cast and great script, I'm truly surprised that this show failed whereas 'The West Wing' succeeded. Who can understand the viewer tastes of the good ol' U S of A, eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining,thoughtful but lacks action., 2 May 2014
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I have not seen West Wing so this review of C.I.C is a stand alone appraisal,not a comparison as some reviewers have made.
I found it highly engrossing;the different plots for each episode were well written and believably acted by all the cast,despite some improbable story lines at times.

Outstanding performances from Geena Davis,Harry Lennix and Donald Sutherland, who made their characters work extremely well in the overall story arc.In fact so effective was the elder Sutherland's turn we almost hissed every time he appeared on screen.

My only complaints were that the whole series was slightly stagebound (most of everything occured within the White House) but thats probably because of the budget for the series;that would also explain why we could only listen to the action taking place elsewhere during crises(the crew of a US submarine being rescued,the storming of a hotel by Special Forces etc....).

Such action sequences would have enhanced the series but at 12/13 hours and 18 episodes of terrific intrigue and drama this is still worthy of the prices on Amazon for what you get.There are plenty of high profile series out there that aren't a patch on Commander In Chief.

Additionaly I have spotted 4 actors in this series who have appeared in 24 - Complete Season 1-8 + Redemption (New Packaging) [DVD].Now that series had a huge budget and were able to select the creme de la creme of acting talent for even the tiniest of roles which they played marvellously;its no surprise to me to see them in C.I.C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good watch, 29 Mar 2010
By 
E. Williams (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This show is quite enjoyable, especially since it doesn't claim any allegiance to either the Democratic or Republican parties. It was a shame it only lasted 16 episodes. Well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too many flaws, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It may well be it was chopped half way through the series, that you get a sense that it's unfinished, and have to "imagine" the end result of some of the story lines that they had started to show. This had the makings of an excellent television series, but let down by by those half baked story lines and some inconsistencies too. Would there really be an independent vice president? Would the president's kids really get around so many places without secret service being there, would so many kids be allowed to run around the White House without secret service dotted around the place, doesn't Air Force One have an on-board and fully functional operating theatre to preclude the need to be rushed to a civilian hospital, would "the beast" be available immediately after Air Force One touches down in a diverted location, and of course, where's Marine One in all of this? Not one sighting of it.

This is nowhere near the calibre of West Wing, but then you did get 7 seasons with that, and only 16 episodes (normally 22-24 in a season), so for that, I can understand slightly. I can also understand why it's only 16 episodes, as at times you do get bored and think "what are they on about?". It's a good watch, but not really for keeps. I recommend you try it on LoveFilm before buying it outright, just in case you're like me and decide that it was okay to watch once, but not watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good...but not as good as The West Wing!, 27 Jan 2007
By 
N. Tweed - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
....pretty much as the title suggests!

to be honest i went into watching this as the worlds biggest West Wing fan, so i guess i was a little biased lol. it took me a few episodes to get into as i was constantly comparing it to the West Wing, but when it got going its realli good. Donald Sutherland is excellent as the 2 faced, scheming Leader of The House, one minute backing the President and the next stabbing her in that same back!

all in all if u loved the West Wing then watch this...no doubt like me you will end up comparing the 2...this will lose....but its very very close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too good for TV?, 28 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
It's not as good as the West Wing and some of the minor characters are not very interesting. However the two lead actors are quite outstanding and make this series very watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed but worthy, 28 Mar 2008
By 
Andrew Brack (Atlanta, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
On occassions in history it has appeared that some Presidents are overshadowed by the successes of their predecessors. Compare for a moment the reputations of Truman and Johnson with FDR and Kennedy - sometimes a President is remembered most for who they followed rather than their own actions.

`Commander in Chief' suffers significantly from a similar problem - witness the number of comparisons to `The West Wing' amongst the reviews here for evidence of that. It is understandable as `Commander in Chief' appeared to be treading the same ground and tried to steal viewers away from its older competitor.

However `Commander in Chief' deserves to be judged on its own merits as it has an individual style, emphasis and agenda. It is primarily a story of a woman and her attempt to establish herself as the President and set an agenda in place. She is a trailblazer - her status as an independent and a woman makes her an extreme outsider to the Washington establishment and her family have to adjust to the change in their circumstances.

On top of that the ambitious Speaker of the House, Nathan Templeton (played by Donald Sutherland) is trying to discredit her in order to ensure that he wins the Presidency in two years time.

The show certainly had great potential for dramatic conflict. Unfortunately these eighteen episodes can only hint at that and the result is an experience that is maddeningly incomplete.

It walks a frustrating line - at times seeming like a typical family drama, at other times having the Machiavellian overtones of Macbeth (Mrs Templeton does seem to have something of the Lady Macbeth about her). In just eighteen episodes the direction is never quite set in stone and we are left with a show that lacks dramatic identity.

So, why watch `Commander in Chief' at all given its short life? Well, the show firstly has two stellar leads in Geena Davis and Donald Sutherland who play off each other wonderfully and a strong supporting cast. You come to care about the characters and whilst each episode's outcome can usually be predicted it is interesting watching the characters arriving at it.

Secondly, because there are some really strong episodes amongst the eighteen that were filmed and whilst the wider plotlines do not come to a conclusion it is interesting to see where the show was headed.

Finally, because it is a different take on the White House than is presented elsewhere. The show has a feminist outlook on politics, debating the equal rights amendment, the compatibility of political office with family life and the `glass ceiling' for women's jobs. Coupled with its moderate family values, `Commander in Chief' has a unique political outlook that differentiates it from other political dramas.

`Commander in Chief' is not a complete picture. It never comes to a conclusion and now sadly never will. It simply ends in the middle of a number of plot threads. Whilst incomplete, it does entertain and impresses in its short life. For fans of political drama, it is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining - but flawed., 3 May 2009
By 
Mr. C. J. Murphy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Initially I thought this was very good, however the storyline of an Independent and Strong female president begins to grate after a while - becoming towards the end of the series, positively irritating, it is easy to see why this did not go to a second series.
In many ways it comes across as a cheaper version of the "West Wing", all other comparisons with the "West Wing" are however, unfavourable to the "Commander-in-Chief".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance!!, 20 Feb 2008
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Perhaps I am biased, I do like American Political Dramas, but this is truly outstanding and highly addictive. I bought the complete Season One and I'm glad I did now. Once you watch the first episode, you'll be hooked!

Geena Davis plays the first female President, and the show is about the everyday battles she has to fight against other members of the government. First rate performance by all the cast. It almost makes you wish that Macenzie Allen was the REAL PRESIDENT.

If you like The West Wing, you'll almost certainly love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
By 
Mrs. C. Carlin (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This was a brilliant series loved it sorry no more series were made can't understand why it wasn't popular
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005]
Commander In Chief - Series 1 [DVD] [2005] by Geena Davis (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £12.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews