Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the best version
The influence of Buster Keaton on Jackie Chan's brand of comedy-action stunt work is well documented, but looking at Gene Kelly's impressively energetic stunt work in George Sidney's lavish 1948 MGM version of The Three Musketeers it's clear that his viewing extended beyond the silent era. The sheer amount of vitality and imagination that goes into the first duel with...
Published on 10 May 2007 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall but has failings
For the first non-musical I've seen Gene Kelly in this was surprisingly good, and it is easy to see why out of all his non-musical films this was Gene Kelly's personal favorite. It fails to impress however in some important ways (this is just an opinion from a die-hard fan of the Oliver Reed/Michael York version) I found some of the musketeer costumes a bit hard to...
Published on 31 Mar. 2008 by Henry Watkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost the best version, 10 May 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Three Musketeers [DVD] [1948] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The influence of Buster Keaton on Jackie Chan's brand of comedy-action stunt work is well documented, but looking at Gene Kelly's impressively energetic stunt work in George Sidney's lavish 1948 MGM version of The Three Musketeers it's clear that his viewing extended beyond the silent era. The sheer amount of vitality and imagination that goes into the first duel with Richelieu's men is absolutely astounding: it's almost like watching a vintage live-action Tom and Jerry cartoon. Unfortunately, while he shares Douglas Fairbanks Sr.'s athleticism, he also shares his penchant for ham, particularly in the love scenes (this is the performance Kelly sends up mercilessly in Singin' in the Rain's The Duelling Cavalier), but he's never quite bad enough to throw the film of course. George Sidney, who had one of the best eyes for striking composition of any directors at MGM, makes sure it always looks good (this is from the days when Technicolor really was glorious), Herbert Stothart's rousing score carries it along with unashamed gusto (though it could have done without the Tchaikovsky for the love scenes) and there's a fine supporting cast - Van Heflin, Gig Young and Robert Coote round out the Musketeers, Angela Lansbury and Frank Morgan play the royalty, Lana Turner the femme fatale while Vincent Price provides superbly underplayed velvet villainy as Richelieu, beating Ernst Stavro Blofeld to the cat on the lap business by a good 19 years (though he opts for a tortoiseshell tabby rather than a Persian White). Great fun in a Christmas Day kind of way.

Warners' Region 1 NTSC DVD is quite a treat - a fine transfer with the theatrical trailer, brief radio promo, cartoon (though curiously 'What Price Fleadom?' instead of the obvious choice of Tom and Jerry's The Two Mouseketeers) and a vintage James Fitzpatrick travelog (curiously once again France doesn't get a look-in) that has some interesting but not always accurately identified colour footage of post-war London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best version, 31 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is definitely the best version of the Alexandre Dumas classic novel. I think it's the best version because it's entertaining and it has great swordplay.
There were two versions before this one and it was the 1921 version with Douglas Fairbanks and a 1939 version with Don Ameche. The 1921 version is ok, but the effects are outdated and if you like musicals it's worth watching the 1939 version. The 1973 version with Micheal York is not very good and also the sequals are not so good either. But I did enjoy the 1993 version with Kiefer Sutherland and if you haven't seen it, it's worth watching.
There is a good cast in the 1948 version including Gene Kelly,Van Heflin and Lana Turner. Also this is surpossed to be Gene Kelly's favourite non Musical. Vincent Price also stars as the villain Richelieu, but he only appears on a few scenes which I found disappointing. I also thought the ending could have been a bit better because I was expecting to see more action. This version is mentioned on my top 25 swashbuckling movies and it is ranked number 18. The movie is directed by George Sidney who directed the classic swashbuckling drama Scaramouche 4 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie version of the classic story, 9 Feb. 2008
This review is from: Three Musketeers [DVD] [1948] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Far and away the best movie made of the French tale of noble minded courtier rebels doing everyone a favour by getting rid of a tyrant ruler. High spirited, atmospheric, with a good mix of derring do action and poignant dramatic moments, this is a roistering boys own kind of movie showing old Hollywood at its best. Gene Kelly shines as the brave and handsome, very athletic D'Artagnian who leads a righteous rebelion against a totally rotten and cruel government. No other version I've seen holds a light to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swashbuckling Entertainment!!, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
D. P. Purdue - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have not seen this version of Three Muskateers, than you haven't seen the BEST ever film based on the classic novel. The 90s versions are very much pale in comparison. One simple reason among many, and that is the great Gene Kelly.
Indeed, not even Douglas Fairbanks could rival Gene Kelly's athleticism and swordplay. Gene Kelly had actually undergone fencing training prior to filming, and what wonders it did!!

This is one film that gets better and better after repeated viewing, so grab your popcorn, call some friends or your date over, pop this on the dvd player and marvel at Gene Kelly's grace and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best musketeers film ever, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i really enjoyed watching this again after many years.this must rate along with the errol flynn version of robin hood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Musketeers, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a German I thought about buying the German edition. But many owners of the German edition criticize the allegedly poor quality of the dvd. For me enough reason to buy the English edition. Sound and image are good and I am satisfied with the English edition.
The typical style of a Hollywood movie is clearly visible. In particular in comparison with the French movie " Les trois mousquetaires " starring Gerard Barray and Mylene Demongeot and directed by Bernard Borderie ( 1961 ). But this does not mean this movie with Gene Kelly would be a bad one. On the contrary. In my opinion the movie with Gene Kelly and the mentioned French movie are the best musketeer movies. They both are much better than newer releases.
Pleasant and relaxing entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gene Kelly love for ever, 7 Feb. 2013
For me it is the best Musketeermovie ever.Great humor beatyfull seanes and a almost true to the story film. Thanks for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Three Musketeers [1948], 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Bill Sheridan (dunedin new zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no hesitation in giving this 1948 masterpiece five stars.It would be the best of the musketeer movies.Lana Turner simply magnificent,with Gene Kelly,June Allyson,Van Heflin and Angela Lansbury all playing strong supporting roles.A must for all old and young movie lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Musketeers [DVD] [1948] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The book was my favorite when I was a young teenager. This movie tries to cover it all but that's impossible, I give them best rating for at least trying. Most true to the book of all versions I have watched.
Can someone produce a French TV-series, please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mycket nöjd köpare!, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Musketeers [DVD] [1948] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Har länge letat efter denna film som jag sett många gånger som barn. Då som Matinéfilm.
Mina barnbarn såg den och blev helt lyriska efter sett Gene Kellys fäktscener!
Bästa film på länge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Musketeers [DVD] [1948] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews