Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good collection of "inferior" songs
By nature, B-sides are supposed to be inferior to the single's more well known A-side. In many cases, this is probably true, with bands and artists spending no time at all writing and recording songs to fill up a single release. But Feeder are not one of those bands. Ever since their first single, Stereo World, in 1996, Feeder have shelled out superior b-sides almost...
Published on 13 Mar 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B+
You can't expect much from an album of B sides and covers, unless you are a diehard fan.

Over two discs this album gives a different insight into Feeder than their singles collection. Overall it is good. The covers are interesting and there are a couple of alternative versions of their singles but the album is patchy in style and entertainment. Still, one or...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good collection of "inferior" songs, 13 Mar 2007
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
By nature, B-sides are supposed to be inferior to the single's more well known A-side. In many cases, this is probably true, with bands and artists spending no time at all writing and recording songs to fill up a single release. But Feeder are not one of those bands. Ever since their first single, Stereo World, in 1996, Feeder have shelled out superior b-sides almost without variation, on each and every one of their 24 UK singles. As these number almost 100, there are too many to put on a general release, so the band themselves selected the 36 which they felt were the best.

If you are not familiar with Feeder's hits, I would recommend purchasing "The Singles" before acquiring "Picture of Perfect Youth", as that would be the natural order of things. If, however, you already like most or all of their singles and are thirsty for more Feeder, I would recommend this collection alongside any other of their full release albums, all of which I rate highly.

My pick of the tracks: Opening track "Emily" is a classic from their hit "Just a Day" which almost overshadows it's A-side. It's stated as one of singer/guitarist Grant Nicholas' favourites. If you prefer slower but very meaningful songs, the aptly titled "Elegy" could be your cup of tea. Other acoustic numbers include "Eclipse" and "Rain", although these are outnumbered by all-out rock tracks such as "Can't dance to disco" and "Spill".

In all, "Picture of Perfect Youth" covers some of the best of Feeder's flip-side history, although there are a few songs many fans would also agree should have been included (where are Rhubarb and San Diego?), but these probably represent the band's less proud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeder's perfect youth..., 23 Jun 2008
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
This album is great value - 36 b-sides, all of which are listenable, and some of them better than the singles. If you like Feeder's earlier output especially, this CD is a must-have. Some fans may be disappointed that certain rare tracks are not included. However, the selection of b-sides is very diverse, ranging from the heartfelt guitar ballad 'Wishing For The Sun' to the vitriolic grunge of 'Bullet'. Feeder cover 'The Power of Love' and 'Can't Stand Losing You' brilliantly. 'Space Age Hero' and 'Can't Dance To Disco' in particular are outstanding tracks with original lyrics. This album makes a good companion to 'The Singles', as long as you don't mind having 'Just A Day' twice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture of 'Perfect' Youth, 8 July 2008
By 
J. Hull (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
So it's taken me a while to get round to finally buying this album, mainly due to my general oppinion on B-Side sellection CD's - and the, as I thought, "inevetable" fact that the songs are B-Sides for a reason; that reason being that they're simply not as good as the A-Sides. Feeder's 'Picture of Perfect Youth' is quite an exception if you, like me, find most B-Side sellections lacking any depth.

Feeder's career to date has been a rollercoaster ride, not only in the band themselves, signalling the death of original drummer Jon Henry Lee, but also in the sound of the band. Originally starting out as a hard Punk/Rock band, with grungey guitar effects yet thriving on melodic choruses, the sound had a sudden, but as the band put it, inevitable change after the death of Jon Lee. The band replaced their harder sound to a more sophisticated Indie/Pop/Rock sound, and in the process lost favour with a number of original fans.

This album straddles the line between both the old and new sound, mixing the two together to create something that will work for absolutely everyone. Grant Nicholas' songwriting is as good as ever - holding up to his tag as one of Britain's best songwriters and producers. The album finds itself showing some of Feeder's more tender sides with beautiful acoustic ballads such as 'Elegy', 'Rain' and 'Eclipse', giving the band a similar, sophistacated sound as the Dizzy Up The Girl era of Goo Goo Dolls, or even early Lifehouse. 'Slowburn', 'Emily', 'Feel It Again' and 'Opaque' show some of Feeders harder work on show, yet still garner the catchy melodious sound the band found during the 'Echo Park' era. Cover tracks such as Live favourite Sting cover 'Can't Stand Losing You', and 'Power Of Love' have been recorded and added to this 36-track mammoth of a sellection, and prove easily as good as the originals and stand up there with the rest of the album.

There really aren't any complaints to be made about this CD. It shows Feeder's true sound, the new and old, seperate or together in one outstounding outing that both old and new fans will grow to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
after misplacing my much loved copy, i decided to just search for another for good value and found it! the item was just as described with fast delivery. thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, worth getting it for 'Just a Day' alone!, 20 Feb 2010
By 
M. Hogan (Hessle, East Riding of Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
Good album, but some dull songs on there, but also a couple of gems like, 'Opaque' and of course, the great, 'Just a Day'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wicked, 12 Nov 2009
By 
P. I. Hull "pihull" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
this is a must 4 all feeder fans as it is top draw!!!!! loved it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reminds me of the good old days....., 26 Jun 2007
By 
J. R. West "westjoe87" (norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
Superb! This is the Feeder I used to Love sooo much! If you liked Yesterday went too soon, Swim and Echo Park; buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oh the memories, 28 Aug 2007
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
this is a cracking album.
1 because of the sheer size of the thing and the value offered because of that and 2 because of the quality of the songs on display.
feeder were always on eof those bands that would put out 3 versions of their singles and every version had different songs on it and because of that it lead to there being a hell of alot of songs out there by them.
at their most prolific these songs were consistently great,in the early days that is and that is where the majority of these songs are picked from.
it display expertly how the band have evolved even better than the singles collection in my eyes!!!
the downside being that a few of my faves are missing but on the plus side my fave feeder song of all time "undivided" is here for the rest of the world to finally see!!!!
a great collectio well worth checking out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great value for money and not just for the completist, 19 Jun 2007
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
Nothing here rivals feeders finest moments, that said there is much to enjoy on these cds. Grant Nicolas is a great song writer and a number of the tracks included here really showcase the raw stripped down version of feeder. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B+, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Picture Of Perfect Youth [Limited CD] (Audio CD)
You can't expect much from an album of B sides and covers, unless you are a diehard fan.

Over two discs this album gives a different insight into Feeder than their singles collection. Overall it is good. The covers are interesting and there are a couple of alternative versions of their singles but the album is patchy in style and entertainment. Still, one or two tracks i've never heard do stand out but it could be cut down to a more enjoyable single disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews