Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Liaisons Stupide
Cruelly under-rated, this is easily as good as anything produce by French & Saunders, either collectively or individually. Set in the Palace of Versailles in 1782, the basic premise is similar to that of Blackadder 3. But instead of Rowan Atkinson as Edmund Blackadder braving the idiocy of Hugh Laurie as the Prince Regent, here we have Dawn French as the bored but wily...
Published on 11 Mar 2007 by pmov

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I never saw this when it was on TV, however I did find it funny even 10+ years on. I actually only bought it because Julian Rhind-Thutt was in it (however briefly!)
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by London Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Liaisons Stupide, 11 Mar 2007
By 
pmov (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Cruelly under-rated, this is easily as good as anything produce by French & Saunders, either collectively or individually. Set in the Palace of Versailles in 1782, the basic premise is similar to that of Blackadder 3. But instead of Rowan Atkinson as Edmund Blackadder braving the idiocy of Hugh Laurie as the Prince Regent, here we have Dawn French as the bored but wily servant who has to suffer fat, rich and stupid member of the French aristocracy Colombine, Comtesse de Vache (Jennifer Saunders).

In supporting roles are Adrian Scarborough as Bouffant, Colombine's dress-maker, Alison Steadman as Colombine's nemesis Madame de Plonge as well as Lucy Punch playing Eveline, her sexed-up but (supposedly) virginal daughter. Appearing in individual episodes are Richard E. Grant as the Marquis de Sade, Julian Rhind-Tutt as Madame de Plonge's camp acid-tongued advisor, Cathy Burke as Colombine's poor and duplicitous sister and Maggie Steed stealing every scene she's in as Madame Vigee-Lebrun, artist to the aristocracy.

With everyone involved playing to the gallery, the humour comes fast and funny helped along by an abundance of silly costumes, wigs and situations. The performers are encouraged to adopt several ridiculous (and historically inappropriate) accents ranging from Dawn French's distinct west country twang and Adrian Scarborough's broad Yorkshire to a quite ridiculously over-the-top Bavarian accent afforded to Marie Antoinette (Elizabeth Berrington).

Stand-out situations include Colombine's absolute refusal to open doors for herself, Lisette's regular references to the 'the old Comte' and the superb moment when Bouffant staggers in with hair and make-up everywhere having been subjected to the amorous attentions of Eveline declaring angrily 'do I LOOK like I'm heterosexual?'.

TV comedy is littered with shows that were unappreciated during first runs and only became favourites upon being repeated extensively and maybe 'Let Them East Cake' would have benefited from such repetition on TV. Or perhaps Dawn and Jennifer were less committed to the show as it was a rare example of them performing in something they did not write (Peter Learmouth gets the credit here). Whatever the reasons, the show was not a huge success and was not re-commissioned so, alas, we only have these 6 episodes to treasure. We must therefore be grateful for the issuing of this DVD and, if you are a fan of French & Saunders, Absolutely Fabulous or Blackadder all you really need to do is just press the 'Add To Shopping Basket' button above. Honestly, you'll thank me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F&S - at their very best!, 25 May 2009
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is French and Saunders at their best - lots of in-jokes and the oneliners come thick and fast and they harpoon the French revalution.

The costume's are amazingly detailed, although the sets are abit 'charity shop'-chic but the characterisation is fabulous, especially Dawn French (as servant 'lizette') with her wonderfully broad West Country accent, which is so out of keep with the setting and yet fits so splendidly.

Each episode is self-contained, although certain jokes are kept running throughout (such as the Comtesse DeVache - JS - inability to open to doors).

I loved this - thank goodness they finally brought it back on DVD - and would highly recommend to any F&S fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vive la comedy, 13 April 2009
By 
C. Atkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Why, oh why wasn't this a success? Well written, well acted, a great cast, even the theme tune is brilliant! This series easily matches any comedy on tv at present and probably betters them. When i got the dvd i couldn't believe it had been almost TEN years since this was first shown on the BBC. French & Saunders at their brilliant best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too damn funny, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Remembered the series from TV and wasn't disappointed. My God Dawn French is so funny as Lisette and although the Countess is a "stupide" as they get, Jennifer Saunders is simply brilliant. Was thinking for days but after some time I remembered that Madame was Mrs Bennet in Pride and Prejudice. The character is very different but has some of the same hysterical features.

Only thing I personaly would have appreciated would have been subtitles in other languages. It is very difficult for lovers of this kind of comedy to find these kinds of dvds in their own language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish this was far better known., 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I laughed my tits off through all six episodes. It is obvious that yer man who wrote this has extensive knowledge of France of that era, but it is his mixture of well written gags and the perfectly cast performances that bring this to (head tipped back roaring) life.

At times, I would love to have the confidence of Dawn French's character (although with more though and fairness).

Even though this did not do so well when it was on TV, le sigh, it is still one of my favourite comedies of all time. X.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French and Saunders at their very best, 16 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I've watched this series of Let Them Eat Cake so often now, I can join in with the dialogue, and still it seems fresh and hugely funny. The three main characters are performed beautifully by Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders and Adrian Scarborough (as the effeminate Bouffant), but every character, down to the most minor ones like Julian Rhind-Tutt's wonderfully sarcastic and bored translator, or the delightfully potty pair of old ladies, are performed perfectly, making the whole thing a brilliant ensemble piece, with no-one fighting to take the limelight.

The visual gags are as funny as the dialogue, without it all descending into farce (well okay, SOMETIMES), and the jokes range from VERY adult humour to gags so childish you can't believe you laugh at them - but you do. I will admit, I steal from this series unashamedly, looking for social situations where I can drop in a Let Them Eat Cake joke into the conversation... and when I do, it always gets a chuckle.

Each of the six episodes has its own plot, so you don't need to have seen one to enjoy another, but they string together to portray a life in the Palace of Versailles which is witty, corny, clever and stupid in the best way, all six episodes leading to the very last line of the last episode, a joke which alone makes the series worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a laugh, 20 April 2009
By 
P. T. LTD - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I had missed all of these episodes on the TV and it was a delight to watch them all in one go. This is French & Saunders at their usual best. Love the costumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
this show is great, funny and should have been renewed. It would be good to see them in another show again, not written by them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let Them Eat Cake, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Jennifer Saunders is delightful as the villain. She plays it much like Edina from Absolutley Fabulous if Eddie lived in the 18th Century. Dawn French is also entertaining as the bawdy maid. My favorite episode is the second, Murder. the sight gags had me howling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I never saw this when it was on TV, however I did find it funny even 10+ years on. I actually only bought it because Julian Rhind-Thutt was in it (however briefly!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let Them Eat Cake: the Complete Series [DVD] [1999]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews