Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made
Pros
*smooth finish, ie the handle is comfortable to use, my previous measuring jug had a glass seem down the middle of the handle
*thick glass, more durable than those cheap plastic ones
*clear measuring levels on the glass
*wide jug, giving more room to whisk
*very affordable
*good delivery time (2 days)

Cons...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by Tim P

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bit pricey
These are only £3.99 in Morrisons. Mine came with scratches on too. Was going to return but can not be bothered. Suppose it will still do the job.
Published 14 months ago by clare


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well made, 3 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
Pros
*smooth finish, ie the handle is comfortable to use, my previous measuring jug had a glass seem down the middle of the handle
*thick glass, more durable than those cheap plastic ones
*clear measuring levels on the glass
*wide jug, giving more room to whisk
*very affordable
*good delivery time (2 days)

Cons
*pouring, you can't drizzle, you need more of a vigorous pour

It's a good product, it has a feel of quality and durability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Everything, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Samantha R (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
My grandmother has had one since before I was born so I decided to get one. It is brilliant - it can be used for everything. It is a bit too wide for use with small amounts of liquid but that's what they have the smaller version for. I use it mainly for microwaving because it doesn't stain with tomato based foods. They are well made and last absolutely ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jug, 22 April 2012
By 
Barry Glenard (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
I love to make a good quantity of porridge or custard in the microwave. This jug is perfect for this purpose.
The price was reasonable and delivery rapid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Praise, 9 April 2014
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this after my old one bit the dust after 25 years and only because i tripped whilst caying it outside and smashed it into concrete paving.

I love Pyrex, they last forever if you take care of them, plus they are so hygienic and easy to clean.

Would buy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solid, 13 Feb 2014
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
At the current price of 5GBP this is a good bargain. I picked this up as I was impressed with the smaller half litre jug. This is much the same only a full 1Lt. There are markings on both sides of the jug so it can be used right or left handed. The markings are fairly accurate and has served me well when measuring milk etc for cooking.

A thick glass that is both dishwasher and microwave proof and neither have caused fading on the measuring lines (around 3 months use). It can take boiling water direct from the kettle without fear of shattering and will take some moderate knocking. Be areful around tiled floors, this is likely to crack a tile if dropped.

Good quality at a decent price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pyrex perfect, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
I have always purchased Pyrex products and this one continued my faith in the line. A nice large jug perfect for microwave and will last ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good pyrex, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
started doing baking so needed a measuring jug
this one is just right for me easy to see markings
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for cooking porridge in the microwave, 22 Dec 2011
By 
Heather M Smith (Berkeley, Glos. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
Great jug - the handle makes it better than a bowl for some tasks e.g. it is great for cooking porridge in the microwave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Tough One to Beat, 21 Feb 2011
By 
S. Thomas - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
This Pyrex jug is quite a useful size, measuring from 200ml to 1 litre in 100ml divisions; 8fl oz to 1.5 pints in 2 fl oz divisions - with measurements for both repeated on the opposite side, making it easy to use by left or right handers.

The jug is made of thick glass and is relatively heavy as a result. The handle is comfortable and feels safe in use (you can get a good grip), with sufficient gap to avoid the potential to burn fingers if used for hot liquids. The jug itself is sized sufficiently that you can whisk ingredients inside rather than use a bowl and it also pours well.

Whilst described as dishwasher safe, all of mine tended to get scratched if washed that way, not enough to lose the measuring markers, but it does get a little unsightly. Washing by hand is easy and probably better.

This is my third Pyrex jug. I can vouch for the fact that they shatter into nasty pieces of glass if dropped (first jug) and are also prone to chip (second jug lost a good inch of glass, with fragments, when something caught against it in the cupboard); they are not indestructible. I did think long and hard whether to get another Pyrex jug given this would be my third but the alternatives just did not measure up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Multiple Uses and Durable, Spout Could be Better, 9 Sep 2014
By 
J. Cook (Watford, Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L (Kitchen & Home)
I mainly use this for washing - soapnuts in a cloth bag + hot water, soak for ~30 minutes, dunk & squeeze to get it as soapy as possible, then some baking soda and (for whites) oxygen bleach, then whisked and poured into the washing machine detergent compartment.

So I don't usually use it for cooking but there are some things I will note that you might find relevant if that's what you'll mainly be using it for.

If the jug is more than a third full, pouring from it into a washing machine drawer invariably results in liquid ending up on the floor. To quote Amazon, "You purchased this item on 7 Aug 2012." so it is not a matter of finding the right angle/height or practice. If pouring into a mixing bowl you'll probably want the spout and the bottom of the jug over the bowl to avoid spillages.

It is easy to clean and it is hard to permanently stain. Mine had a rust stain at the bottom (inside) for a while because I usually left a whisk in it after using them without properly drying both, but disappeared after a few weeks just from the soapnut solution and leaving the replacement whisk on the top of the jug (i.e. balancing across the rim on opposite sides).

I can't speak of the strength of the jug because I haven't dropped it, nor do I recall having exposed it to stress/pressure that might have cracked/chipped/fractured it. Having said that, a Tesco cereal bowl smashed about a month ago (only used once) and a Wilko cereal bowl (the new thinner/weaker design) chipped/cracked within 7 days, so for this jug to last me over two years it must be durable as it has undoubtedly survived my clumsiness.

I'm only knocking one star off because of the pouring issue, because if I were going to buy a measuring jug for cooking I'd probably still buy this one and use it with a cheap funnel. If pouring a litre of liquid without any drips is important to you, this might not be the product you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 1L
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews