Customer Reviews


378 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for Money!
After ordering this Pyrex Measuring Jug, it came incredibly fast and was very well packed. It came wrapped in thick, bubble wrap so there was no need to worry about it being broken on delivery.

The glass is very thick and strong, so hopefully it will last me for a couple of years to come. Its not too heavy to hold, and easy to use in both the left or right...
Published 3 months ago by Samantha

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
the jug has the same ml and pint marks on both sides, which is good for right and left handed users. the jug itself seems to be factory second as there are lots of inclusions inside the glass, which only affect the look of it, and the print of the scale is inclined, which might mean not exact measures - maybe that's the reason for the reduced price?
Published on 13 Jan. 2012 by Bettina B


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
the jug has the same ml and pint marks on both sides, which is good for right and left handed users. the jug itself seems to be factory second as there are lots of inclusions inside the glass, which only affect the look of it, and the print of the scale is inclined, which might mean not exact measures - maybe that's the reason for the reduced price?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value for Money!, 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Samantha (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
After ordering this Pyrex Measuring Jug, it came incredibly fast and was very well packed. It came wrapped in thick, bubble wrap so there was no need to worry about it being broken on delivery.

The glass is very thick and strong, so hopefully it will last me for a couple of years to come. Its not too heavy to hold, and easy to use in both the left or right hand. The measurement on both sides are accurate, which is brilliant if you need accurate quantities. The measurement on the glass are very easy to read and understand. It can handle a wide range of different tasks and deals very well with heat, which is a huge added bonus. It is very easy to wash, and dishwasher safe. I have washed by Pyrex Jug plenty of times and the measures still look as clear as they did when I first got it. We have not experienced any problems with this Pyrex Glass since we purchased it.

For the price, I would highly recommend this jug to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid measuring jug, 11 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
The glass is thick (thicker than I remember Pyrex's of old) though I'd have preferred a closed handle for safety myself. The markings are very clear and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you expect from Pyrex, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
Every home needs at least two of these. If you have only one measuring jug, just when you need it, you will find that it is in the fridge with the left-over gravy. Go ahead and buy another one now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long lasting jug, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
must dash cash stash (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
I have had several of these jugs over my lifetime and none have ever cracked with heat or cold.
The jug is strong glass that feels nice in the hand, is easy to use left or right handed and is a decent jug for pouring.
The measurements on the side are accurate and it is brilliant to use when baking and anything that needs accurate quantities .
Washing is easy and nothing really sticks to the glass or makes it difficult to clean.
My only complaint is that the red writing always always comes off. It very slowly, almost noticeably, fades away to almost nothing and to see the amount in the jug I have to resort to holding it up to the light to try to see the "ghosting" left behind from where the writing once was.
I have found that no matter how I wash the jug the same thing always happens, and the same thing has happened to the many I have owned .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a jug, 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
And it pours without slopping or dripping. It also measures. Plus, you can wash it up by hand or in the dish-washer. Imperial or metric, which is nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One or two nods to modern design but otherwise typical Pyrex, 20 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Mischief (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
Pyrex jugs may not be one of the most glamorous kitchen accoutrements but they are definitely one of the most useful. My parents have owned an old Pyrex measuring jug for something like the past 25 years (or more!) and, aside from being quite a lot more scratched than it used to be, it still works perfectly well.

This new jug seems made along more or less the same lines as the old one - they have a similar size, a similar thickness and a similar heft, only the new one has a straight handle that's fixed only at the top rather than the curved, double-fixed handle of old. In most other respects the old and new jugs appear pretty much identical, except that this time around the measurement scales are printed in a fetching red type, as opposed to blue. There are actually two scales, giving measurements in two sets of increments - up to a pint on the right-hand scale and up to 500ml on the left. Both scales are printed on opposing sides of the jug so they can be seen irrespective of which way the jug is facing.

The jug's pouring spout has come under fire from some reviewers as being less like a pouring spout and more like a torrential flooding spout, and while you do have to be a bit careful when pouring, I think the same has always been true with Pyrex jugs like this. I don't know if there's a particular reason for keeping them like this, but if they could be made with a less shallow spout, I think this would help matters quite a lot.

Most families have owned a Pyrex jug at one time or another and this one continues the tradition very well. I'm not sure that I prefer the single-fixed design of the handle as the double-fixed ones of old, but that's just my preference and in all other respects this jug is at least as good as the old ones. Just be a bit careful when pouring from it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dependable and durable, would be even better if it had a 25ml measurement... will scratch if metal implements are used,, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
I always use glass jugs in preference to plastic as it does not retain flavourings or become stained, added to which I am committed to using fewer plastic products where possible in baking.

I have two Pyrex glass jugs and find them indispensable - not only for mixing and measuring liquids, but also to heat liquids or sauces in the microwave (saves getting another receptacle dirty).

This jug is a solid feeling and stable item and the markings down the side are durable - on mine these still look like new, despite extensive use. However, the measurement on this jug only has levels marked down to 50ml, and I would have appreciated a 25ml mark because judging this amount by eye is difficult due to the curved and thick base of the jug. If you also whisk liquids with a fork or metal whisk in the jug, you will find it will get scratched, especially around the bottom. I have now purchased a softer whisk to solve this problem. For the price, they are a good buy and I have not found a better glass alternative at reasonable cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright pyrex, 30 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
Congratulation on the packing which unable me to enjoy this lovely Pyrex , shiny in good condition after crossing the English Channel . Thank YOU packers of Amazon .

It is just a jug but really the glass is lovely to look at and i used it directly measuring with my old one ( Which was not shiny !!) .I thought the old one was a Pyrex , but it was Fire King and has cups measures .

This one , a Pyrex only has ml and pint .It does not matter for me as i usually dont use the cup measures .

This is also higher than my 500ml /pint jug .It is 12 cms high and 12 cms wide at the top .

I am pleased that i ordered It Thank you Pakkers and Amazon !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kitchen staple, 24 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L (Kitchen & Home)
Had been used for many many dishes, measurements and stocks over the years. Has lasted me over 10 years and despite numerous drops and falls is still intact. I wouldn't want to be without it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pyrex Glass Measuring Jug, 0.5L
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews