Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (184)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need one in your camera bag !
I purchased this for my Canon Eos 450, and it's great. Easy to set up and use, and very portable. I went on to the website for the tripod to read some more details about it before purchasing it.

The manufacturer's website shows the different variations that this comes in. I would definitely recommend the SLR Zoom version if you have a SLR. As I am new to...
Published on 26 Sep 2008 by AmazonShopper

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but dosnt hold the full 3kg load
I like this product but do not buy if you have a setup nearing the maximum of 3kg (or really over 2kg). 5d/40d and a prime is fine just about...5d and any heavyish zoom is not (70-200mm f2.8 or f4, 24-70mm f2.8). Good idea but needs some improvement for heavier cameras.
Published on 26 Sep 2009 by JonnyB


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You need one in your camera bag !, 26 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I purchased this for my Canon Eos 450, and it's great. Easy to set up and use, and very portable. I went on to the website for the tripod to read some more details about it before purchasing it.

The manufacturer's website shows the different variations that this comes in. I would definitely recommend the SLR Zoom version if you have a SLR. As I am new to photography but have amassed a number of lenses already including a zoom lens, and due the weight limitations of the different tripods, I would recommend the SLR Zoom to future-proof your camera to some extent.

I have used the tripod with the Canon camera attached to a 300mm zoom lens and it works well.

It is sturdy and very portable and flexible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


204 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorillapod - handy flexible tripod - which works!, 24 Mar 2007
By 
C. Hutton "retropop" (Dorset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
It really does work! I've had mine wrapped around the banisters, camera hanging over the side of the stairs, and it was tight and secure.

The Gorillapod comes with a screw adapter giving you the ability to add a tripod head of your choice, which allows for more flexibility.

I'd recommend buying the *SLR-Zoom* version if you have any kind of SLR or even bridge/hybrid camera, even if it doesn't exceed the weight limit of the *SLR* version. Once you add a tripod head, flash, maybe a bigger lens or lens extensions/filters, it adds quite a bit of weight. Better to be on the safe side!

Great gadget to stuff in your bag for when a larger tripod just isn't practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than you might expect., 25 Jun 2008
By 
Kevin Leah (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
There are four versions of the Gorrilapod
* Gorillapod GoGo for PDA, phones - max weight 275g
* Gorillapod Original for compact cameras - max weight 275g
* Gorillapod SLR - for light weight SLRs/DSLRs/Prosumer - max weight 800g
* Gorillapod SLR Zoom - For heavier SLRs/DSRs or Cameras with heavy lenses - max weight 3000g

This is a review of the SLR Zoom model - some other reviewers seem to be referring to the wrong model. Make sure you purchase the right model for your camera.

Unlike it's smaller siblings, the SLR Zoom does not come with a quick release mount. This is perfectly usable when you use the Gorillapod as a tripod. However I recommend getting hold of a quick release tripod head to accompany the Gorillapod.

The big differentiator of the Gorillapod though, is it's ability to be used as more than just a tripod. The flexible legs can be wrapped around objects to allow you to mount the camera in unusual places. For this reason you really need to make sure you get a ball head quick release tripod head - this will allow you to position the camera at any angle, regardless of the angle of whatever you have wrapped the Gorillapod around.

I have used my Gorillapod SLR Zoom with my Nikon D300 with an 18-200mm Lens - about 1.5kg. It's rock solid used as a tripod - I have not experienced any problems with the legs splaying out with the weight.
It's rock solid with the legs wrapped abound an object like the back of a chair or the top of a fence.

One word of caution, when you cut the string to release the Gorillapod from it's packaging, make sure you don't lose the tiny thread adaptor - you need this for the tripod head.

Thoroughly recommended- a great all round piece of kit - ideal for travelling too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea but dosnt hold the full 3kg load, 26 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I like this product but do not buy if you have a setup nearing the maximum of 3kg (or really over 2kg). 5d/40d and a prime is fine just about...5d and any heavyish zoom is not (70-200mm f2.8 or f4, 24-70mm f2.8). Good idea but needs some improvement for heavier cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a tripod replacement, but interesting addition to your kit, 1 Feb 2010
By 
T. Stainer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
At first glance gorillapod tripods seem like a genius idea - and in truth it's a smart design, but not without problems.

The basic gorillapod concept is simply a tripod, but with bendy, segmented legs which grip independently. This allows the tripod to be formed into just about any shape the photographer desires, wrapped round objects such as posts, trees or benches, or just placed on a flat surface as you would any tripod.

Originally launched as a mini compact tripod, Joby has produced several larger and more robust sizes, this being the SLR zoom - designed for larger cameras with bigger lens and rated up to 3kg load.

Construction wise, the gorillapod is well built, and feels like it will last. The light plastic finish is, in my opinion, a mistake. It marks quickly and easily and makes the gorillapod look shabby very fast.

I've no reason to doubt it's load capabilities, with it coping with a Nikon D300, with a 70-300 lens in table top use - although I was more nervous using it wrapped round a railing and would not have risked it without the camera strap round my neck as a precaution!

In use, it's a mixed bag. The length of the legs rules out just about anything other than table top use and for anything else, where you want the camera at eye level, you'll be wanting a proper full-size traditional tripod.

As a tabletop tripod it certainly is capable of doing the job. It's up to you what head you buy with the tripod (bear in mind it usually ships without a tripod head), but chances are you'll have some sort of micro, or small, ball head option mounted. This means you have good control of the camera, on top of those bendy legs which can be adjusted into just about any shape you like.

It's a double-edged sword however. The bendiness means you'll probably spend a little longer than with a standard fixed leg tripod getting the shape right for a solid and stable platform - and it's particularly difficult to make sure it's level without a head with a bubble level included (the Joby own ball head comes with a spirit level built into the mounting plate).

However, the flexibility does mean you have more control over the foot positions, making it easier for awkward spaces or uneven surfaces. It also means you can balance the camera in a different way. For example, of you're using a large zoom lens which makes the camera front heavy, or you're using the camera in portrait orientation you can bend the tripod to compensate for the weight shift.

The articulation also gives you options you'd never have with a traditional tripod. For example you can bend one, or more of the legs into "claws" which can hook over shelf edges, or car windows.

The articulated legs also are far less solid than simple one or two piece legs and therefore the tripod is likely to "bounce" or creep far more in use - especially with heavier cameras and lenses. For high-tolerance work, you're going to want to skip the gorillapod and go for something heavier and more solid.

Gorillapod's unique selling point is those articulated legs which can be wrapped round any handy solid object. The theory is that you don't need a full size tripod, because you can just use a handy tree, or lamppost, or bench etc.

Nice in theory, in practice it's perhaps not that good. Firstly, while the SLR zoom gorillapod's legs are longer than the other models, you're still limited on the maximum diameter you can wrap round.

It also can take some time to secure the pod in a configuration you're happy trusting your expensive camera with. And in certain situations it's very difficult to get the camera pointing the way you want, or in the correct orientation, due to how close it has to be to the support object you're using.

As you'll realise, you'll also need to have a handily placed solid object more or exactly where you want to take the photo from - or you'll be faced with placing the tripod directly on the ground and with it being so short, you'll need to lie down to operate the camera! The advantage all traditional tripods have over the gorillapod is they create the support and height you need exactly where you want it.

The Gorillapod SLR Zoom needs to be viewed as a lightweight bit of kit which is fairly easy to carry anywhere and therefore might be helpful in unexpected situations when you haven't brought a tripod, but would benefit from some support (and there is a handy railing/tree etc just where you want to take the shot!). It certainly shouldn't be considered as an alternative or replacement to a proper, solid, traditional tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bulky but often very useful, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Rik John Wells "Rik" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
The Gorillapod devices are alternatives for tripods or supports, only enabling a camera's attachment to and positioning on all sorts of things such as railings and trees as well as more conventional use as a miniature tripod, if considerably more adjustable for uneven terrain. The light grey sections of the legs (including the "feet") are grippy soft synthetic rubber-like material which help to prevent slippage. This definitely helps confidence when relying on it to safely support your thousand-pounds-or-more-worth of equipment! The joints are ball-joints and are quite stiff, which also helps with stability and the "safety" aspect. I do wonder how long the stiffness will last, but they are likely to last quite a while as they "share" movement. The stiffness does provide good stability for long exposures, excepting conditions where vibration may interfere with the way it has been mounted.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, the SLR Zoom version is essential for heavy camera/lens/etc. combinations, but it is rigid enough to support my Nikon D80 with 18-200mm zoom, weighing in at 3.3kg although finely adjusting where the camera is pointing is usually awkward without an additional tripod head. The smallest version (bought for my partner for use with her Coolpix 7900 and found to be very useful indeed) has a "neck" so you can wrap the legs around whatever and then bend it so that the camera is aimed perfectly at the subject. As this version is intended for use with considerably heavier equipment, there is no neck, so either you should bear the subject matter in mind as you apply the legs or use an additional tripod "head" as well. Without the separate adjustment, it can be very difficult to frame the subject. A head which allows for easy release of the camera would help, too, as the legs do add substantially to the awkwardness of carrying a camera! They can be "moulded" into a "single" leg to help support, though.

The light grey sections are susceptible to staining, especially as they are so soft, but IMHO, that's simply a sign that the item has been used!

The unit is very light, but quite bulky. Carrying it around in a camera bag is expensive in terms of space unless you are sure you're likely to use it. However, it is so versatile that I would make sure I took it on holiday, for example. I suspect everyone would have their own opinion of when and for what they might use it, but I would err on the side of taking it, certainly if self-portraits or long exposures are planned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate adventure tripod, 13 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
------------------------------------
Quick points (see below for updates)
------------------------------------

PROS: Extreme portability and flexibility

CONS: Not as sturdy as I would like (read update at the end)

BOTTOM-LINE: Ultimate portability and flexibility

The travel/Outdoor pod
----------------------
I think that your level of satisfaction with this "tripod" will depend on your understanding/expectation about what it is for.

I got this pod because I was looking for high flexibility and low weight -I was looking for something that would not get in the way of two key activities: climbing, travelling.

While climbing, I have put this thing around rocks, trees, signs, and even stuck it in snow. It is so small that I have no much problem carrying it with me to the high camps. I can't think of many alternatives to get the same flexibility.

For travelling, this is also extremely useful. I just throw it in a messenger bag along my DSLR (tip: try to avoid camera bags that scream "tourist with expensive DSLR") and it is ready for low light shots, and self-portraits. This last bit is very important as handing your DSLR to strangers has two drawbacks: (1) you don't want to hand your expensive camera to just anyone, (2) 99.99% of people don't know how to handle a DSLR -even in AUTO mode.

What's the catch? Well, it is not quite stable -but I don't think it was never intended to be. I usually take with me a elastic band that secures it to odd things (benches, trees, rocks,..) and that's enough.

One more thing: I doubted between 4 and 5 stars. I was inclined to 4 stars because it is not as sturdy as I would like, but in the end the extreme portability and flexibility of this pod outweighed this negative point.

On a second thought, one extra comment: you may be considering the super clamp. I think the super clamp is an excellent product and serves a similar -but nonetheless, different- purpose. Think about what you are going to use them for. In my view, they complement each other. However, if your pockets cannot handle both I think this pod may have an edge when it comes to usefulness.

================
Update 1
================
After using it for slightly more than a year, two legs have become very loose and come-off very easily -because the rings where they attach to have broke. I still can use it with care. The above points still apply with this new caveat.

================
Update 2
================
The gorillapod became unusable. The cracks in the joints were too large and the legs were coming off way to easy, rendering the tripod useless.

I contacted Joby to buy spares and they told me they do not sell them. Not sure why not as it's clearly a part that is put together with rest (but they don't).

I did some DIY. I got some plastic zip ties, removed the grey rubber bands, put the zip ties, glued them with expoxy. Now I can use it to mount a flash -but not to hold my DSLR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any SLR user, 20 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
I have an expensive, robust full size tripod which cost a small fortune. However as good as that tripod is, because of it's size and weight, it was always left at home, or in the boot of the car, and i never had it to hand when on occassions I needed it. That is now all a thing of the past as the Gorillapod SLR Zoom accompanies me where ever my camera goes. It is fantastic, and really does grip onto most things (lampposts, fence rails, climbing frames etc) No more problems when I am unable to hand hold the camera. You will need to buy a good ball and socket head to accompany this, but the gorillapod should be an essential for any serious photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy with caution - limited applications, 29 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Be careful to consider why you are buying this. If you really need to suspend a camera from something then it is great, but if you want to hold a camera firmly on a rock or other convenient surface then you would be better off with a bean bag. This tripod is NOT steady - on multiple exposures the mirror movement will cause the camera to bounce around visibly - like a jelly bean! Auto-bracketed shots for HDR - forget it! any kind of burst mode combined with slowish shutter and you'll be better off hand held.

Solution - use single exposures with mirror-up, 2 second delay and/or remote control. Or buy a bean bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tripod replacement 65% of the time, 29 Aug 2009
This review is from: Joby GorillaPod SLR-Zoom Tripod for SLR Cameras (Electronics)
Not quite a tripod replacement, but comes so close. Something you can take into your camera bag without thinking about it too much.

Now I'm not going to describe what it is, I'll assume you know what it is (if you don't, just google it). It's the biggest of the (at least the current) Gorillapods. The slightly smaller SLR Gorillapod might be fine for you if you only have small lenses (and not the biggest SLR camera), but I would recommend, just to be on the safe side, to get this one, in case you want to strap on a bigger lens at some point.

I almost always have it in my camera bag, especially if I'm going out shooting in the evening. It's in my bag more often than my flash. Perfect for sunsets and HDR photos.

You can attach it to various places like beams and rails where it works perfectly. It works fine on flat surface also with a 18-200mm lens attached to my Cannon 450D (with a bigger camera you might be pushing it a bit), but quite often the thing ends up being tied to a railing of some sort. I'm still amazed at some of the places you can tie it in.

Yes it's not perfect, it's not a tripod. Sometimes there just isn't anywhere where I could attach it and I end up cursing for not having a tripod. But what it is, is a damn small and light sort of a tripod replacement. Something you don't mind taking with you, just in case. A tripod is a heavy and cumbersome thing that requires an effort to take with you. Also sometimes it is a bit tricky to try to align the camera properly. This could of course be fixed by having a ball head, but I haven't got one yet. I am however worried that this might add a bit too much weight on the combination.

Lets say you're going hiking somewhere in the wilderness for a few days. Now you already have a plenty of gear, do you really want to stuff in a full tripod also so you can capture all those stunning sunsets you'll see. Well, no if you can avoid it. Where as the Gorillapod, won't force you to leave half of your food behind. Of course if you go out there just for the reason of photography, then you'll obviously take the tripod. I was talking about going hiking and taking pictures as a secondary activity.

Well, maybe that is a bit extreme example, but the point is, it is much easier to carry with you than a full tripod, and in most cases it gets the job done. That said, I'm still looking for a good light tripod, for those few times when I really want to make an effort.

It has saved multiple sunset and other HDR pictures for me. Couldn't live without it. Well maybe that's a bit over the top; lets rephrase that, I couldn't shoot nowhere near as well sunsets and HDR without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews