Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
The series comprises a series of screen plays, each dealing with a Queen's story. The series is held together by the magnificent performance of Keith Michell. He IS Henry VIII. He is ably supported by his consorts; Annette Crosbie as Catherine of Aragon shows anger dignity and pain, Dorothy Tutin as Anne Boleyn gives a glimpse of the spirited, single minded woman who...
Published on 12 Mar. 2007 by G. R. Arckless

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some great, some dissapointing
The pageantry, magnificent costumes, background music, background setting was gloriously done and made this series far more engaging to view.
The first episode on Catherine of Aragon (played with great pathos and dignity by Annette Crosbie), was sympathetic portrayal and was certainly the best in the series with intelligent dialogue and a real feel for the age. The...
Published on 26 Dec. 2012 by Gary Selikow


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This excellent series has stood the test of time, 12 May 2002
By A Customer
Despite the fact that 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII' was made over thirty years ago, I would urge anyone even remotely interested in history to watch it. The costumes and settings are absolutely wonderful, but the real treat is the superb acting from all concerned. Elvi Hale is a sympathetic and sensitively played Anne of Cleves, clever enough to pick her way through the minefield of being the King's unwanted bride - and still to survive. The whole series is brilliant; I won't be satisfied until I have all six!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic historical drama, 15 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
A remarkable achievement by the BBC, some 30 years old but compares well with their current offerings. There is one episode for each wife, all played by top actresses - I would single out those playing Catherine of Aragon and Jane Seymour as especially good - with an excellent supporting cast including Patrick Troughton as Norfolk and Bernard Hepton as Cranmer. The real life stories of the wives are more dramatic than any fiction. Costumes are beautifully done although sets are fairly basic. Above all Keith Michell gives an outstanding performance as Henry VIII as he changes from a gifted young man to an ageing tyrant - yet his performance is complex and you never quite lose some sympathy for him. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Theatre Standard Drama, 22 Feb. 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic drama series focusing on the six wives of Henry VIII of england. The story has been told often in plays, television and films but this has to be the best adaptation so far.

Using the same actor Keith Michell in the title role of Henry in every one of the six 90 minute episodes and growing notably older, fatter and nastier as time goes on you can see the progression of this period of English history as England went from small Kingdom to World Power.

If you have any doubts about whether this will be any good cast those out of your mind as it this is excellent and a worthy purchase. Also just a note this is many, many times better than HBO's The Tudor's and even though the series does deal with adult themes and voilence it is done in a pre-watershed way which would allow your children to watch this without worrying about any corrupting sex or violence etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Six Wives of Henty VIII - Complete Series (1970) - Review by R J Coward, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
This series was the BBC at it's best. The scripts were wonderful the cast of actors was perfect, especially the ladies who played the wives and Keith Michell, who played Henry. Special mention should also go to Wolfe Morris (Cromwell) and Bernard Hepton (Cranmer) although it is difficult to fault any of the other characterisations. It makes the recent series about Henry seem a travesty. I think that my favourite episode was the one about Jane Seymour It was ultimately very sad and the son the Jane bore Henry had quite a tragic life. Anyway the series could be repeated today with no trouble at all. It would stand against any of the current offerings on a dramatic and script writing basis. Perhaps this was the best series of that decade (1970s). Oh for a return to that sort of drama (I wish).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I would have given this 5 stars if they hadn't included "The Other Boleyn Girl"!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this series just after it was released in 1970, and after all these years it is still the best tv presentation of Henry and his wives that I have seen. Ok, it was pretty stagey and Henry's make-up would be far superior if the show was made today but no-one has ever looked more like the real Henry than Keith Michell, from glowing youth to aging corpulence. I was pleasantly surprised to see that extras were included on the discs but extremely disappointed to see the inclusion of that dreadful "Other Boleyn Girl". What ever possessed them to include this bit of trashy fiction? The other inclusion on the disc about Anne Boleyn was a delightful bonus, which was to be expected as it was much better sourced, being done under the guidance of a Tudor historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECOND TIME AROUND, 27 April 2011
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
This series about the life and times of Henry VIII was a must not miss in 1970, when I enjoyed it the "First Time Around". I was so pleased to be able to purchase two copies now on DVD - one for me and one for an elderly friend, who has been watching "The Tudors".
I am also pleased to say, I found the series wonderful this time around - my memories over the passage of time, had not played tricks on reality. Acting absolutely wonderful - actors of this calibre deserve to be around a long time, and this series deserves a permanent place among "The Classics". Great direction, production of the highest standard - good art never dates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shows its age, but performances are captivating..., 24 July 2003
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic gem of early 70s BBC TV, wobbly sets 'n' all, this is nonetheless one of the most moving and fascinating dramas produced by telly. Well told from Anne's point of view, it is full of the intrigue that filled the Tudor court. Shocking - disturbing - but a rewarding watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent BBC effort, 29 Mar. 2003
'The Six Wives of Henry VIII' is a magnificent series. It is almost entirely accurate and all the actors look exactly like the portraits of their characters and the costumes and music are very authentic and cunjure up the atmosphere of the times.
The acting is absolutely superb - Keith Michell stealing the show with one of the best ever performances, even beating the likes of Laurence Olivier and John Gielgud in my opinion. The excellent supporting cast includes Dorothy Tutin, Anne Stallybrass, Elvi Hale, Angela Pleasance, Rosalie Crutchley, Bernard Hepton, Wolfe Morris, Patrick Troughton, John Ronane, Sheila Burrel, John Baskcomb and Molly Sugden.
However, this is my favourite episode because of the heart-wrenching performance of Annette Crosbie as the inspiring, but tragic, Catherine of Aragon. At the end of the series you feel you know each one of Henry's wives and are able to sympathise with all of them.
If you are a fan of the brilliant acting and moving drama of 'I Claudius', 'The Forsyte Saga', 'Elizabeth R', 'Poldark', 'War and Peace' and all the other magnificent dramas of the era or if you are interested in Tudor history, 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII' is definitely for you.
Make sure you buy all six videos; they are worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4/5 stars, 3 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
When you learnt about Henry VIII you always thought he was horrid and always to blame but now you can see it was not always his thought. I used to think he made desicions by himself but he was alot if the time inflouenced by others. Take changing to the church of England , Anne Boyleyn changed his mind just to become queen and get her enimies back. This series was fantasic. It gave you a lot of information and was not boring. It was intresting. It gave you an in sight of what the tudor court was like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Six Wives of Henry Vlll, 15 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series when it was first shown on the BBC in the 70's
even though at the time I was only around 9!
But for me, Keith Michell always gave the
best portrayal of Henry Vlll, because he is
how anyone would imagine Henry Vlll to have been.
I have seen many portrayals of Henry, from
Ray Winstone to Johnathan Rhys Meyers - Richard
Burton was very good too, but Keith Michhell captures
Henry's personality very well indeed, the best I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Six Wives Of Henry VIII - Complete Series [1970] [DVD]
£11.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews