Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Gloves Up!
Sly Stallone shows how much acting talent he really does have when he faces the thought of sending his own child to the same street school he was brought up in. Rocky's career as a boxer is over and this leaves a gap in his life, this is filled however when a young and rising star named tommy gun wants rocky to train him, however this alienates rocky's son and ends in an...
Published on 8 Aug 2002 by R. Greer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The weakest link
Every franchise has a low point, and in this case it's Rocky V. Picking up immediately after the big fight at the end of the previous movie, Rocky is in the midst of celebrating his victory over Ivan Drago. But wait, all is not well. His hands start shaking uncontrollably, and he becomes confused and disoriented, apparently confusing Adrian with his dead manager...
Published on 9 Oct 2009 by TimeJock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two Gloves Up!, 8 Aug 2002
By 
R. Greer "Rick Greer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocky 5 [1990] [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Sly Stallone shows how much acting talent he really does have when he faces the thought of sending his own child to the same street school he was brought up in. Rocky's career as a boxer is over and this leaves a gap in his life, this is filled however when a young and rising star named tommy gun wants rocky to train him, however this alienates rocky's son and ends in an explosive battle between trainer and champ when tommy turns on rocky... the last in the current series of the rocky films, superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Severely underrated, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to start by saying this movie is really really underrated and people did not quite realise what they were seeing when it first came out.

By the time Rcoky 4 came out in 86, people had grown used to the formula, which was "Rocky trains, Rocky beats big bad opponent in the RING". Many had grown to love this franchise and I sure did do.
Rocky is my fav saga and it really is inspiring.

When part 5 came out, people were expecting the same formula and when they didnt get it, they instantly reacted negatively and labelled Rocky 5 a bad movie, worst of the lot. But that's where they made the mistake. You dont judge a movie by whether it follows the same formula as the previous ones.
You judge it solely by the story itself and whetehr the movie can stand alone, even without the previous ones.

In my opinion, Rocky 5 certainly can stand alone and is a terrific movie. One doesnt have to have watched the previous Rockys to enjoy Rocky 5. The story is solid.

I watched Rocky 5 when it came out on vhs in 92 and boy.....did I love this movie. I was really moved by the story of Rocky going broke and losing all he had achieved and how he fights his way back. The betrayal by Tommy made it all the more powerful.

The scene with Mickey in the gym certainly ranks alongside the greatest scenes in movie history. It was original, moving and very very inspiring. Bill contis musical score here made it really special too.
The final street fight in my opinion beats the the other Rocky fights. It was very well choreographed by a talented Stallone who also choreographed all the other fights.

Now come on, let's admit it, almost no other action movie can beat the Rocky 5 street fight. Even the people who hate part 5 admit its a classic street fight.

I told my friend who hated Rocky 5 when he saw it aged 12 to watch it recently and he will get a different view of it because now he's older and more mature. Sure enough, he did enjoy much more and told me he missed seeing the solid story the first time around because back then, like everyone else, he expected another formulaic "Rocky beats massive hulk in the ring" story.

So i urge the people who hate Rocky 5 and have never seen it since 92-94 to watch it again now that they are older. Im sure they will realise what a classic it really is.

I myself love this movie dearly and it's my second fav Rocky. My fav Rocky in order

Rocky 1, 5, 2, 4, 3, 6.

So remember, you dont judge a movie based on whether it follows the same formula or not. You judge it solely by the story, the directing and acting and whether it can stand "alone" without the need for the previous installments. If it can then it's a terrific movie and in my opinion, Rocky 5 certainly is one of them.

As a matter of fact, I'm also a huge collector of action figures and i just recently bought The Rocky 5 set from amazon. Rocky 5 is an unrecognised classic and I urge people to see it now and see what they missed the first time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to his roots, and back on form., 2 Jun 2007
By 
George Miles (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this fifth installment of the Rocky franchise our hero is out of luck. Brain damaged from the epic encounter with Drago in Rocky Four, he is unable to fight and in danger of going bankrupt, he moves back to his old neighborhood and begins training up and coming fighter tommy "the machine" gunn. For those of you who have heard the general conscientious that Rocky V is not worth watching I strongly advise you to give it a go, the criticism of this film is something that has never really made sense to me. It moves away from the traditional format, (which by the fourth installment had become a series of consecutive montages with badly dated music) and sees Rocky go truly back to his roots even wearing the hat again, add that to a return for Burgess Meredith in some bitter sweet flashback scenes along with a simple but decent storyline and you get a vastly underrated film. Rocky is persuaded by a young contender Tommy Gunn to step back into the world of boxing as a manager and coach. The pair of them get carried away with Tommy's success, Rocky begins to neglect his son and Gunn becomes lured by the riches promised to him by Richard Gant's George Washington Duke, an obvious ringer for Don King. Rocky V takes the franchise full circle and makes note of the obvious changes that have taken place in the world of boxing, and come to think of it, most sports around the globe. It brings a clash of the two types of sportsmen, the old fashioned and the new. The difference in Rocky 5 being that the new uses his skills seeking fame and fortune and forgets what truly matters, a mistake Rocky himself makes in the third film. The main difference however is that Tommy lacks one special ingredient that Balboa has, something that made Rocky endearing to us all in the first place, Rocky has got heart and so has this film. It's also worth pointing out that it hasn't dated nearly as badly as the third and fourth installments and aside from some dodgy late eighties-early nineties rap music it doesn't have much else that ages it. At the premier of the recent Rocky Balboa film I saw an interview with Sylvester Stallone he referred to Rocky V as a "bad film" and he also noted that when he bought the anthology he "threw the fifth one out." Now i'm not going to kid myself and think that the great man is going to ever read this review but ill take the tiny chance that he might one day glance at it to say:- Sly, give this one another go its not bad, not bad at all. Rocky V is certainly not deserving of being chucked out of the anthology, in fact it deserves its place in there, it deserves to share a box with the rest, more so that Rocky Four anyway. While this film may not have the emotional punch of Rocky Balboa it certainly isn't worth disregarding. If your one of the many that skipped this one, go on, give it a go, you might be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Rocky scene ever, 7 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Widely seen by many to be the worst of the 6 Rocky films, i have to say that this infact is one of my favourites, the angel on your shoulder scene with Micky has to be my favourite scene in all the Rocky films, I'm also a big fan of the final fight sequence. Yes this film is corny and cliched in many parts, but hey that can be said of the whole Rocky saga, so sit back leave your cynicism and critisism for Rocky iv and enjoy this for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant continue from rocky 4, 18 Oct 2007
By 
S. M. Lee "rocky v" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
i dont see what all the fuss is about? I thought this rocky was as good as the rest, if not better. he is brought back to the streets where he was born and raised, which creates a 'knock down' effect, giving the family a chance to get up when down, which in all fairness is what rocky is all about. The street fight at the end was in my opinion, the best moment in all the rocky series. joint with rocky vs. mason, and rocky vs. appollo creed II. FANTASTIC DESERVES 6 STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can,t go wrong, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I have a lot of respect for Sylvester Stallone after reading a little bit of background history on him. Not bad for a man who is partially paralysed down one side of his face, yet repeatedly manages to produce hit movie after hit. Never as good as the first one but definitely a sterling effort from the big man himself. Question is will we see a Rocky 7 ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great collection to have., 14 July 2013
By 
Monica (RICHLANDS, NC, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
takes a long time to receive from uk to the usa.
I does play on us region 1 psp's. so it is probably region free code.
so yes! I would recommend this movie to everybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocky is greattttt, 23 April 2013
By 
C. A. Connor (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rocky is brilliant . . . . .'... . . . . . .. .'.. . . . .'.. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKY'S FINAL PUNCH., 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, they finally made the Rocky 5 movie of STALLONE saying goodbye to his glory days. I guess he got punched too hard on the face by MR.T and DOLPH LUNDGREN, who weren't pretty bad boxers if I say so myself. ROCKY inspired everyone to be the best at what they're good at and never quit no matter what. He'll always be the best fighter with a heart of gold and nobody can take that away from him. KEEP UP THE WINNING SPIRIT ROCKO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky V, 1 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Rocky 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I would have to say that I really enjoyed this Rocky movie because it did deliver something and for the time I watched it start to finish, I was always glued to the screen.

I have to admit that this film does have a lot of bad errors, especially with Stallone not giving it his best but he does perform at an average pace. I would have liked the Rocky and Tommy Gunn fight to have taken place inside a ring than out on the streets of Philadelphia. Though the fight that took place between Rocky and Gunn was rather entertaining and enjoyable to see.

Overall I reckon this Rocky film could have been better and i am still going to give this Rocky movie a **** because there were some bits of the film that I did like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocky 5 [DVD]
Rocky 5 [DVD] by John G. Avildsen (DVD - 2007)
£9.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews