Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Time Goes By, 7 Dec 2004
By A Customer
I have watched this time and time again, and still enjoy it as much as the first. If you enjoy the lighter humour, I can thoroughly recommend this series.How nice not to have violence and foul language thrown at you from every quarter, yet be so entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality comedy!, 5 Jan 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Series 3 set, rattles on from the 2nd series, dealing with Lionel moving in with Jean and the usual funny stuff from Alistair and co.
When you really analyze this series you will see that the characters don't do much and there are only about 3 or 4 regular settings. BUT, this is still one of the best comedies the BBC has made.
The acting is superb, with brilliant chemistry between all the main actors and excellent writing.
If you have the previous 2 Series, I highly recommend this 3rd series. The fun and comedy just rolls onwards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Written TV Series Ever!, 8 Jan 2005
All ten episodes of Series 3 on 3 DVD's for less than £11.00 - well done Amazon! Only recently released on DVD, the picture quality is excellent and the dolby digital sound superb. Bob Larbey's script, true to life today as ever, evokes all human emotions but a smile is never far away. Doctor's note: For modern day sanity - one episode to be taken twice daily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Time Goes By : Series 3, 13 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 3

Series three is crammed full of goodies. To begin, Lionel and Jean are having a weekend away in Paris, a lovely constructed episode, plus with the added absurdity of seeing Lionel deal with the French. Next is Rocky's marriage to Madge (mischievously played by the late great Joan Sims). Due to Rocky's marriage Lionel suggests that he and Jean start living together. Which is far from straight forward, this story line provides more back ground story on both leads and helps you warm to Lionel (as his behaviour at Rocky's wedding can make you irritated with him). Also in this series Lionel begins writing the mini series and Jean opens the second "type 4 you" branch introducing the characters of Mike Barbosa ( American television executive , a running joke in the program is that on one really understands what Mike's job title means, and I don't think its ever mention what Mike does exactly only that Lionel needs to impress him), Sally Curtis ( the scarily perfect manger of "Type for you" second branch) and the funniest of all Gwen Flack ( the replacement sectary for Lionel, who can't stop talking) There is a storyline in the end episode which is not followed up about Rocky's not living for much more than a year. Bob Larby or Colin Bostock-Smith decided or was told to keep Frank Middlemass character in evidently, Im not complaining Rocky's is a good character. But the inconstancy in the writing is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite collections, 23 July 2009
By 
N. Slessenger (Leics, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who likes Geoffrey Palmer or Judi Dench this is a must have series. It is perfect gentle English humour and can be watched time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars as time goes by, 29 May 2014
By 
David N. Vaughan (leamington spa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant series which I intend to have complete over the next few months a great watch another one that ended prematurly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I am re-watching these and they have stood the test of time in my book. Still very funny and
Judy Dench and Geoffrey Palmer are just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
We remember the series very well (especially the superb dialogue) and are delighted to be building up the complete version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "TIMELESS CLASSIC", 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the first two series and this one did not disappoint, superb cast, script and production. Another class act from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure to watch again, 17 April 2012
By 
P. Kermode "seagull" (isle of man G.B.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this series the first time round and loved it so decided to buy it for my daughter who has lived in USA for some yeas. We watched it together and she was as much delighted as I was by the amusing script and wonderful acting - but what would you expect from actors of the calibre of Judy Dench and Geoffrey Palmer. Next time she visits I will have the second series ready and waiting - a real treat.

Pat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD]
As Time Goes By - Series 3 [DVD] by Sidney Lotterby (DVD - 2007)
£6.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews