Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Introduction
This compilation is really what people like me have been looking for - non-fans who have heard the singles, like them and want them on one easy to digest CD. This also serves as a great introduction and my surprise love of the single "Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own" has led me to purchase the Atomic Bomb CD.It seems rock bands can get better with age! Don't knock...
Published on 16 Feb 2007 by Scole

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One best of U2 too many
U218 is the third U2 compliation, following The Best of 1980-1990 and 1990-2000. As stated by another reviewer , the usefulness of greatest hits and best of compliations is surely diminshed nowadays by downloading, whereby people can make their own selections consisting of the songs that they most enjoy. In the excellent book, U2 by U2, Bono states that the band waited a...
Published on 7 July 2007 by D. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One best of U2 too many, 7 July 2007
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
U218 is the third U2 compliation, following The Best of 1980-1990 and 1990-2000. As stated by another reviewer , the usefulness of greatest hits and best of compliations is surely diminshed nowadays by downloading, whereby people can make their own selections consisting of the songs that they most enjoy. In the excellent book, U2 by U2, Bono states that the band waited a long time before agreeing to the release of a best of album, so it is quite surprising therefore that three compliations have now emerged during this decade.
U218 as the title implies consists of 18 singles, ranging from the early days through to a brand new song featured on the album. I actually prefer compliations to have songs arranged chronically, so that it can be seen how the band changed over time, rather than the songs being randonly placed next to each other. So here we have the fairly recent song, Beautiful Day, next to Where The Streets Have No Name, which was released in 1987. The album also omits several classic U2 songs, including their second number one single, The Fly, although their first number one Desire, which I think is one of their weakest tracks, is included. Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me is also not featured here and surely more single releases could have been incorporated from Achting Baby, one of the bands best albums. Overall, although the quality of many of the songs included speaks for itself, this is an unnecessary release, perhaps reflected in its relatively low sales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHY?, 20 Nov 2007
By 
D Skilton (east sussex uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
Like a lot of reviewers for this album, I cant see the point of it. It was only a little while ago two best ofs were released. Though strictly speaking these were greatest hits compilation's. When will these record companies realise there is a difference? This album is just a watered down version of the best ofs with a couple of new tracks. And, apart from the fact there are 18 songs on here, is there any other significance in the title? Its certainly not because these are their first 18 singles because there not. Maybe its because these are their 18 biggest hits. There is so much missing. There is nothing from Boy, October, Zooropa or Pop. Perhaps there is going to be a volume 2 in the near future. What should have been released is a compilation of their whole career including stuff from their first two albums, which seem to have been forgotten about after the War album and superstardom came along. If your new to U2 and just want an album of the big hits this will do. Otherwise check out their best albums:Boy, October, War, Unforgettable Fire, Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Introduction, 16 Feb 2007
By 
Scole (South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
This compilation is really what people like me have been looking for - non-fans who have heard the singles, like them and want them on one easy to digest CD. This also serves as a great introduction and my surprise love of the single "Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own" has led me to purchase the Atomic Bomb CD.It seems rock bands can get better with age! Don't knock this CD - it does precisely what it was intended to do - expose the band to a new generation of fans. So what if some hardcore fan's favourite songs aren't on it - the people who buy this CD won't want to hear those initially. If it does for others what it has done for me, then the fans should be thanking it. I always recall the flack The Best of Bob Dylan got (a similar "slimline hits only" collection) - but a colleague of mine only had to hear "Tangled Up In Blue" once from that particular CD and almost immediately amassed a 20-strong Dylan CD collection! A thrilling listen from start to finish and a couple of very good new tracks to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Served as a great introduction, 9 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
I have always been a causal fan of U2 (which I guess this compilation is aimed at), I decided to look deeper into their music and bought this greatest hits CD (with 19 tracks, not 18). I thought it was a fantastic introduction to the band, with all the tracks that I already knew and so many more. No fillers, just big hits and great music. My personal favourites are 'With or Without You', 'Beautiful Day' and 'Sunday Bloody Sunday',

Already played it to death, I will definitely purchase some of their solo albums in the future. In the meantime, this is a great way for a newbie fan to become familiar with their music, and for bigger fans to have many of their favourite hits in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pride recycled One more time, 13 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
After having released the 1980-1990 & 1990-2000 Best Of Compilations, it seemed logical that the next U2 compilation would be a 2000-2010 compilation. Apparently, U2 no longer have such patience and have delivered this single disk career overview just in time for Christmas.

This is a pattern that has increasingly been developing by U2, i.e. releasing recycled material of sorts between each new release. We've had this decade alone 3 concert DVD's (plus Zoo TV re-released) and the 1990-2000 CD & DVD compilation.

On the plus side, at least for the very casual fan, all the biggies are included on this set. For those who have been Following U2 for ages, it is highly unlikely that such fans will have any Desire listening to Pride One more time (included on all of the concert DVD's). Granted, there are 2 new tracks included but the average price for each new song for those who own U2's previous material, probably in many shapes, is steep.

The song selection is, as a set for casual listeners, as close to perfect as possible. U2 have e.g. skipped all the songs from the Pop flop; as are Zooropa and the first two albums (one hidden track though Follows). 2 UK #1's, The Fly and Discothéque are also nowhere to be found here, indicating that the songs are chosen by their world wide success. There are obvious misses, such as City of Blinding Lights, Numb and Angel of Harlem, but which songs to replace them with would be a difficult task.

U2 fans probably will, with a slight grumble, purchase this set en masse. With the entire catalogue yet to be re-released, however, patience with their recycling efforts may begin wearing thin if this process continues.

I would give this set 5 stars for the songs themselves, they do stand the test of time (having heard many of them so often, I hardly will listen a whole lot to this set). There are, however, only a couple of stars given to the 18 release itself, due to U2's abnormal recycling efforts, which should be concentrated more on earth's resources, not their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U2 Singles - A must, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Joanne "Lovin ma kindle" (Skegness, Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
I recently saw U2 live in Sheffield at what was one of the best gigs I have ever seen. The right mix of old and new material and that sums up this CD, all of the classics plus the newer material including my favourite "Vertigo".

There's much crap written about U2 and Bono by the "right on" brigade but the facts remain - a tight, vibrant, energetic band in their 27th year at the top that know how to play, how to entertain and how to rock. What more can you ask for and I have played this CD over and over and over since I re-discovered one of the truly great rock bands on the planet. You don't have to share their views on politics or the environment to enjoy the music, last time I checked we live in a democracy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As if this band needs to cash in AGAIN on its back catelogue - Dont get caught up in the hype...., 22 Nov 2006
By 
Carl Allen "Pablo Diablo" (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
Having been a fan since the release of Boy U2 always impressed me with their integrity. However, I wasn't particularly bothered when they brought out the Best of 80-90 and Best of 90-2000 compilations as the "special edition" versions of these albums contained some interesting mixes etc,. This half arsed U218 effort at a singles compilation is appalling. The U2 website calls it a "career spanning" collection yet singles (by the way Sunday Bloody Sunday was never released as a 7" single) from the albums Boy, October, Pop and Zooropa have been omitted along with such classics as Hold me Thrill me..., A Celebration and Electrical Storm. Presumably there is a market for this kind of compilation but even a person with a passing interest in the band will have a fair bit of this material in other formats already which leaves me wondering who would want to fork out for it all over again even if it does contain a couple of new tracks one being a cover version? Save your money and avoid this rip off - or if you must, you're better off buying a couple of U2 albums from the mid-price range. NB: itunes will only allow you download the two new songs if you download the whole album so U2 are not the only ones in on this disgraceful cash in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars U2 cash in., 5 Jan 2007
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
As a big U2 fan, i was disappointed that they released this album - they are simply cashing in and being lazy. For me they have lost a lot of they rock and roll appeal. The track listing is weak to say the least as we've already had two greatest hits albums - so why the hell have they rehashed a third one? I cannot comprehend how songs such as Elevation and Stuck in a Moment even made it on here and Electrical Storm was left out! They should have released an an album containing lesser known greats such as Running to Stand Still, Who Gonna Run your Wild Horses, Kite etc.. My advice, if your looking for a U2 greatest hits, go to their two previous best of albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet another missed oportunity, 15 Nov 2006
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
It should have been so simple - U2 put out a collection of all their singles on one compilation. But as with the previous 2 collections (covering the 80s and 90s) there's some significant ommisions. I know it's impossible to put all their singles on one CD, but this compilation is being mis-sold as having "all the hits on one album". If that's the case then where are hits such as The Fly, Unforgettable Fire, Wild Horses, Discotheque, Fire... I could go on.

And when are they going to put genuine hard to find singles like A Celebration on an anthology?!

Great songs - shoddy compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic compliation of music!, 13 Nov 2006
By 
P. M. Atkinson "Elysium" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U218 Singles (Audio CD)
As a hardcore fan I do somewhat agree with the other review. This album is not essential for those of us who own all the albums, including the previous 2 "best of's". Despite the fact there are 2 new songs, both of these are going to be available as singles. However, if you are a 'must own everything U2' type of person, look for the special edition of this album as it comes with a DVD of live performances spanning their career.

However, if you are a casual fan or just getting into U2 and you don't have some of their albums, then this is an essential album at a great price. Many of these songs simply deserve to be a part of everyones music collection. The only down side I can see, is the lack of ANY tracks from either Zooropa or Pop, which although disliked by many, hold some of the bands most adventurous and creative songs, such as Lemon or Mofo. Lets not forget memorable soundtrack titles either; Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me or The Hands that built America. These tracks are also omitted.

Despite the omission of some of my personal favourites, it is impossible to say that this album is not worth buying. To put it simply, if you own all the songs buy the special edition for new content, if you are new to U2 buy this and play it really loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U218 Singles
U218 Singles by U2 (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews