Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch!
When I first removed the watch from the box, I was immediately impressed with the apparent quality of the watch. For such a cheap watch, I wasn't expecting a top quality finish. But I am impressed with the display screen, it looks better than its price range in my opinion. It has been kept simple by design, but doesn't look cheap.

You can also tell the time in...
Published on 8 Mar 2010 by Joe Bloggs

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good watch, bad strap
The watch is a replacement for a very similar type which has lasted 17 years and is still going well. The only reason for buying a new one was that the holes where the strap attached had become enlarged so the strap would fall off.
I ordered this watch because it had a stainless steel strap which would not periodically need replacement, but I was aware from reviews...
Published on 18 Sep 2010 by Detroit Iron


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Watch!, 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
When I first removed the watch from the box, I was immediately impressed with the apparent quality of the watch. For such a cheap watch, I wasn't expecting a top quality finish. But I am impressed with the display screen, it looks better than its price range in my opinion. It has been kept simple by design, but doesn't look cheap.

You can also tell the time in bright sunlight with ease. This can be an issue with some digital watches.

The watch is quite a small, light watch. I don't even notice I'm wearing it sometimes. The face is about 3.5cm (1.25") wide, and about the same high. The strap is very slim, measuring 1.5cm (0.6") across at its slimmest point (it obviously tapers from the face).

The strap is very simple to fasten. I could not tell you how easy it is to adjust, because the watch strap fit me perfectly right out of the box. But I can assure you that the strap is simple to clasp around your wrist. It is a simple hook mechanism and then a clip to hold it in place. Giving a very audible and reassuring `click' when it is fastened. A sure sign of quality. The strap is also very easy to remove.

As soon as I opened the box (as I always do by habit), I read the instructions through. This was to see how the different functions of the watch worked. The instructions are not extensive, and are very simple to follow.

The watch has 2 functions besides telling the time(and date), in either 12hr or 24hr: an alarm, and a stop watch.

After reading the instructions and setting up the time, I then found it easy to navigate around the functions without consulting the manual, so it can be said that it is very easy to use. You could probably set it up without the instructions. Indeed, the instructions say you can't break the watch by pressing the wrong buttons, but the manual is not to long, so I would suggest reading it through (only the English bit mind!).

The only setbacks (and they are only minor ones), in my opinion, are with the light and the alarm.

The light is an LED set to the left of the screen. So when it is activated, the light is noticeably brighter on one side of the screen than the other. I would have preferred it to be a uniform distribution of light, but this is just me being meticulous. The light does its job fine, it enables you to tell the time in the dark, so I can't really complain.

The alarm is not really very loud. My hearing is pretty good. But I think the alarm should be a couple more decibels.

In summary, this watch is an excellent watch for its retail price. I am really happy with the quality. The watch displays the time in either 12hr or 24hr, with the day and date. It has an alarm, light and stopwatch. It is also very easy to operate and is comfortable to wear.

You can't ask much more of a watch. 4.8/5.

I hope you found this review helpful and has persuaded you to purchase a great little watch. Thanks for reading my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great quality, very cheap, and very simple, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
I was very impressed about the quality when I received it; I thought the stainless steel, the quality, locking system, were going to be much worse. It looks tough, and everlasting. A very simple watch, small so it's easy to wear, very cheap, goodlooking and trendy nowadays ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly as I remember it in the 80's, 2 Feb 2009
By 
Tarby "Tarby" (Newbury,Berkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
Excellent, just as it was when I bought the first one back in the 1980's.
Stainless Steel throughout. Clear LCD display and full of retro class. If you like 80's merchandise then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but you get what you pay for..., 26 April 2011
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
It arrived this morning, it's a lovely watch and great for the price (which went down 2 pounds the day after i bought it...). It is also trivial to set up, with a simple 3 button input explained in the manual.

It loses a star due to it's weak light (still effective in the dark) and it's effeminate strap which is quite a bit skinnier than i was expecting. That aside it's still a great watch and I'm very happy with my purchase.

People seem to be having trouble adjusting the bracelet size of the watch. I was very confused about it as well until i saw a comment that a user "ed flanders" left on a review below which reads as follows;

"All you have to do is, with the watch face side up, look at the lower clip (where the clasp hooks onto) and you'll see a slot.
Pop it up with a screwdriver and you can adjust (slide) the plate to suit your wrist.
When done, just clip the metal thing down firmly again - it's simple!" - The only downside of this comes from the spare links left over after adjustment, this is not a big deal and i'll probably get them taken out later by a professional.

Overall, A great watch and a great purchase! 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
I bought this for my brother for his 21st birthday.

He loves it. It was affordable, it works like clockwork (sorry!) but best of all, it looks the business! I have just bought myself one too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stylish but cheap, 9 July 2012
By 
Susana Fraga (Lisboa, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
Got tons of compliments. Looks good on men and women, goes well with casual and more put together outfits. Its so trendy that I so it in stores for 54 euros, buy it before they raise the price here too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the future!, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
This watch is so cool! I now feel part of the Space Age! It doesn't have hands, it doesn't tick and it lights up! Welcome to the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect remake of an 80's classic, 20 Sep 2010
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
Can't get much better for the price. I generally never take my watches off (I sleep, shower and play sport in them), and this watch has proven to be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES, 25 Sep 2010
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
Purchased this watch a couple of months ago and was really impressed. Brilliant for the price and looks the part too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So 80's, 3 Oct 2010
By 
Nikolay Dimitrov (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES (Watch)
I like it! Takes me back to the 80's...
The quality is good too, like all three Casio watches I have/had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casio Classic Digital Watch A163WA-1QES
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews