Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super penguin romp!!
... I think the other two reviewers must have had a sense of humour failure, this was one of the funniest features I've seen in a long while.

If you're expecting a documentary in the style of David Attenborough and 'March of the Penguins' then you can forget it! This movie goes where he wouldn't dare to tread. It's definitely not one to watch when the little...
Published on 10 Sep 2007 by D. Bell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2.5--This is even funnier when your drunk
Though it may look like a cute, animated penguin movie, Farce of the Penguins' isn't for kids. It's Bob Saget's classic, surprisingly crude humor--pretty much all of which revolves around sex (and, occasionally, fart jokes). Think of it as 'Animal Planet' meets 'American Pie' or you can see it as a foul mouthed send up of the 'March of the Penguins.'

The...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2.5--This is even funnier when your drunk, 25 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Though it may look like a cute, animated penguin movie, Farce of the Penguins' isn't for kids. It's Bob Saget's classic, surprisingly crude humor--pretty much all of which revolves around sex (and, occasionally, fart jokes). Think of it as 'Animal Planet' meets 'American Pie' or you can see it as a foul mouthed send up of the 'March of the Penguins.'

The concept of 'Farce of the Penguins' is priceless. There isn't a single shot of original photography used. It's all stock photography, pieced together and worked into a script that's voiced by just about everyone in Hollywood (or at least those who owed Bob Saget a favor). There's no fancy animation, no special effects. While I definitely appreciate the creativity behind it, though, the story is pretty rough. Some of the jokes get really old after a while--and the 80-minute movie could have easily ended after 60.

While there are some great parts to 'Farce of the Penguins' (like the penguins who wander off and end up victims of Global Warming--or Juan Sanchez, the penguin who loses his mind and goes off on an adventure), watching it often feels like being on the outside of a very detailed inside joke. Though I'm sure it was really funny in the studio--when everyone was hanging around, recording the voices--it's pretty clear that you just had to be there to appreciate parts of it. So the best part of the DVD is actually the making-of feature, which shows the voice talent in the studio, recording their parts. That made me laugh out loud more than the movie itself did.

'Farce of the Penguins' isn't for everyone. In fact, it's probably not for most people. But for fans of Saget's crude humor, it's good for a few laughs--especially if you polish off a few drinks before watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A super penguin romp!!, 10 Sep 2007
By 
D. Bell (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
... I think the other two reviewers must have had a sense of humour failure, this was one of the funniest features I've seen in a long while.

If you're expecting a documentary in the style of David Attenborough and 'March of the Penguins' then you can forget it! This movie goes where he wouldn't dare to tread. It's definitely not one to watch when the little ones are around, more suited to after the nine o'clock watershed.

The characters are hilarious and the script is very cleverly written. Samuel L Jackson gives a superb narration which is completely the opposite of that given by Morgan Freeman in March of the Penguins ... and there's even a 'plot' of sorts - it's a musical love story!

The five main characters (3 guys, 2 girls) discuss all the aspects of life as if they were in todays society - relationships, personal appearances, religion, entertainent, crime, modern literature, the climate, the meaning of life etc. There is however one recurring thought throughout the guys' 70 mile trek to the breeding ground. They address all the hardships they have to endure in order to reach their ultimate goal. There's even a wise Snow Owl giving advice and a quick talking, street vending Arctic Fox ready with witty quips!

Watch out for the first 'Global Warming' scene - hysterically funny but not without a serious message. The hero for me though was rock hopping 'Juan Sanchez' but you'll have to watch the movie to see what happens to him!!!

There's a whole host of other animals co-starring, contributing to a thoroughly entertaining 75 minutes of light hearted fun.

Leave your serious head in the office, settle in the comfy chair with your big slipper, a G & T and like minded company and enjoy ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a film that should never have been made in this poor quality., 1 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly one of the worst films ever created; the fact that it is still in the dvd charts is purely down to it leaching onto the success of march of the penguins.

The quality of the editing would have you wondering if this was not surely created as a high school project by year 7s, although giving some justice to the skills of high school students as they would have surely followed through with some funny punch lines rather than the droll monotonous quibs of what appears to be a group of men down the pub having a mid-life crisis.

The narration and 'jokes' will have you squirming in your seats in embarrassment for samuel l jackson who it seems must have surely read the script without listening to what was being said, and writers been warned just becuase you have sexual puns doesnt make them funny in fact after the first 100, it does make you question the maturity level of the creators and if they are all sitting in some dark room laughing at someone making rude sounds.

All in all a dire and poor film riding on the success of march of the penguins; it is a shame it can be linked in any way to the latter as after watching this you surely wont want to go back to that fine creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best movie ever!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this movie but bought it for my best friend who loves it too for her birthday. Delighted that it arrived in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Penguins, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The first time I saw this I only saw the last 30 minutes but I knew I had to watch it from the start. It was very funny & my friends and I had a good laugh. It certainly makes you look at penguins in a different light. LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Farce of the penguins, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very adult dvd it's a pity that it is not promoted more.in the United Kingdom
Avert good buy
Bob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not ice cold, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This was recommended as a bit of fun after seeing the original 'March of......' It's funny and lighthearted in contrast to the original which is unfortunately the truer plight of the penguins. Not for children as there is some dark subversive humour. Good for a laugh and recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Laugh, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Hey this video is a great laugh, adult humour but ohhh so funny. Give it it try, at the price, believe me it's well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars farce of the penguins, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A great funny film which can be watched many times and still be funny would recommend to anyone, it is a film which can be enjoyed many times, well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I think 1 star is being generous, 16 Feb 2007
By 
Mr. W. A. Johnson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
First thing I must warn you - please don't let the fact that Samuel L Jackson narrates this film make you think it's worth buying - it's still possibly the worst "film" ever made

The story is basically about a pair of penguins on their quest to eat and mate. It's 90 minutes of ill-fitting stock photography slapped together with glaring inconsistency. The makers would probably tell you "it's funny, it's ironic" - it's really not. The voice acting is terrible and annoying, the jokes are predictable, lame and toilet (there's more than one reference to yellow snow) and the choice of music is paultry. I can't begin to imagine what the makers were thinking when they made this, let alone who it's aimed at. Even Samuel L Jackson can't save this mess, I think he actually manages to make it worse at one point ("You can't handle the truth" - you'll see)

Not worthy of a rental, certainly not worthy of a purchase. If you must watch this please take into account what I've said

Terrible

0/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD]
Farce Of The Penguins [2006] [DVD] by Bob Saget (DVD - 2007)
5.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews