Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Be careful with hope. It's a trick the devil will play on you."
Come on, people. Satanic rituals, demonic possession, telekinesis, witchcraft, cute Catholic schoolgirls - that's a solid foundation for a horror movie right there. Admittedly, the plot isn't a perfectly healthy specimen, but I enjoyed 5ive Girls. A lot of people seem to view this film as a The Craft wannabe, but I don't see any substantive connection between the two...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Tale about a Demon who Torments a Catholic School for Girls
St. Marks Catholic Corrective School for Girls re-opens five years after a tragedy occurred.
A teenage girl named Elizabeth (a clone of the actress Heather Thomas - stunningly pretty, just like all the other girls at the school - well I never!), was a favourite of Father Drake. Father Drake was perhaps a little too fond of his star pupil. In any event, Elizabeth...
Published 1 month ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Be careful with hope. It's a trick the devil will play on you.", 20 Oct 2008
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
Come on, people. Satanic rituals, demonic possession, telekinesis, witchcraft, cute Catholic schoolgirls - that's a solid foundation for a horror movie right there. Admittedly, the plot isn't a perfectly healthy specimen, but I enjoyed 5ive Girls. A lot of people seem to view this film as a The Craft wannabe, but I don't see any substantive connection between the two films - apart from the occult overtones and the fact that both stories revolve around a cast of teenaged girls. Like most horror films, 5ive Girls does borrow here and there from films that have come before, but I think it succeeds in establishing its own identity.

St. Mark's School for Girls used to be a well-respected private school - until one of its students disappeared under extremely unusual circumstances. We know what happened because it makes up the opening scene of the movie. Elizabeth (Krysta Carter), an especially faithful young woman, was attacked by no less a demon than Legion himself - and Father Drake (Ron "the Beast" Perlman), who may have liked Elizabeth a little too much, was powerless to help her. The school soon closed in the wake of the tragedy - but now, five years later, it has reopened. Sort of, anyway. Under the harsh discipline of Headmistress Miss Pearce (Amy Lalonde), who even seems to have Father Drake by the cojones, it now serves as a sort of reform school for wayward girls. Apparently, the best way to control an unruly teenager is through intense Latin instruction. Who knew?

The entire student body consists of a mere five girls, all of them dropped off by parents eager to get rid of them. Apart from the fact that they really aren't bad girls at all, the five have something else in common - each one has a paranormal gift. Alex (Jennifer Mille) can move things when she's emotional (plus she has the ability to be extremely hot at all times), Leah (Barbara Mamabolo) can walk through certain objects (although we never see her do it), Mara (Jordan Madley) can heal people, Cecilia (Terra Vnesa) can see things in her mind despite the fact that she's blind, and Connie (Tasha May) - actually, I don't know what Connie's gift is (she can whine with the best of them, but that's probably not it). Anyway, it doesn't take long for the girls to figure out that there is something very wrong with the place. For one thing, Alex keeps hearing disembodied voices and seeing what can only be the ghost of a former student wandering around. With a headmistress like Miss Pearce and weird shenanigans going on all over the place, it doesn't take long for the girls to bond with each other - and that's a good thing because before you can say a dozen Hail Marys, they find themselves battling Legion. Boy, it's a good thing they've got a giant priest around to protect them - or maybe not.

The plot is sort of patched together with spit and gum in a few places, but it manages to hold up pretty well until the end. With all of the action taking place within the confines of a large and somewhat creepy school building, the film maintains a decently disquieting atmosphere, but none of the slightly cheesy special effects are going to knock you for a loop. It's a little difficult to accept Ron Perlman in the role of a priest, but the acting is pretty good up and down the line. The story even manages to keep a couple of plot points pretty close to the vest until the closing moments. 5ive Girls will probably appeal more to the younger segment of horror fans, but I quite enjoyed watching it. Did I mention the five cute Catholic schoolgirls?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Reasonable Tale about a Demon who Torments a Catholic School for Girls, 6 Nov 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
St. Marks Catholic Corrective School for Girls re-opens five years after a tragedy occurred.
A teenage girl named Elizabeth (a clone of the actress Heather Thomas - stunningly pretty, just like all the other girls at the school - well I never!), was a favourite of Father Drake. Father Drake was perhaps a little too fond of his star pupil. In any event, Elizabeth dies in the strangest of circumstances.
When the school opens again, it takes in female juvenile delinquents. Blood and urine samples are taken regularly. Mobile telephones are banned. The third floor is strictly out of bounds. Discipline is enforced rigorously. The smallest infraction of the rules leaves the girls mopping the school floors. Headmistress Pierce - a schoolboy's fantasy for a Headteacher - is only content when she's being stern and spanking the girls' behinds with a rod. She was a pupil at the school and helped Father Drake with his alcoholism. Their relationship is basically one of master and servant - poor Ron!
All the usual cliches for a demonic possession story then follow. Mysterious whispered voices, moving furniture, apparitions of the dead girl Elizabeth. The main target is a student named Alex, who's the spitting image of Elisha Cuthbert of 24 fame. Just like Elizabeth before her, Alex shines at her work and attracts Father Drake's attentions.
Both the dead girl and the demon start to pervade Alex's thoughts and weird things start happening to the girls. In reality, each one of those girls would be on their mobile to mum and dad, begging for a change of school. But not these girls - they decide to take matters into their own hands and guess which floor they decide to explore....
The movie is slickly and stylishly realised. The effects are okay and there are a few scary moments. The cast is attractive and obviously intended to appeal to teenage audiences. Anyone who likes the Twilight franchise of movies will very probably enjoy this film.
The story is quite reminiscent of movies like the The Craft (The Craft [Blu-ray] [1996] [US Import]).
You can view this film on Netflix. If you want to own a superb flick about demonic possession or a poltergeist, you might wish to consider The Exorcist or Entity - The Exorcist [Blu-ray] [1973] [Region Free] Entity [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import] .
Thank you for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5ive Girls, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. S. E. Mardle (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
Being a Ron Perlman fan I thought I would order this & wasn't disappointed!It's built around a school that was closed years before due to a terrible thing happening there it's more like a prison this time around & only has a priest (Ron Perlman)a not so nice headmistress & 5 pupils (the 5ive girls)they have been sent by their parents as a last resort because they can't deal with their unusual gifts & behaviour what happens there isn't anyway normal or expected & the girls have a real battle ahead to survive the evil within the school walls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 girls & a psycho ~ you will get it if you buy the DVD, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this!! I won't say it's the most original nor most awe inspiring of FX, but i liked it. The acting was good, the storyline good & there are some creepy moments. It was a nice way to spend an hour and odd, if you're into this genre. I don't give plots away and if you read the info about it, that explains pretty much what the story is about. I gave it a 4 out of 5 because it wasn't magnificent and i am a picky soul ~ was gonna use another word beginning with s :oP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 15 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
This film is laughable and just plain awful. I don't normally like to give spoilers but it's the best way and probably the only real way to tell you just how awful this is.

Ok, so we have five girls, a blood-stained-pentagram, a third-floor, a Sadist-Head-Mistress and a Faithless-Fallen-Priest (hands up if you have already seen this movie before).

Before the Faithless-Fallen-Priest was faithless and fallen, he was present when a demon named Legion tried, and failed, to possess a girl right there in his class-room. Apparently, this girl, was super-pure - holier than holy - whiter than white, and so; was in fact unpossessable (still; evil demons just have to try these things) and so, she vanished - just a spot of blood remained.
Years later the school is re-opened as a reform school and in walk five girls. The Sadist-Head-Mistress has painted a pentagram on the floor where the blood of the holy-girl still remains. She plans to trade the five girls' souls in for the holy-girl whom at some point you will discover is her sister (I think?!).
The third floor is off limits, the Sadist-Head-Mistress gets really ticked-off when a couple of girls go snooping around up there - so annoyed in-fact, she lashes one of the girls with a long wooden ruler right on the butt through her tidy-whites (oooh, a girl-on-girl spanking session! - think there will be time for some lesbianism a bit later on?). But guess what? All five girls are actually needed on the pentagram the next night so the Sadist-Head-Mistress can do a spell, lucky she didn't succeed in putting them right off snooping around then, isn't it?
Oh, did I mention these five girls have special supernatural powers? Well, they have! The Sadist-Head-Mistress sought them out especially because of these powers. The girls' powers aren't actually needed for the 'trade-in' but they do come in handy for fighting-off evil demons called Legion.
The Faithless-Fallen-Priest, that saw the girl vanish before, does not believe the girls when they each tell him something is "wrong". They even describe to him the image of the ghostly girl and correctly name her, but he says "it's impossible" - more fool him!

This film clearly doesn't know what it's trying to be and so appears as an inferior counterfeit of more successful titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unexpected, 3 Dec 2013
By 
kilasandra (CARDIFF, WALES, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
though there wasn't enough of ron pearlman i found myself routing for the girls to kick butt & kill kill kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An alright time passer, 1 Jan 2013
By 
J. G. Hedges (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
An alright time passer that would (yawn) suit a teenie or someone who likes gilrs. The knickers and spanking scene takes you aback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tacky schoolgirl supernatural yarn that doesn't know what it wants to be, 26 Jun 2007
By 
David Paul Jebb "trainboydave" (Craigavon, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is bad in so many ways it's hard to pinpoint just one reason I didn't like it. The central plot of girls with supernatural powers coming together to fight evil is not new, but we see it being done all the time with more panache than this.

The first scene is an admittedly, eerie pseudo-religious horror piece with the young girl being taken by demons, much to the horror of Father Ron Perlman. The school is closed, but opened mysteriously as a centre for troubled girls. The girls come together and the evil is reawakened. The girls must work together despite being VASTLY different in order to survive the demonic terrors.

So much of this movie makes no sense. First of all, why are there only five pupils there? Are their parents completely inept?

Secondly, their powers. They all have special powers, which is why they are probably in the school, but it seems (apart from the healing powers) they are badly thought out and serve no purpose in the story. The girl who walks through walls does this only once and it makes no sense that she can't walk through doors.

The misuse of Ron Perlman was atrocious. His troubled priest seemed to be promising an epiphany moment when he would rally round and be the mentor the girls needed to defeat the demon. Instead, he is killed with very little screen time.

This movie was badly plotted and not thought out very well at all. Are the girls sexy examples of girl power? Or slasher fodder just waiting for their death scene? Both, neither... who cares? Avoid this movie and watch The Craft again if you want teenage witchcraft in Catholic schoolgirl uniforms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not That Good, 15 July 2007
By 
Ben Maxxy "Ben" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 5ive Girls [DVD] (DVD)
The film sounds brilliant about girls with powers fighting demons. I just want to know 1 thing when does the fighting happen. If there wernt any fit girls in this film i would have given it a 1. They hardly use their powers and just get killed off 1 by 1 without putting up a fight. Nothing remotely scary happens throughtout the film. The powers are crap aswell with only 1 with a power that can actually hurt people. You dont even find out what 1 of the girls powers is.
Just watch this if u want to watch fit girls in catholic school uniforms with a bit of S&M thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5ive Girls [DVD]
5ive Girls [DVD] by Warren P. Sonoda (DVD - 2007)
£4.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews