Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You hear that. That's the sound of the universe."
After waiting for 2 years the BBC have finally released the fantastic soundtrack to what is essentially their flagship television show.

Murray Gold, the British equivalent to America's Bear McCreary (check out the Battlestar Galactica CD's to see what I mean) weaves a collection beautiful scores which span seasons 1 and 2.

It's not until you listen...
Published on 30 Dec 2006 by TK-1308

versus
7 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but still its Doctor Who
I was disappointed with this CD in many ways, admittedly there are many great pieces of music on it - but i bought it like i think many others did for the Doctor Who theme. The final track on the disk contains the restored 'middle 8' section as used in series 2 of the new series, totally criminal it was ever left out in the first place in my opinion.

I listened...
Published on 11 Dec 2006 by Gary L. S. Rendle


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You hear that. That's the sound of the universe.", 30 Dec 2006
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
After waiting for 2 years the BBC have finally released the fantastic soundtrack to what is essentially their flagship television show.

Murray Gold, the British equivalent to America's Bear McCreary (check out the Battlestar Galactica CD's to see what I mean) weaves a collection beautiful scores which span seasons 1 and 2.

It's not until you listen to this soundtrack that you realise just how much of the series is affected by this music.

The CD consists of 31 tracks, starting with that unforgettable opening theme and launches straight into Westminster Bridge which is the first track from the episode Rose.

From there we launch into a collection of tracks from across the first two seasons and both Christmas specials. The only downside here is that they are not in episode order but for those with a keen ear you can work out what goes where.

Several tracks stand out from the rest; the touching Father's Day, the haunting Doctor's theme (one of my favourites), the militaristic UNIT, the dramatic scores for both the Cybermen and the Daleks and the bittersweet Doomsday are all excellent.

There are several great examples of leitmotif for certain characters which occur in other tracks and add an audio cue for the audience as to what's about to happen.

There are two songs by Neil Hannon, Song For Ten (from the Christmas Invasion as David Tennant goes through his clothes in the Tardis wardrobe) and Love Don't Roam (from the reception in The Runaway Bride) which are both good tracks as there are used as cues in other pieces of music.

All in all this CD gives you 75 minutes of great music and it's a must for any sci-fi collection. If you enjoyed this then check out any of the current Battlestar Galactica, Firefly, Serenity and Alien Nation soundtracks for more good sci-fi music of similar quality.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 April 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
Wow is the one word that sums up this sound track. I have never been a big fan of sounds tracks as so many have been poor in the past - so i was a little apprehensive about this one. However, i need not have been as this is to put it simply a brilliant sound track all round.

As past reviewers have said if you close your eyes on some tracks you can visualise the scenes in your head "The Daleks" and The Cybermen" being two tracks that do just that.

Then you get the haunting sounds of "Fathers Day", "Madam De Pompadour", "The Impossible Planet" and the incredible "Doomsday" used at the end of series 2.

However, the best track of all has to be the full version of the Doctor Who Theme it's brilliant really is worth the listen on it's own.

Murray Gold has done wonders in the world of Doctor Who with this outstanding album. If your a fan of Doctor Who or sound tracks then i urge you to buy this album as you'll not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Soundtrack, 22 Jun 2007
By 
Emily Mulhall "AussieGirl" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
Utterly brilliant. This CD gives you the chance to listen to the music without the show and it is even more haunting and memorable. Murray Gold is a great composer, may he always write the music for Doctor Who. The emotional 'Doomsday" track is wonderful however and clear favourite but I think a true masterpiece comes in the form of 'The Impossible Planet'...spine chilling. Highly recommended for all DOctor Who fans and lovers of music in general
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 20 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
An excellent cd to accompany an excellent series! I had no idea that a cd of the music to series 1 and 2 had been released, it was only by luck I stumbled across this, but when I saw it for [...]. I thought it might be worth a look at.Even without paying extra for 24hr delivery it arrived on my doorstep the next morning so well done Amazon for that. The cd itself comes in a jewel case with a card outers sleeve also, inside is a booklet that gives you a little insight into each of the tracks and also contains some nice photos. The musical score itself is superb with some very moving and outstanding pieces, favourites of mine have to be Madame De Pompadour and Doomsday both of which tug at the heart strings. Hopefully another cd will follow as the music from series 3 is proving to be just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murray Gold is a genius, 5 Jan 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
Since the first episode of the new series to the latest I've enjoyed the Murray Gold scores. Since getting an orchestra for the second series the music became even more powerful.

Who fans were desperate for this album since Song For Ten was first heard at the end of 2005 - it's been a long wait, and although Tim Phillips doesn't sing on this version, Neil Hannon (from the Divine Comedy) does a superb job.

Rose's Theme is very emotive, as are many of the tracks. I look forward to listening to further Murray Gold music during future series, and hopefully further albums! ;-)

Whether you're a DW fan or not, you have to appreciate that this is a set of very good quality compositions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 13 Dec 2006
By 
Good Wolf (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
Soundtrack CDs can so often be a let-down. Not so here - pretty much all of the music here is genuinely fantastic. It could be enjoyed in its own right, but if you've followed the two series of Doctor Who closely there's an added dimension as each track recalls favourite moments - some happy, some sad, some just downright exciting.

Plus, the two songs performed by the wonderful Neil Hannon (of The Divine Comedy) are a welcome addition, both being great, lively tracks which benefit from his versatile voice.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking..., 3 Jan 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
I had this CD for christmas and had been waiting for it for ages and put it promptly in my CD player and it's been there ever since.

Granted not every track is on the Cd and Neil Hannons's Song for ten doesn't sound the same as in the actual episode but apart form that the songs on it are truly breathtaking and have even moved me to tears at times.

You're getting value for money what with 31 tracks and there are none on it that I don't listen to.And my little brothers love to listen to it while they go to sleep recognising the tracks from the show.

Some of the best are The Face of Boe which is haunting and has a touch of celtic music in it,Doomsday for the raw emotional notes,Song for ten and Love don't roam for the very sad lyrics hidden in energetic music and Neil Hannon's lovely voice and Tooth and Claw is a very energetic action song like no other.

Also Madame de Pompadour ,The Lpone Dalek and Rose both emotional pieces but there are also some fun ones like Westminster Bridge featured in the episode "Rose" and Cassandra's Waltz and of course there is the Dalek theme and the Cybermen theme from the episodes.

Well worth buying you will not be disappointed ,can't wait until they release a volume two!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold!, 11 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
The one thing that has struck me about the new Dr Who has been the distinctive music by Murray Gold. As a keen soundtrack collector and Who fan I have waited for this to come out. It arrived this morning and it went straight onto my player. The second it starts you're right there in the TARDIS. It's quite wonderfull and an amazingly varied collection of music. With all the toys out this Christmas for the younger fans it's great that the older fans should have this CD.

Can I ask Santa for volume 2 next Christmas?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 12 April 2007
By 
S. Macrae (barry , south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
all you need to know about this album is ... if you love the new Dr who then this album is for you , i was blown off my feet by the music . some tracks like Cassandras waltz , the face of boe & madame DE pompadour are some of the most haunting tracks i have ever heard in my life , hell i am even listen to the disc as i type this . as some other reviewer said as your sat there listen you can really see the images in your head ..... its a master piece peeps ..... get it quick , you wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant work, Mr. Gold, 23 Dec 2006
By 
J. J. Dangermond (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two (Audio CD)
How could you not enjoy the music from the new series? While I cannot describe music as well as the experts, I will admit that I have been a Who musicphile (is this a word?) since I started watching the series back in the 70s (INFERNO technically doesn't have an original soundtrack, but you try to watch it and not come away affected). So many incredible talents have created music for Who since the show began in 1963, including Delia Derbyshire, Mark Ayers, Malcolm Clarke, Peter Howell, Brian Hodgson, to name just a few. Due to my musical fascination, I bought this from Amazon UK instead of waiting the extra two months for the US release.

Mr. Gold's music is certainly effective for generating pathos - it is NOT just background for the Doctor's new exciting adventures. I hear a lot of emotional depth in the many notes of each instrument, particularly in DOOMSDAY and THE DOCTOR'S THEME. WESTMINSTER BRIDGE is the exciting scoring from ROSE that helps to create the tone for both the character of Rose and the ninth Doctor(Mr. Eccleston). Can anyone else hear the hint of angels overhead...well, yes, I admit that the human background singers do help to generate that effect. I do appreciate that the music is in no particular order of appearance - it resembles the iPod shuffle.

After listening to this, go back to Delia Derbyshire's "The Delian Mode", or bits of the "Curse of Fenric" soundtrack, or the Banqueting Music from "Warrior's Gate". Listen to the background music of Big Finish's "Spare Parts" or "Sword of Orion". Then try to tell yourself that this isn't every bit as good or better.

My only complaint - there is just not enough. (Well, and because it probably wasn't composed by Mr. Gold, the techno music of Big Brother in BAD WOLF - pshaw!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two
Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two by Murray Gold (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews