Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars36
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2010
Now don't get me wrong, I love this film not because it's a well-crafted classic but simply because it's a fun and terrifically 1980s effort, complete with big hair, flashy cars, crazy sweaters and a ditzy heroine. It's undeniably cheesy and I completely agree that a decent budget and more talented leads would render it a sci-fi classic, however this is a bit like an extended episode of Quantum Leap, and as such is cornily brilliant.

Nancy Allen, Hollywood's go to girl in the 80s for cute dreamy heroines, does a good job here, however Michael Pare is like a more wooden Marlon Brando as out-of-time sailor David. Classic horror writer John Carpenter adds some much-needed pizzaz to the title credits in his role as executive producer, but there is little for sci-fi fans to get excited about, with some average SFX and little attention paid to the time-travel aspect of the story, other than some bewilderment on the sailors' part as they attempt to come to terms with postwar society.

See this if you fancy a lighthearted, whimsical and undemanding movie; after nearly thirty years it still stands up as a solid if unspectacular fantasy film.
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
A really far fetched, but interesting storyline. Two sailors on a ship, taking part in an experiment to make their ship invisible to radar, travel forward in time due to the experiment going out of control. It's an old film so special effects are basic, but this doesn't detract from the enjyoment of the film
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2008
As an author of a number of books about dimension-hopping - one of which actually deals with the USS Eldridge and the 'Phillidelphia Experiment' - I was anxious to check out this movie on DVD. While the premise of the film (which is based on a well-known conspiracy theory that Albert Einstein had been funded by the US Navy to develop a 'cloaking device' for ships to make them invisible to radar that then went horribly wrong)has huge potential for a really great movie, the film itself was spoiled by cheap special effects and a rather corny script.

The film starts well, with our two heroes embarking as seamen on the USS Eldridge to take part in the experiment. Generators hum, lights flash, tension builds . . . and then some very cheap special effects kick in and the plot - like the USS Eldridge - vanishes in a puff of smoke.

Our two heroes find themselves in the 1980s, in the middle of a top secret experiment of their future, the world is falling apart, there is local love interest etc. etc. etc. and the result is a rather disappointing film.

Full marks for the cast for making the best silk purse they can out of this sow's ear, but a bigger budget and a tighter script would have worked wonders.

Perhaps, as another reviewer has suggested, someone will take this story and throw some real finance behind it so that it can be properly told.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I bought this dvd purely on nostalgia alone. We lived in Africa as kids and only got to the video store once a week so could only rent the less popular movie's. This was the best of a bad bunch and recently I got the urge to see it again. I loved it as much now as I did then. The 'special effects' aren't as special now as they were back then!!!

None the less, my siblings and I are still thrilled with it!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Superb 1980's sci-fi. Special effects are dated, of course, but a nice adventure with plenty of time travel 'gags'.... Like Ronald Reagan as president on TV and David (Male lead) thinks he's watching an old film!!! But overall a well made and thought provoking film.... Accept it for what it is and you'll love it..... Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
I saw this film 20 years ago and enjoyedi it, so when I saw this disc advertised at a very low price I decided to buy it to see if it has withstood the test of time. It tells of the U.S.S. Eldridge, chosen in 1943 to take part in an experiment to make u.s. navy ships invisible to radar, but something goes wrong, and not only does ship disappear, but two sailors are transported to 1984.The rest of the film is the story of these two sailors coping with suddenly finding themselves 41 years in the future, and their attempt to get back to the ship and stop the experiment that has torn a hole in time. And yes I did find it as entertaining the second time around.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2005
As implied in the name there is an experiment in Philadelphia (1943) to make a navel ship invisible to the enemy. The experiment goes beyond its parameters and sends the ship into the future. David Herdeg (Michael Paré) and Jim Parker (Bobby Di Cicco)
Jump ship in the process. What will become of them? Will this time travel affect others and can they get back? If not will they adapt?
It can not hurt to have a relationship with Nancy Allen you may not want to go back.
The story is based on a real conspiracy theory to cover-up the real thing. Even tough there are records to show that the destroyer was no where near the aria at the time, that just fuels the fire for the conspiracy.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
... very enjoyable movie, they made a remake of this movie which needs to be avoided.... do not be fooled into thinking that newer is better... as a movie the original works well, it is well paced and Nancy Allen is great.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2007
With the current trend of re-hashing and re-making older movies it's a shame that someone doesn't do the same with this as it's potential is huge.

I have been fascinated with this (allegedly true) story since I first heard about it several years ago.

It involves a military experiment at a Philadelphia naval shipyard where the USS Eldridge was supposed to have literally vanished during experiments with radar invisibility. The crew reportedly suffered mental illness following the experiment and some were even said to have either vanished completely or been fused to bulkheads. The events were then supposedly followed by a massive miltary cover-up.

Whether or not the story is true - it's a good one - and worthy of a decent movie. I have been looking out for this to be released on Region 2 DVD for years and was so disappointed, although if I'm honest I didn't expect much else.

Sadly it falls prone to the 80s practice of telling a tale with the inevitable addition of an inter-twining love story. It is also really dated in the way that a lot of 80s films are and clearly filmed on a low budget. What a shame - it's such a good subject matter.

Look up the story on the internet - it's everywhere and is completely captivating. Just don't bother with the movie!
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
My parents introduced me to this film. It to me is a classic 80s film and the potential for a great remake is huge.

I really enjoyed this film.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)