Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars67
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2011
Pretentious drivel from Robert Jackman. This album is a masterpiece. Just buy it, enjoy it, and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Item was dispatched quickly and efficiently. CD is disappointing and depressing. Only one track worth listening to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
bought this after hearing a song on an advert. i only ever listen to that particular song an skip the rest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This is the business, if you've had a hard day, shove this on and you can slowly melt in to your sofa
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2009
After the Cinematics epochal 2002 release, 'Every Day', the bar was always going to be high for any follow up and perhaps higher still given that little was heard of them in the intervening 4 years. Ma Fleur emphatically failed to consolidate the Cinematic Orchestra's reputation as avant garde innovators. Yes, we have lush, cinematic textures, wistful swathes of sonic interplay and broody vocals but these elements fail to coalesce in a meaningful way to produce a whole with either depth or feeling.

I cannot single out one track that melds their considerable talents to render something of substance. There are moments of feeling (To Build a Home) but they are disbanded well before achieving anything cohesive. It's all whimsy and layers of well-intentioned orchestration that lead nowhere.

A massive disappointment and worthy of no stars, were there the options to award them.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Ignore that bbc review. As usual they'reon the wrong planet.

This album is incredibly beautiful, soulful, moving and trancedental in the wonderfully emotional singing.

In fact, I suspect the bbc didn't actually bother to listen to the album at all.

Most of all, I love having the album playing quietly as I work, the skillfully melodic beauty wipes away the weary world for me letting me get on concentrate. Othertimes, the peace and ecstatic melancholy of the soundscape is a perfect way to unwind.

To Build A Home is a tour de force of tortured outpourings of love. The biggest problemis that the track needs to be a lot longer, aawful lot longer.

BBC is failing us on so many levels, I need to ask is there really any point in their reviews or opinions anymore?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2007
After not releasing anything for a few years Cinematic Orchestra have returned with Ma Fleur, an album that i think takes a few goes to get into. I love the album now and you can see how Swinscoe has evolved in his musical style but still has not moved on to far and left us behind! 'Familiar Ground' is a beautiful second song of this album with the amazing vocals of Fontella Bass (previously featured in All That You Give). I am so pleased that Cinematic Orchestra have made a long awaited return. My advice is if you don't warm to this album immediately, give it a chance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2007
wonderful!

like a few of the other comments, the lack of pace in this album was the most noticeable and, at first, dissapointing reaction on the first listen. since then I have kept playing it and personally i think it is really beautiful, nothing really hooks you or sticks in your mind, nothing jumps out at you over anything else. it needs to be heard in its entirety, preferably when you have nothing else to distract you from enjoying it. lovely
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2007
It will embrace your fantasies. It will dismantle tears, cause your ears to unlock and eavesdrop with a enchantment not heard from in some time.

Fresh soulful jazz at it's very finest ...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.71
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)