Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Stephen King....
There is no doubt that Stephen King has provided us with some of the best horror material in a generation, but he has also 'given' us an awful load of tripe, too.

You wouldn't have to have been a fan of horror to have come across the classic Carrie - a film so good that it spilled over into mainstream audiences and remains just that - a Classic. The vulnerable,...
Published on 8 May 2012 by Tim Kidner

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thinking DVD
I must admit it was great to see Stephen King books on DVD. Very lazy, but great if you've not got an awfull lots of time to get into a novel...and that's especially if you've read them before. So to watch one of his classics ....as a film not a book is great! it comes back to you...which I find very usefull as I had a brain injury a few years ago and find books rather...
Published on 6 Sep 2010 by Ms. Kathryn Bellard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Stephen King...., 8 May 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
There is no doubt that Stephen King has provided us with some of the best horror material in a generation, but he has also 'given' us an awful load of tripe, too.

You wouldn't have to have been a fan of horror to have come across the classic Carrie - a film so good that it spilled over into mainstream audiences and remains just that - a Classic. The vulnerable, naive Sissy Spacek who so cruelly gets humiliated, culminating in the ever-infamous Proms finale.

Or, the delicious but starting out subtle, 'Misery'? The Mother of all stalker movies and Kathy Bates giving one of the juiciest psycho performances of all time. The way that author James Caan meets her and ends up her prisoner is so authentically done, that it will make anyone wary of, well, everyone!

If there's a weak one, here, it's The Dark Half. Far more routine and humdrum in comparison to the others, but still decent enough, partly through cult horror director George A Romero's handling. Timothy Hutton initially seems a little too smooth and nice as the writer whose literary alter-ego takes on a life of its own, building to a rather overblown and gory climax.

The DVDs come in slimline plastic cases, inside an outer card case. It's nicely presented though it seems that aren't any extra features (at least listed on the box) but do come with subtitles in many European languages. All the films are certificate 18, so for adults only.

I bought the set as I wanted to own Misery and Carrie, as they're simply brilliant but also got the extra The Dark Half, too. For the price, excellent value and would make a good choice as a gift for the discerning horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great films and one decent one., 10 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
A fine box set with some of the best Stephen King adaptations.
"Carrie" is of course a classic. Brian De Palma takes the source material and makes it better. One of very few King adaptations ever to do this.
"Misery" is another tour de force with fantastic performances from Kathy Bates and James Cann.
"The Dark Half" is a decent film based on one of the lesser titles from the King catalogue. George Romero gives us a decent, if workman like, adaptation but very watchable non the less.
No extras to speak of but still a decent set of films at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xmas Present, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Da Parsons "Jedknows" (West Country Boy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for someone who likes horror, but not the type where the throat is ripped out and entrails are left all over the house. It was for someone whose job meant that he was not able to go to the cinema that often and not a TV watcher (hates adverts) and so I thought these three were a good boxset. 'Misery' being the claustrophobic type of horror. 'Carrie' being the slow build up and brilliant ending type of horror and 'The Dark Half' as a man disintegrating into his dark side. All three films with good stories, which remain watchable throughout and very good acting The presents recipient seemed very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love Stephen King's shows!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love Stephen King's shows. He has such a imaginative mind, and he leaves you hanging on at the end. The way he maneuver's the message throughout the show, but you never understand till the very end. You definitely have to watch the whole thing to understand the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BARGAIN, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen Misery and love it, so wanted to keep a copy of it to watch it again. This set comes with other best of Stephen King, I am sure I would like them too. Always found his stories are very good reference for rural places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars value, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Graham k (portsmouth ;uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this box set for my daughter who is an avid stephen king reader and she has told that its good to read the book and then see the film, i cant really make to much comment on this box set having not seen any of the films myself only to say that i will buy more for my daughter in the future as she did enjoy them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A*****., 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
Very good A*****. Its always worth watching a movie made from one of his books. It is always well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King., 24 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Hammond "Paul" (Wolverhampton,West Midlands,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
Stephen King as always been good with most of the books turned into films,This one is actually good,Three film,s in the boxset,Nice design of the box it come,s with for the dvd,s,Worth the price you pay for the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very nice boxset, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my teenage son who is just getting into stephen king.i'm watching them again too,taking me back to my teen years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King Collector's Set, 8 Feb 2013
By 
D. S. Sloman "DVD" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] (DVD)
I buy this dvd collector's foe a friend for xams because she like stephen kings books & the dvds too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD]
Stephen King Collector's Set [DVD] by Brian de Palma (DVD - 2006)
13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews