Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok at best, but not the worst
first off, i'm a trekker, so trek games always excite me when i hear a new one is coming out. this game had a lot of hype, so i expected something huge when i first put the disc into my console.

now, the pc version has been slammed pretty hard, thats why i opted for the console version, it sounded like the safer option, since i had a terrible let down for the...
Published on 27 Dec 2006 by Ck Rautenbach

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all of two weeks
Having missed out on any incarnations of Starfleet Academy in the past or Bridge Commander on the PC, i saw sequences from this game on youtube and thought, 'wow, every ship under the sun, all looking gorgeous, in a space combat sim! i must have it!'

Having bought it i then ignored the campaign and tried my hand at the skirmish game which i did fairly well...
Published on 18 Feb 2007 by T. West


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ok at best, but not the worst, 27 Dec 2006
By 
Ck Rautenbach "Old school gamer" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
first off, i'm a trekker, so trek games always excite me when i hear a new one is coming out. this game had a lot of hype, so i expected something huge when i first put the disc into my console.

now, the pc version has been slammed pretty hard, thats why i opted for the console version, it sounded like the safer option, since i had a terrible let down for the PS2 Encounters game ( i have a review about how bad it was, if anyone is interested) and couldn't handle two bad trek games in one week.

this game is the best console trek game i have played ever. yes, i know it has a few flaws, but overall, i'm impressed. the graphics are good, the sound fx are authentic and i like the voice overs of the captains.

the downside is that the camera IS very tricky to get used to, like the previous reviewer mentioned. all it takes is practice though.

also, the ships do handle a bit sluggish, but come on people, these are starships 500+ meters in length. huge things should FEEL huge, no? this isn't shuttle craft wars after all.

i can understand why the PC guys feel cheated. without a good pad, this game will be unplayable it think. the joysticks are essential.

overall, though, i like this, and since there are hordes of FPS games out there and on the horizon, this game is a nice refreshing alternative. besides, if you really think this game is complicated, try Starfleet Acadamy on the pc. now THAT is a tough game to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun for all of two weeks, 18 Feb 2007
By 
T. West (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having missed out on any incarnations of Starfleet Academy in the past or Bridge Commander on the PC, i saw sequences from this game on youtube and thought, 'wow, every ship under the sun, all looking gorgeous, in a space combat sim! i must have it!'

Having bought it i then ignored the campaign and tried my hand at the skirmish game which i did fairly well with, considering the manual was barely consulted. The one glaring omission when setting up a death match was not being able to customize the enemy fleet, although you can be tricky and limit the command points available to purchase ships with.

As nonplussed with this as i was, I eventually started a campaign which is quite good fun and will keep you interested longer than the death matches, which are one player.

The multiplayer online option has potential for lots of fun, although finding someone else with the game seems to be a problem.

Overall, anyone with a liking for the Star Trek universe will see this as a harmless diversion, but not likely to entertain for as long as it could've done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars there were Klingons on my starboard bow..., 5 Jan 2007
By 
P. Thompson "Czech Fan" (Clanfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm not a 'Trekkie' in any sense of the word so I am free from bias. I do however enjoy a good space battle and this game delivers just that: good old phaser/photon fun. The graphics vary from quite good to decidedly average (eg the planets do not look 'next gen') and the controls are tricky. Criticism has been levelled at the ships' control in that they are sluggish but I think they mimic the way they turn and move in the films / tv programmes. More like a Napoleonic frigate than a X-wing fighter.

It does get tense when you are apportioning power to your shields and trying to repair your ship whilst evading your enemies. All in all a simple but fun affair which features over 60 different ships! However those wanting instant gratification might be disappointed as persistence is required to get the most out of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent graphics, takes some skill though., 21 Dec 2006
By 
Stephen Salt "saltski" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I didn't give this game the full 5 stars becuase there is one thing I find really difficult, the control of the star ships is tricky. Being set in space you are able to move in 3 dimension, this makes it difficult when trying to target an enemy ship (and there are a lot of them), I also only found out after a while of going from full stop to full impulse that you could select speeds inbetween allowing the ship to me more manouverable. Its fun to go to warp though and see all the stars fly by.

The graphics are incredible, the ships themselves are highly detailed, especially the effect of the shields, the stars and planets move how you would expect, though I have not seen any signs that they move in orbit. All the sounds seem authentic to the TV shows, the voices of the captains are provided by the actors themselves adding a greater level of realism.

This game is a must for anyone who like Star Trek or Sci-Fi in general (being the only sci-fi game currently available) most watchers of star trek have dreamed of being the captain of the enterprise, and now you can, through three generations!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charging all power to phasers captain!, 8 April 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I myself am not a trekkie, i used to watch the shows when i was younger (voyager being my favourite)but when that had finished didn't really care for the new Series. But when i heard that this was coming out on 360 it brought back all my childhood dreams of taken on the borg in voyager. So anyway back to the game,it is very very awesome. flying all your favourite ships from all the shows and more. When they said that it has 60 ships they weren't kidding, although you may like myself find that you will play as the federation during skirmish. Graphically it isn't as next next-gen as other games out and i think that the xbox would have been able to handle this, but it still looks very authentic. It has all the voices from the captains are in here, although the first captain in the campaign sounds like his just reading the lines of the script, not really putting any drama into it, but still spot on. As for the SFX these don't dissapoint with the sound of your engines coming online or powering up the phasers and of cause warpping, although there is a problem, i'm not sure if it was just my copy or all of them but theres a gilch where when you are in a dogfight and the enemy ship is destroyed or if you warp away as it's doing then the phaser sound keeps on going on one ship until it fires again.

I haven't really played the campaign that much but from what i've played it seems alright but not really a challange for the average gamer. as for the skirmish this is very cool. The best moment i've had was when i first played it i didn't really know what i was doing so i started moving towards a nebula and as i was moving i saw a cube shapped object come towards me out of the nebula.

So what do i give it:

GRAPHIC: 8.5/10 not really next-gen but still impressive.

SOUND: 8.0/10 got every spot on although the sound proble and the

archer voice drops it

LIFE-SPAN: 8.9/10 I can see myself playing this for a while

GAME-PLAY: 8.1/10 The controls take some getting used to and after each

skirmish/multiplayer match you have to change all the

settings again which gets annoying

CLOSING COMMENT: if you wanted to always fly the ships seen in the show

then this is a game deffo for you, but i would buy it

cheap. If they also made the maps bigger and had more

players in the skirmish/multiplayer then this game may

have doninated xbox Live.

FINAL SCORE:8.7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked, 30 July 2013
By 
Steve Cotton (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I spent my first couple of hours with Star Trek Legacy shouting, swearing, and throwing my shoes through the television; it's really tough to get to grips with at first. But once I did work it out, it quickly became one of the best games I've ever played. Not to say it's perfect. There's a lot of repetitive dialogue, mission objectives are often vague and you can fail missions thanks to a simple lack of clear information, and the gameplay can become dull after a while. The main story is about as interesting as shopping for compost, and while all the lead actors lend their voices to their respective characters, they deliver their lines with the same kind of vigour most people would reserve for looking at cardboard. During one of the lengthy cutscenes full of utterly dispassionate voice acting, I began to fear I was slipping into some kind of artificially induced coma. By the time the level actually started, I had been rendered a dribbling vegetable and had forgotten my name, how to go to the toilet, and all the controls. Which meant I had to learn them again. Which was annoying. Thankfully you can skip the cutscenes, so you don't necessarily have to have your brain dribble from your ears if you don't want.

But forget all that. Learn the controls, ignore the story behind the campaign, and you actually have a pretty good game. There's plenty of action to get stuck into, but also an element of strategy. The multiplayer mode is where the game shines best. Computer-controlled bots are available (a good thing since, let's be honest, there are more people living in your lavatory than there will ever be playing this online), and there are tons of starships to choose from allowing you to kit out your fleet however you like, though the game can be too easy if you go all big-gun. Choosing a balanced force, or giving yourself perhaps a small disadvantage, makes the game more challenging and makes you think about how you approach a fight before you engage. There is also a wave-based survival mode included in the multiplayer, but this isn't very good so I didn't bother with it again after a while.

So yeah, good game. Requires some perseverance thanks to the controls, but definitely worthy of three or four stars. Bring some hard alcohol to alleviate the boredom of the cutscenes (or you could just skip them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been more, but still fun for a while, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Andrew Driscoll (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a big Star Trek fan, so picking this up recently for next to nothing seemed like a great idea, I'd played it briefly before and while it didn't amaze me, there was promise there.

The game spans the three major eras in Star Trek fiction, Enterprise, The Original Series and The Next Generation (covering DS9 and Voyager) and allows you to control the famous ships from the series including the NX Enterprise, TOS Enterprise, Stargazer newer Enterprise craft and more.

The voice acting is good particularly from the 5 captains (Bakula, Shatner, Stewart, Brooks and Mulgrew) who reprise their roles well, with Shatner sounding particularly good as a slightly down and up against it Kirk! The rest of the voices is all ok, not wow, but more than adequate for random characters giving updates.

The game itself is quite slow and deliberate, it gives the impression it's all about tactics, although many of the admittedly samey missions can be done using the same kind of approach. A downside is on longer missions (30+ mins on occasion) there is no checkpoints so if you fail, you start again, which can be demoralising at times.

The control isn't perfect, the camera will sometimes do its own thing and the AI of the ships isn't always great. For the most part they do what you tell them too, but there are times where it can become frustrating and you have to swap ships to double check they are anywhere nearby!

Graphically the game looks a little old, but everything seems ok and is recognisable. Ships blowing up look unusual and planets etc don't seem quite to scale, but it's a game and it doesn't impact on how it plays at all.

Fans of Star Trek will enjoy the ship models, the space combat game play and the voice acting. The storyline, well it feels a bit contrived, but it keeps you interested enough to keep on going through the game.

Overall, for fans of Trek, who want to play a game based on the franchise, go for it. For the casual player... maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Legacy.., 17 Feb 2010
By 
R. Marcello "Tuttotondo" (Palermo, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Funny, but just a little difficult... It's not so simple command a battleship: phaser, engine, shields... At TV it's all more simple ;-) But great game! If you love Star Trek you must get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're Off Course, Captain!, 14 Jan 2007
By 
Lee Cartwright "Lee Cartwright" (Mansfield, Notts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok, first I will start by saying this game is perfectly playable, but you will only probably ever do it once. Except for the wide variety of authentic Star Trek ships and the voice overs from the real actors playing the captains (Stewart, Shatner, Mulgrew, Brooks and Bakula) it doesn't feel like Trek at all, and if those elements were taken out it wouldn't be a game that really held interest for anybody.

Graphically the game is sound, but the gameplay takes you through 15 relatively uninteresting missions in a federation campaign starting from Archer's Era and ending up in the Next generation era, but there is no chance to play in a romulan, klingon or borg campaign which means that three quarters of the ships in the game can't really be used by the player except in multi-player mode where all you really do is shoot till the other guy blows up or work together fighting waves of increasingly harder bad guys till you or they blow up. Pretty much the same as in the single player campaign, not very interesting! You can repair damage and transfer energy to shields, weapons or engines, but it doesn't make much difference to the gameplay and feels like it's included just to give you something to do.

As another reviewer says you have to set the preferences for your multiplayer matches each time you play and you can't select the enemy's fleet, only your own meaning you can't play..for example Scout ship v scout ship because the computer automatically picks the highest powered ships it can.

Sound is good except why couldn't they have used actual star trek music rather than some unknown orchestral score, would the licence to borrow it have been that expensive?

In my opinion Star Trek is about the characters, not the ships and concentrating on the ships leaves for some pretty bland gameplay (excepting of course Star Trek Armada 1 & 2 which have good, very solid plots which make all the difference.) If you want to play a game that 'feels' Trek, try the old classics - Star Trek 25th Anniversary, Star Trek : Judgment Rites, Star Trek TNG: Final Unity and Deep Space Nine: The Fallen (personal fave). Older games with poorer sound and graphics but all about the characters with bags more gameplay!!

Give this a go, but try renting it or borrowing it rather than buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only Good In Parts, 27 Dec 2006
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game should really be a bargain basement game. Although the ships are graphically rich and detailed. The good elements are the ships, the AI and the presence of original actors voiceovers. However that is it. The game joins the well worn trend of trek games that dont quite get there. The game play is somewhat pedestrian going through a storyline of all generations involving a vulcan scientist where you face waves of Romulan attackers - often 50 plus at a time.

The problems first start with the fact you only have one game save file and no in-mission save or checkpoint system. This means you can get 99% through a mission and fail. Given a mission can take up to an hour it is tedious repeating the same bits time and time again. Poor design.

Then there is the question of scale. Planets are small in comparison to ships even when you are practically walking on them. Worse still is space itself - not at all vast in each map. All the maps seem to have huge colourful nebulae.

The collision algorithm needs some work. If you crash into an ship you simply bounce off taking no damage. Repair controls are fiddly at best - as is the fleet (4 ships) command mode. When you take damage the graphic representation is poor and out of proportion to the damage indicator. The cinematic sequences dont always gel with play and look unfinshed.

If you want a quick battle there is skirmish mode. No option to save preferences or set-up classic conflicts like Kirk versus Khan in Star Trek II. Instead a limited set of options that have to be set each time.

Multi-user is at the heart of the Xbox 360. It's a shame it disappoints in this game. No option to preset you fleet choices with saved configurations. Only two simple options of Deathmatch or Co-op. The co-op mode is simply defending against wave after wave of AI attackers. No options to develop custom scenarios or extra maps. All in all not playing to one of the Xbox strengths as a console.

So if you want to pay above the odds for an average shoot-em game and you are Star Trek fan then this is for you. Otherwise I would wait until it reaches tescos 9.99 bargin bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360)
Star Trek: Legacy (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)
44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews