Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It really isnt that bad at all!!!! I loved it!
I don't see what all the negative comments are for. I bought a brand new pc, bought Star Trek legacy, downloaded the upto date patch from the Bertha website and it's fine!

I couldn't put the game down and thought the story line was really cool. Having every captains voice in the game rocked!.

The asteroid level was BY FAR the hardest with the rubbish...
Published on 8 Aug. 2007 by Steveamaniac

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by basic problems...
Legacy has the makings of a very decent game, it looks good, runs reasonably well, and can be fun to play. The problem is that its let down by a few very irritating problems.

Issuing orders to your fleet is near impossible and very limited. You cant order a ship to guard a target, transport etc or to act as an escourt. There is an overall 2D command map which...
Published on 28 Jan. 2007 by J. Goulbourn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by basic problems..., 28 Jan. 2007
By 
J. Goulbourn "Goulby1805" (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Legacy has the makings of a very decent game, it looks good, runs reasonably well, and can be fun to play. The problem is that its let down by a few very irritating problems.

Issuing orders to your fleet is near impossible and very limited. You cant order a ship to guard a target, transport etc or to act as an escourt. There is an overall 2D command map which should make it easier to track ur ships especially if u have to divide your forces but its impossible to use - its just rubbish!! u cant even plot a simple course accurately because the interface is so sluggish - its one of the worst things ive ever experienced in a game. By the time you manage to get one of your ships heading in the right 'general' direction the threat is gone and the missions lost, its extremely frustrating.

The targeting system is also terrible, if your trying to engage multiple targets its impossible to easily switch to the nearest threat and sometimes the system wont even let u fire!

You cant crash into anything! it looks terrible - two ships just rub one another and arkwardly move aside. rubbish.

You have no control over alert status, so no changing between green, yellow and red alert. A little thing but still missing. It needs some serious patches to bring it up to standard, and i still cant understand how such a game can be released, how can it be called finished?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lock Phasers on Bethesda Mr Sulu....., 9 Jan. 2007
By 
J. Reed "landj" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Bethesda have really disappointed with what could and should have been a very good Star Trek game. All 5 captains, nice graphics reasonable plots make for a potentially great game, but absolutely terrible controls - and this statement just cannot sum up how terrible the controls are - ruin this game and you end up wanting to throw the mouse at the screen in pure desperation at being unable to make your mouse not shoot from one side of the screen to the other every time your pulse beats. On top of this is the mission where you have to use your tactical subsytems to target an enemies engine, but surprise surprise, despite the manual telling you how to do this, the readme on the dvd tells you this feature was taken out of the game! A few of the other poor points - you bounce off other objects with no damage, your fleet have the intelligence of a tribble and need constant orders, your crew sit around and let the ship fall apart unless you tell them to repair something, and you cannot save the game mid mission.

Perhaps when the game has been patched further (this review is including patch 1.1) the game will be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money for Nothing, 3 Jun. 2007
By 
Mark R. Bannister (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It is unfortunate that once a brand enters the public consciousness, people will spend money on it because they think they know what to expect. Star Trek was always about making the best television on low budgets, programmes that stretched the technologies of their time to produce great visuals and sound effects that accompanied well-written human stories, that made an intelligent use of science. This is the vision Gene Roddenberry had for the Star Trek series.

Star Trek Legacy has fallen at almost every hurdle, ironically failing to meet the standards set by the legacy it is referring to in its title.

I was very excited when I heard about the release of this game, and had high expectations having seen screenshots and read pre-reviews, and that all five captains had been involved. Surely with today's technologies they've come up with something stunning, something amazing, I thought. How wrong I was.

The game looks good through the opening titles and menus, and the music is fantastic, but it's all downhill from here. An attempt has been made to make each mission feel like an episode of the television series, so it opens with some space shots and the episode title, and has the captain of the era recording his log. Unfortunately the storylines are lame, providing little impetus to actually complete the mission, and the dialogues do not befit the stature of the captains speaking them - Shatner and Stewart in particular have more authority and intelligence than the dialogues permit them to portray. However, it was terrific to hear Shatner again, his voice adds so much emotional power to a story, even when it is poorly written. He should have been better served.

The in-game graphics are not as good as the screenshots the manufacturer has published, which look like they've been touched up by an artist. Ships do not move around gracefully or beautifully through space, they bounce around like lego bricks in a skating rink. The "damage modelling" feature is highly over-rated, and as commander of the fleet, you as the gamer seem to be the only intelligent individual of the bunch. The number of times I've given an order for a particular ship to do something pretty basic, and it doesn't follow orders, or demonstrates a complete lack of intelligence unworthy of a Starfleet captain or crew, is worrying. If this is the standard of new recruits we're seeing through Starfleet these days, we might as well hand in our keys to the Romulans now, and be done with it.

Missions in Legacy ranged from overly simple and easy to complete, to frustratingly difficult. Not difficult in the sense of requiring skill, tactics or intelligence to complete; but difficult because the controls are annoying, ships don't follow orders, and you're expected to keep a watchful eye on too many things simultaneously for the mission to be any fun. And there is rarely time, in the heat of a mission, to appreciate what few graphically stunning moments might exist in the otherwise sparsity of the quadrant.

The frustration in Legacy often originates from the fact that the gamer knows what he or she is supposed to do to complete the mission, and "in real life" it would be a relatively easy task, but this game does not enable the player to perform his role successfully, and provides the gamer with very little satisfaction or reward.

Perhaps this is the most fundamental problem with Legacy, that it is confused as to the role of the player, a commander who somehow needs to dictate every move to four ships, and keep a close hand in four simultaneous battles, is just too tall an order for the control interface, and the gamer, to handle. As commander of the fleet, one should be able to rely on the intelligence of individual captains, and give more general high-level orders. Alternatively, as a captain, to take orders from a commander and execute them well, focusing only on a single ship. But to be a commander, and four captains, simultaneously, is just four stretches too far.

This is a very disappointing release, that should not have earned the label "Star Trek". I do not think that The Great Bird would have approved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars star trek legacy, 19 Jan. 2007
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Well what can you say about this? The ships, the graphics look like the ships in STAR TREK ARMADA ,i would have thought they would of taken a lot more time with this title considering there hasn't been any real star trek games out to tax the pc for some time.

The asteroid section was appalling and frustrating to control and the missions far less taxing than they could of been. I don't know about any one else but i was kind of hoping to get some more one on one with borg,romulon,kligon ships that would have been more accurate to the star trek universe. I'm sorry but the borg cube can take more damage from more than 4 star ships a whole armada yes but 4 no.

The game just looks like they run out of money while making it. It's poor and to say it was eagerly awaited by a lot of people. I'm glad I bought it on here and didn't pay full rrp like others have i completed this game in less than 3 days and I'm glad I've stil got my other star trek games to play.

To sum it all up the controls are poor the graphics althought seem pretty accurate could have been alot better,if you like star trek games just to look round the ships in battle then buy it if not avoid like the plague
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surelly you lot can do better?, 23 April 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
While I admit I'm not a die hard startrek fan I did like the sounds of this game who doesnt? just one tip dont buy it while it still cost more than £15 its not worth it, Bad graphics sluggish and occasionally unresponsive commands, (this is despite the fact I have a top range Pc) it really not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hollow, 18 Jan. 2007
By 
I. Jarvis "Jarvo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game goes where many others avoid. For example;

- Be amazed as ships 'crash' into each other whilst suffering no damage at all!

- Who needs strategies and tactics involving combat, when the real strategy can be to master the frustrating and useless controls!

- Enjoy endless minutes of boredom playing skirmish matches. Play one and you'll have played them all!

- Laugh at the cheap videos involving rushed artwork

- Find out the origins of the borg in a slightly sickening 'warp' of star trek history

This game apparently lured all 5 actors who played the captains in the shows at great expense, seeing as the game development itself seems cheap and half finished. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Omega Directive State's avoid at all costs......, 18 Jan. 2007
By 
Leon Armitage (Wimborne, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Like every other avid Trek fan i was so looking forward to this game

thinking this time they are bound to get it right! Wrong it is not even

a patch on the old Star Fleet Command games, well i thought even if the one player games not up to much at least there will be the on-line multiplayer experiance thinking back to the many hours of joy playing Star fleet Command 3 the comarades you made teaming up! Wrong again there is no Dynaverse like the SFC games just some crud were 4 can go head to head via game spy? Controls are a knightmare to master even a Four armed Morphadon could not manage the amount of key presses required. Guess i will just have to wait for Star Trek Online and live in hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SHAMEFULL, OVERPRICED, INFURIATING TOSH!!!, 3 April 2007
By 
F. Chambers (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I've never written a reveiw but this 'game' is so bad I felt compelled to. The only thing worse than the interface,gameplay and non existent tatics are the 'hints' which might as well be written in Ferengi. I'm not suprised the instruction booklet is so short, they would've been better off writting a 20 page appology. (In fact it is a badly masked marketing ploy designed to force you to buy the guide.)

Even the most hardened Trekkie would be hard pressed to enjoy this 'game'.

[...]! Only a moron could ruin a potentually monumental franchise with this Drivel.

Spend your money on Baijoran Pasties instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor at best, 12 Dec. 2006
By 
Dave (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Having played the full version of the game, i can say that the gameplay is stale, boring and without lastability. The game tries to combine elements of a arcade flight sim with the feel of a RTS but fails feeble.

The storyline is excellent boosted by the presence of all the original voice actor, and the story itself is enjoyable, but the gameplay is terrible, there are no tactics, no subtle tweaks of ships, it almost verges on point and click at some points. The skirmish mode lasts all of a minute and online play is the one saving grace, but after a while this only serves to fustrate you further.

The graphics are good on the ships, but overall the graphics are poor. The high system requirements comes from the fact that the PC version is a port of the 360 version and emulation requires high processing power inparticular.

Overall only buy this game if you are the most ardent trekkie fan, but please play ST Bridge Commander first as it is infintely better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It really isnt that bad at all!!!! I loved it!, 8 Aug. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I don't see what all the negative comments are for. I bought a brand new pc, bought Star Trek legacy, downloaded the upto date patch from the Bertha website and it's fine!

I couldn't put the game down and thought the story line was really cool. Having every captains voice in the game rocked!.

The asteroid level was BY FAR the hardest with the rubbish Star Gazer but the end levels with the Borg and the Enterprise E feat Voyager, rocked!!

I reccomend to anyone who isnt too serious about games!

Chill out more guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD)
Star Trek: Legacy (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows XP)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews