Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Aren't The Voyages...
STAR TREK: ENCOUNTERS is not your traditional Star Trek adventure: instead of exploring strange new worlds, you destroy them; instead of seeking out new life, you kill it; you boldly go into battle with the famous enemies of the franchise instead of where no one has gone before.

Which is hardly a bad thing when the gameplay is so much fun. Episode Missions, of...
Published on 3 Dec 2006 by Glenn Scully

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Game Created With No Player In Mind
We've been long overdue an easy to use Trek combat game, especially on the PS2, one that offers us familiar ships rather than inexplicable tiny fighters, for example. So now you can easily replicate the Khan duel, Wolf 359, and so on, right?

Wrong. For a start, the gameplay runs chronologically through the show's franchises, with everything but the first locked...
Published on 28 Dec 2006 by Ian Atkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Game Created With No Player In Mind, 28 Dec 2006
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
We've been long overdue an easy to use Trek combat game, especially on the PS2, one that offers us familiar ships rather than inexplicable tiny fighters, for example. So now you can easily replicate the Khan duel, Wolf 359, and so on, right?

Wrong. For a start, the gameplay runs chronologically through the show's franchises, with everything but the first locked out. So forget buying this if you've got friends coming over that night for some head-to-head battles. Forget putting the USS Voyager through a battle ten minutes after powering up. Instead, prepare yourself for uninvolving chasing around Xindi space, all the more frustrating for a) not being the franchise anyone wants to play, and b) having poor gameplay so that you spend tedious missions chasing warp trails, or tractor beaming crippled ships around.

This just doesn't seem to have had any thought put into it. The manual couldn't be more cursory if it tried (what's the point of the HUD, for a start?), the multi-player modes are a joke (frequently your ship goes off the screen and you can't see who's aiming or firing at it - and then you die), and as mentioned in other reviews, the dumb "up, down, middle" planes are no substitute for 3D, and make navigation a nightmare at times.

There's also the Curse of the Cut Scene (didn't we get rid of this five years ago?) where the re-trying of a mission can only be done after sequences you have to sit through and can't click your way out. When you've had your Vulcan transport killed for the 10th time, and have to sit through a video about the diplomatic mission, you just want to put the controller through the screen. And a lack of save in between missions is ridiculous: again, it feels like a game from the dawn of time.

Once again, Trek fans are basically fobbed off with something half-baked and ill thought out. Mind you, they're probably getting used to that by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Aren't The Voyages..., 3 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
STAR TREK: ENCOUNTERS is not your traditional Star Trek adventure: instead of exploring strange new worlds, you destroy them; instead of seeking out new life, you kill it; you boldly go into battle with the famous enemies of the franchise instead of where no one has gone before.

Which is hardly a bad thing when the gameplay is so much fun. Episode Missions, of which there are twenty-one spread out across the five generations of the television show, take between ten to twenty minutes of your time and are introduced by William "The Shat" Shatner: you don't really have to pay attention, mind, since each mission ignores Star Trek continuity and does things never thought possible (like open a temporal rift and have all five captains fight a Borg/Romulan/Klingon/Xindi/Dominion Invasion Force over Earth, circa 2006), even within the confines of one of the most outrageous-thinking science fiction dramas. Each starship you control, and there are over twenty in total, comes with handy 360-Degree phaser targetting controlled with the right Analogue Stick. R1 and R2 are in charge of firing phasers/photon torpedoes and locking on to your multiple adversaries. This setup will take some time getting used to, but once you've gotten your eye in, you'll be melting the hull of Borg Cubes within no time.

Generally, you'll be destroying the waves of enemy vessels in your sector, although there are a few course changes into other types of gameplay: stealth (using nebula clouds and cloaking devices), "warp gate" races and locate/retrieve missions break up all the various kinds of death. Move over to the multiplayer mini-games, however, and you've got non-stop action. Head-to-Head battles against a friend, or co-operative Onslaught mode with you teaming up against waves of Xindi, Klingons and Cardassians, etc, offer countless hours of entertainment and plenty of replay value, no matter how quickly you power through the Episode Missions. Throw in unlockable extras, a Starship Viewer for inspecting your latest unlocked craft and Character Cards that help upgrade ship systems while in-flight and there's lots to be done in the final frontier.

The only question is, if you're a Star Trek fan, can you get over the blatant ignorance shown towards the television storylines? Personally, I have, and I'm enjoying STAR TREK: ENCOUNTERS so much because of it. Hopefully you can too. Excuse the cheesy concluding line, but beam up a copy of this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game...., 14 Mar 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
I was initially reluctant to purchase this game after reading some reviews that really slated it but I must admit I was very pleasantly surprised.

Yes, the controls are difficult to get to grips with...but so what? I think games should be a challenge otherwise they are just too easy. It took me about 30mins-1hour to get to grips with controlling the ship, thats not a bad learning curve and it makes sure you have to concentrate on the game to play it properly.

There is an excellent variety of missions in this game with a good selection of ships and races including Federation, Klingon, Jem'Hadar, Kazon, Xindi, Romulan and my personal favourite the Borg!

My only criticism is that every time you mess up a mission you have to sit through the cutscene videos. There is no way to skip them which can get very frustrating after you've had to sit through them 110 times but other than that I think its a good game.

Well worth what Amazon are asking for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Encounters [PS2], 21 Nov 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
Graphics and Sound Effects on this game are pretty good but the part of the game of making your way through a number of star Gates is annoying youhave to pass a numberof them which isn@t to bad but then later you have to go through a large number and there is a time limit, and this is frustrating when you get fed up with it and just want to put the game away and forget about it ,dont be put off by this ,on thewhole a pretty good game especially if your a start Star Trek fan.
it needs patience which I am lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek Encounters, 14 Dec 2006
By 
S. J. Sharp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
It is a good game with some excellent6 graphics when the ships blow up they blow up like the ones in the series. The ships are difficult to control especially when you have to alter your height to get through a gate if you have a disability I recommend trying a joystick otherwise it could get frustrating. This is probably the most difficult part of the game as destroying ships for the most part is easy if you are blowing up asteroids you can use torpedoes but as the torpedoes are rather slow I recommend using phasers when taking on ships as they will more often than not hit the target you are aiming at if I were to give a quick description of this game it is like a flight sim game with starships rather than planes but it is great fun if you are a trekkie like myself that loves all 5 series and enjoy flight simulator games I think you will appreciate the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the patient fans... but I enjoy it., 11 Mar 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (York, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
It's good to see this game polarises opinions.

To sum up my review below, the good points are that the graphics and music suit the game well. The missions are varied. The various warships you get your hands on feel different.

The bad points are that the game doesn't have a "skip through" various cut scenes, the control system is difficult to master and some missions are repetitive. Yes, this can be annoying... but it also provides you with the opportunity to take a sip of tea between wiping Klingons off your bow.

In simple terms, in Encounters you have sub games. The first is Skirmish, whereby you command a star ship of one kind or another and you use this to blow other ships. During the Storyline aspect, again you command a star ship and again you blow other ships up but this time whilst completing a variety of missions.

As other reviews have said, you get your hands on a variety of ships from the NX-01 Enterprise to Voyager and a few inbetween. The ships carry a variety of weapons such as Phasers, Torpedoes, Mines and similar. You may also use your tractor beam to pull (or push) other ships along and you're able to use the transporter, which is required for some missions and handy in others. Need more torpedoes? Beam some onboard.

Gameplay varies from periods where you don't seem to be doing much besides searching for Warp Trails to engaging half a dozen Klingon warships, dodging mines and skipping into nebula clouds to evade the enemy.

The control system has come under fire. I take the view that, yes, you do sometimes need four hands to do all that you want to do, but you're commanding a Starship - something that ordinarily takes a lot of crew members. With practice one is able to move that way and shoot this way. Or you can manoeuvre your Starship around mines whilst independently targeting a pursuing enemy warship. This is part of the challenge of Encounters: master the controls, the primary and secondary weapon systems and the energy allocation of the ship.

The graphics and sound work well with the game. The ships have some nice detailing and there's no deceleration even when you do have half of the Borg fleet hunting you down. The music has a Star Trek feeling about it and it doesn't get too repetitive. Sound effects are limited to the noises of stuff being shot, stuff being hit and best of all, something blowing up. I'd put the graphics down as "adding to the atmosphere" rather than being exceptional or for that matter, poor.

Energy allocation is another feature of the game. This merely means you can vary where the power goes, from your engines to sensors, or from weapons to shields. Some players will probably never fiddle with these settings other than during the training mission. Other players like myself seem to constantly reconfigure these settings depending on if I'm playing a "tactical withdrawal" from the enemy (i.e. I have half the Klingon fleet chasing me and I'm running away) or if I'm trying to be sneaky by hiding. Anybody spot the trend of avoiding conflict unless I have no choice? Or unless I have an advantage of some sorts.

What kind of player will like this game? First up it helps if you're a fan of Star Trek simply because you can put the game in context.

Secondly, the storyline game isn't a simply "if it moves, shoot it" type. Players will need patience for this one. There's more satisfaction from being sneaky and sometimes a full frontal assault just gets you bogged down in the enemy ships. You need to learn the best techniques and tactics to use depending on whatever ship you're using.

In summary, because of the time needed to understand the control system this isn't a game that you can pick up and immediately start blowing stuff up with any conviction. It takes some time to master... but this is part of the appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST STAR TREK GAME ON PS2, 24 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. T. Evans "Tombo The Great" (Worthing, near brighton, in the UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
I got this game the week it came out for 18, granted i had trade in value and might not have brought it if i didnt.

However i am so glad i did.

Im not really into spaceship shoot-em-ups on the PS2 as the graphics can look a little tacky. However i had seen some screenshots on amazon. THANKYOU AMAZON! and decided to give it a try...

That evening i took out my Fifa 2007 (also brilliant) game and decided to Star Trek a bash.

After 10 mins i was stuck at the end of level one, wanting to rip my hair out because i couldnt get the controls right. In the end, i lost my patience and temper and dropped the controller on the ground and contemplated putting the game on ebay before the price dropped too much.

Anywho... 3 days later, it was chucking it down outside and i had a kidney infection, so feeling rotten and wanting to get out of my bedroom as it were i was in the mood for Trek again as i had just watched some season 2 of Enterprise... Fracking brilliant if you ask me!!

I put the game on, sat back and tried out the vs level in the hope i could get the controls sorted and after 30 mins it felt more and more suited and any thoughts of me getting rid of the game were long gone.

Anyway about the game:

- The graphics are suprisingly good for the ps2

- You get to take control of the Enterprise NX01, USS Enterprise (refit), Klingon Battlecruiser, USS Enterprise D, USS Enterprise E, USS Defiant, USS Voyager and the Federation Station Deep Space Nine of all things in a big Dominion War Style battle!!

I would highly recomend this game to any Trek fan or even someone who likes space battle games...

My main piece of advice for this game is, be patient like me and give it a chance... Ignore the people who gave ratings of 1 and 2 out of 5 as they probably just didnt have the patience to try to get the game worked out. The people who gave the game 3 out of 5, fair enough it just probably wasnt there thing. But this game doesnt deserve anything less than 3 out of 5... Trust me, i am a Trekkie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, clumsy and frustrating, 18 Dec 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
Having seen the other reviews on here I felt compelled to give this game the kicking it deserves. This is a cheap, poorly designed game which is far too expensive even at this knock-down price (it sells for just $15 in the States, well under 10 - why so much more here?). The big, game-ruining problem is the perspective - despite being set in infinite space, the game isn't even true 3-D, and instead has a confusing and awful-to-control height system. Basically, there's 'default' height and you press 'L1' and 'L2' to move to a higher or lower plane. There's in between level, just the extremes of top, middle and bottom, and you have to keep the corresponding button pressed to stay in your lower or higher position. Not only is this massively frustrating to control but it's hugely constricting and makes simple manouevring - let alone combat - a painstaking, fury-inducing trial. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most Trek titles, 31 Dec 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes I'll agree that the control system takes some getting used to but after a while, the game isn't actually that bad at all.

I quite enjoy the graphics and especially the sense of excitement when in combat during the missions. Some of the earlier campaigns are painfully laborious, such as scanning for warp signature trails. But when the action begins, there's nothing more exhilerating that targetting your enemy vessel's shields, crippling their engines with photon torpedoes and using your phasers to obliterate them in a matter of seconds.

My advice is to never stop moving, always twist and turn to avoid enemy fire.

Granted, I've only been playing for a few hours but already I'm liking what I'm seeing.

Good points - Relatively easy to pick up, smart graphics, exciting combat, in-depth chapter-driven missions from Starship NX-01 from 'Enterprise' right through to 'Star Trek Voyager'. Fun multiplayer option, especially when more ships are unlocked from Single Player Mission.

Bad points - Poor sound and music, some missions take far too long and becoming repetitive very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best Trek game covering all the series, 12 Sep 2008
By 
D. Philpot (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) (Video Game)
I had a few reservations about this game before I bought it, wondering if it was anything like Armada. But as soon as I got it, it became all my brother and I played (although on multiplayer he'd usually be the one staying alive for longer). This game is terrific: you can use the major ships from all five series, there is a diverse range of aliens (although I haven't seen the Gorn...), and the idea for multiplayer having both (or all three or four) ships on one screen instead of being split into as many pieces as there are players is a welcome relief. I'd highly recommend this game to all Trekkies who enjoy ship shoot-em-ups. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: Encounters (PS2)
Star Trek: Encounters (PS2) by Ubisoft (PlayStation2)
4.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews