Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 November 2007
This original soundtrack ranks among the best by French composer Desplat, and certainly among the best of such genre, the Schindler's List included.
The music as well as the performance were superb. Too sad that the sound engineer passed away shortly after this track was being completed.
While Chinese pianist Lang Lang is not known primarily for playing French repertoire, his interpretation of Desplat's score and the Satie piece are totally in sync with the style.
Especially enchanting are the predominantly watery images employed in the music.
It would have been perfect if the French song was being included, as well as the Chinese opera excerpt.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
This is a beautiful sound track. Lang Lang plays piano and it is lovely. My only disappointment was that the song the children sing in the orphanage was not on it, "A La Claire Fountaine". The album is light and flows well, although some may find it 'samey'. If you enjoyed the film and the soundtrack, its worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
A beautiful soundtrack to a beautiful film. It has both piano performance by Lang Lang, one of the leading pianists of the young generation, and orchestral arrangements to set the mood. I enjoy listening to it both to relax and to be inspired. Highly recommend it even to the lovers of the classical music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2009
After listening to this motion picture soundtrack, I was disappointed that the children's chanson, "Jamais je ne t'oublierai," sung at the end of the film, was not included. Nevertheless, the CD compensates for this lack with other delights, including Lang Lang's lilting interpretation of Satie's "Gnossienne #1" and Mr. Desplat's haunting "River Waltz" which not only complements Satie's composition but also evokes the ephemeral mood of this memorable film so beautifully.

Well worth having in one's CD library.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Admittedly I only bought it for the Ylang Ylang tracks as they are just amazing but the rest is worth a listen I think though really it's only for anyone that has seen the film so you can relate to the tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2008
Basically, if you enjoyed The Painted Veil, then the soundtrack is definitely something you should buy. I'm not generally interested in film sountracks, as they're often pretty bland, but The Painted Veil is definitely an exception. It captures the romance, death, passion, and bleakness of the film.

The best tracks are (in my opinion) River Waltz, Kitty's Theme and The Painted Veil.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2007
This is a masterpiece. The music haunted me through the film, especially Gnossience no1. This is a proper sound track that speaks through the movie and delights on it's own.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
Beautiful collection of melodies and very well played too. The satie track is slightly too staccato for my taste but never really irritating. A must-buy for anyone who has seen this film, which is also excellent. Only four stars because the recording level is so low. Rip it off to MP3 and you'll have trouble hearing it. I have some upscaling software which has solved this problem for me but most people won't know what that is or how to use it so beware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 February 2011
Desplat masterfully blends the minimalist aesthetic and lush romanticism to create a beautfully rich musical soundscape. Aching with yearning and throbbing musical passion, this is film scoring of the highest order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Love Alexandre Desplats filmmusic, he is able to bring the tight mood, particularly in this movie.
The music is so beautifull,
A must have!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.