Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An understated gem of a record, 30 Jan 2007
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
While I'm a huge SFA fan, I've had a sneeking sense of them losing their focus of their last album or two. Somehow they've become to sound less vital. With that in mind, this solo effort from Gruff has come as an unexpected delight. It's sweet and intricate with delicious arrangement from Sean O'Hagan. But most of all, it sounds fresh as a daisy and boasts some robust song writing from a man at the top of his game. If there were any justice, this record would sell by the shedload. As it is, at the very least you need to do the guy a favour and let this into your life. Hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How to put right your bands mistakes on a solo album, 6 Dec 2007
By 
JDB11 (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
This, Gruff Rhys's second solo album, contains much of what makes the Super Furries so great. Like many other reviewers on here I have been slightly disappointed with the last two albums by SFA, as they same to be drifting more into the world of the beach boys, and moving away from the youthful, rocky edge that made their earlier albums so enjoyable.

This effort from Gruff Rhys, whilst retaining the laid back attitude of those most recent SFA albums somehow manages to achieve what those failed to do. Whilst Love Kraft in particular seemed to be unimaginative and even slightly bland (by the bands on very, very high standards) this work sounds as if it is at the forefront of pop music endeavor, like those early Super Furry Animals releases.

The particular killer track on here is the epic Skylon that goes on forever without boring you, or sounding repetitive, even though it probably is. Gyrru Gyrru Gyrru is catchy and bright and in spirit could belong on the classic Radiator. The title track is delightfully light and gentle, but with a hint of edge.

This album is streets ahead of Gruff Rhys's debut Yr Atal Genhedlaeth which was quite frankly a difficult listen even if you were quite into Welsh language stuff. My only real disappointment regarding this piece is that Gruff promised to be the first solo act to 'break up' after that release, which was obviously not true. But, if you can handle being lied to by your heroes then this album is worth a go. It may well not be to the taste of someone whose favourite Super Furries album was Fuzzy logic, but to those who appreciated the efforts of the band on Love Kraft and Hey Venus, but felt that they hadn't quite achieved what they set out to, this album will definitely be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic acoustic album, 26 April 2007
By 
Ben Perkins "giantbob" (huddersfield, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
I saw Gruff live in Hebden Bridge and found the show utterly amazing. I didn't realise until I saw him live but Candylion is a folk album. The support act was 9 Bach, and Lisa Jen from 9 Bach sings the female vocals on the album and sang onstage with Gruff for most of the night. Beautiful songs, amuzing and poetic lyrics and very skilful guitar playing. Every song is a hit. By the way the welsh song gyrru means 'driving'. The last song Skylion is an epic song with so much going on in the lyrics, every day i have a different favourite song, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Toothed Carnivore, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
When this album was initially released back in 2006, I was not that overly impressed, but with Neon Neons new album on its way (2013), I always like to re-acquaint myself with the artists back-catalogue.
So listening back to "Canylion", it's turned into a great little record, full of tuneful surreal Indie/Folk/Rock songs.
You get the classic "Cycle of Violence" & the 14:36 minute epic "Skylon!" (Every album should finish with a 14-minute song).
So an outstanding record, & considerable stronger than the last couple of SFA's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure genius, 11 Dec 2006
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
The world needs to wake up to Gruff Rhys and Super Furry Animals.

This album along with all their previous work is pure genius.

One the the best song writers in the world today and no one is taking notice. Unbelievable!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Successful second outing, 19 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. T. D. Jones "Ercwlff" (Aberystwyth, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
I would recommend this CD to anyone, no matter what your taste. Every song is highly accessible, and a perfect introduction to music in the welsh language if you haven't come across any before. Particular favourites are "gyrru gyrru gyrru" and "lonesome words".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Candyloin review, 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
Gruff Rhys front man for Super Furry Animals, has been a busy man, not only has he been working on a follow up to 2005's Love Kraft, he was also working on his second solo album "Candylion".

His first solo release was sang in entirely in welsh, on "Candylion", Gruff sticks primarily to English, though he dose sneak in a song a Welsh and another song in Spanish.

This album is not a collection of songs that were not deemed good enough to fit on a Super Furry Animals record, this is a completely stand alone record.

This album is a remarkably minimal recording, featuring some laid backtracks, that for the most part are really solid sun kissed pop.

The second half of this album, the songs start to become a samey sludge, to be rescued by closing track, the lo-fi epic track "Skylon" which tells the story of a mid air high jacking.

Beginning with passengers boarding and ends with the press conference in the aftermath of the hijacking, this song is Rhys has ever written, it never lets up for the 14 minuets running length.

Whist the second of half of this record, dose begin to sound extremely similar by the second half of this record, but the first half works extremely well, in particular the lead single Candyloin, is a definite stand out, highlight, worth your time and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Of 2007 Already, 18 Dec 2006
By 
Ice Hockey Hair (Kingdom Of Candy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
Fantastic, corking second solo album from Gruff. Great songs, sung in English, Welsh and Spanish, especially the 14-minute epic closer, Skylon! which recounts an eventful plane flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this the new SFA???, 27 Aug 2007
This review is from: Candylion (Audio CD)
I just listened to "Hey Venus" by SFA and wrote a review of that album here on Amazon. Apparantly, many people did not like my review of "Hey Venus" for whatever reason, most likely because the review was not favorable. What these people don't understand is that the newer SFA material just isn't as good as the old stuff. Why not??? BECAUSE ALL THE GOOD MATERIAL IS RIGHT HERE, ON THIS DISC, "CANDYLION"!!!

This solo release by Gruff Ryhs would have been a 5-star album, had it not been for the last track on this disc which is like 14 minutes long. It could have been 5 minutes long, that would have been plenty. the track is called Skylon and it gets too repetetive and boring after the first 5 minutes. Maybe this song would be a number 1 hit in the year 6745, but in 2007 with my litte unevolved human nothing of a brain, it's too advanced for me.
All in all, including the last track, this is a very inventive release, with everything from jazzy-folk to pretty pop to sesame street harmonica melodies(The Court of King Arthur). This is really a brilliant release.

The Super Furry Animals material is becoming more accessible to mainstream audiences, and less enjoyable. The new Gruff Rhys material is less accessible to mainstream audiences, and much more enjoyable, much more experimental, and just basically....BETTER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Candylion
Candylion by Harold Budd (Audio CD - 2007)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews