Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version
I,m not going to review the film itself,I think everyone knows the "storyline",if your looking for sheer entertainment,this is it,definitely up there with the Die Hard films,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is very good, for a film from the 80,s,sharp and clear,BUT,my criticism of this blu-ray version has nothing to do with the transfer,it has to do with the version...
Published on 8 April 2009 by mr david cairns

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Melvoius Watching
I purchased this to replace the VHS, love watching Mel Gibson and Danny Glover. Would recommend to all every one
Published 14 months ago by Hele558


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray version, 8 April 2009
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I,m not going to review the film itself,I think everyone knows the "storyline",if your looking for sheer entertainment,this is it,definitely up there with the Die Hard films,IMO.
The blu-ray transfer is very good, for a film from the 80,s,sharp and clear,BUT,my criticism of this blu-ray version has nothing to do with the transfer,it has to do with the version itself.
WHY is the Director,s Cut available on standard dvd,but not on blu-ray????
I think we all recognise the blu-ray format as the BEST for Home Cinema,so why release the theatrical version on blu-ray when the Director,s Cut is available??????
I realise I,m probably nitpicking here,but I,m thinking,Lethal Weapon Director,s Cut coming soon to blu-ray,more of our "bucks" to be had????
If not having the extended version doesn,t bother you too much,then this blu-ray is a very good quality transfer,imo.
Davy,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Oct. 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
lethal weapon is a 1987 cop buddy movie that blended in the over zealous blood kill that incorporated the 80s in the action movie genre,mel gibson and danny glover play riggs and murtaugh,two cops who come from different backgrounds,lead very different lives and treat their sense of living differently as gibson is more gung ho who has a death wish since his wife was killed due to him being a cop,glover is a family man,getting on in age who prides himself on playing it safe.

The two cops have to learn to work with eack other,like each other amd then respect each other all the while fighting evil and trying to uncover a murder plot,the film is witty and intense and violent and thats what we love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let's get the flock outta here...., 16 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Roger Murtaugh is a family man and veteran police officer trying to make it through the day unscathed.

Martin Riggs is a suicidal loose cannon cop who doesn't care if he even lives to see the end of the day.

Reluctantly thrown together to solve the mysterious murder of a banker's daughter, the duo uncovers a dangerous ring of drug smugglers employing ex-military mercenaries.

After a tragic turn of events, the mission becomes personal and the pair must learn to trust one another as they wage a two-man war against a deadly criminal organisation......

Its one of the most defining films of the eighties, one of the most defining action movies of all time, it catapulted Gibson into super-stardom, and along with Die Hard (the greatest film ever made) is the most copied action movie ever. And its plain to see why.

It's endlessly quotable, still fresh after 27 years, and is expertly produced by Joel Silver.

But despite the wonderful set pieces, the awesome pyrotechnics and Gibsons ability to outrun a car even though he chain smokes, the best thing about this beauty is the script and the story by Shane Black.

It's such an easy high concept thriller, that the story doesn't really matter, I mean its about drugs, which most eighties action films were about. Ask people about the story, and they will tell you the narrative.

Because the story doesn't matter.

Black has made the characters so down to earth and so familiar, that you bond with Mutaugh, and feel huge empathy with Riggs, and this is in the first half hour, and once you bond with the two, the rest flows as freely as water from a tap.

Its groundbreaking stuff, the second sequel complimented this,the other two, well it was good to catch up with the gang.

Among one of the greatest action movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ACTION MOVIES DON'T GET MUCH BETTER THAN THIS!, 27 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
REVIEWED VERSION: 2001 Warner Bros. Director's Cut UK DVD

Director: Richard Donner

Cast: Mel Gibson, Danny Glover, Tom Atkins, Gary Busey, Mitchell Ryan, Darlene Love, Traci Wolfe, Jackie Swanson, Joan Severance

SYNOPSIS

Roger Murtaugh (Danny Glover), a veteran cop with the LAPD is forced to team up with suicidal Martin Riggs (Mel Gibson). They share a mutual dislike for each other but must have each other's back when they take on big drug smuggling operation...

THE PROS & CONS

LETHAL WEAPON is without a doubt the best buddy movie ever made and one of the best films made in the 80s, along with its first sequel. Even after 27 years this action-thriller has lost none of its appeal.
I strongly recommend the far superior Director's Cut which runs approx. 7 minutes longer and adds more depth to the characters (especially Gibson's). The scene where Riggs takes on a sniper is a must see. THE DIRECTOR'S CUT IS ONLY AVAILABLE ON DVD - *NOT* ON BLU-RAY!
Brilliant characters that make a perfect match, the mourning suicidal Riggs and the over cautious, 100 % by the book Murtaugh.
Gibson and Glover make the movie. BRILLIANT acting by both actors, brilliant chemistry, there couldn't have been a more perfect match. Few actors are convincing as suicidal and depressed characters but Gibson nailed the role. Glover makes a fine action star, which he proved again in PREDATOR 2. Fine performances by veteran actor Tom Atkins and Gary Busey as Mr. Joshua.
Richard Donner is a great director and he displays his talent here: LETHAL WEAPON is a brilliant example of how an action film is supposed to look! Suspenseful thrills, brutal action, great deep characters and a captivating story is more than we usually get.
Excellent story by Shane Black, who also wrote the story to LETHAL WEAPON 2 and THE LAST BOY SCOUT.
LETHAL WEAPON is a must-own!

ON A SIDE NOTE

- released in 1987 it held the No. 1 box office spot for 3 weeks and grossed $120.2 million worldwide

- spawned 3 sequels

- film debut of Joan Severance

- Franco Zeffirelli offered Mel Gibson the role of Hamlet after seeing his suicide contemplation scene in this film

- both Glover's and Gibson's characters were considerably older than they were in real life: Riggs was supposed to be 38, but Gibson was only 30 and Murtaugh was supposed to be 50 but Glover was only 40.

DVD DETAILS

Feature running time: 112:17 mins. (uncut Director's Cut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC) (rerated 2010. Theatrical Cut)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 / 16:9
Audio: English 5.1, French 5.1, Italian 5.1
Subtitles: English, English HoH, French, Italian, Bulgarian, Spanish (Castellano), German, Dutch, Portuguese, Romanian, Italian HoH, arabic
Extras: Cast and Crew (text displaying which actor plays which role, same as end credits)
Region: 2, 4 / PAL (locked)

Picture quality: 3/5
Audio quality: 3/5
Extras: 0/5

Warner missed an opportunity with the release of the Director's cut: the same mediocre video and audio quality as the previous release, but the major disappointment is the total absense of extras. There is a one "page" text on the cast & crew, which gives no information on the actors but just tells us which actor played which character - kind of like the end credits. Wow. Couldn't have done without that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'GIBSON' - 'GLOVER' - 'ELECTRIC', 21 Nov. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray][Region Free] (Blu-ray)
'Roger Murtagh' (Danny Glover) is a happily married man living with his wife 'Trish' (Darlene Love)
and children, he's beginning to feel his age as he's just turned 'Fifty'
'Martin Riggs' (Mel Gibson) lives in a run-down mobile home by the beach, he's experienced tragedy
losing his wife, he now lives alone, well, with his dog.
The LAPD who he is employed by consider him a suicide risk, he takes unnecessary risks out on the
street that normal cops wouldn't take.
'Martin' is transferred and is teamed up with 'Roger' being partner to 'Martin' is certainly going to be an
experience for the veteran-cop.
The two's first task is to talk a 'Jumper' out of actually going through with it.......could say the sequence
sets the tone for much of what's to come.
Still the first day they try to arrest a drug-dealer ending up with a shooting and a dip in the dealers pool,
all in a days work.
'Roger' takes his new partner to his home for a meal and a bit of bonding.........before 'Martin' leaves he
says to 'Roger' ''You don't trust me do you'' to which 'Roger' reply's ''Tell you what, if we get through
tomorrow without killing someone, then i'll trust you''
The case they are about to embark upon see's them try to close down a high-profile Drug-Baron and his
team of thugs.
Things get tough for 'Roger' along the way as his daughter 'Rianne' (Traci Wolfe) has been taken hostage
by group they are investigating...........
What a great team-up this was, pure genius, the chemistry between them is pure electric.
The film contains bucket-loads of superb action sequences often tinged with a measure of humour the two
bring to the screen.......certainly worth a re-visit or indeed a first viewing.
The Blu-ray upgrade is really very good.
A terrific beginning to the series.
Special Features -
* Commentary by director Richard Donner
* Theatrical Trailer
* Honeymoon Suite
* Lethal Weapon music video
* Additional Scenes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We got the edge Cochise., 30 Aug. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Close to retirement, Detective Sergeant Roger Murtaugh is a bit disturbed to find he's breaking in a new partner. Even more so when it turns out to be fellow Detective Martin Riggs, who since the death of his wife has scant regard for life, his own or those around him.

Light on plot and character development, Lethal Weapon none the less shines bright as a beacon of how a buddy buddy film should be done. Roughly an hour and forty five minutes of quips, action, villainy, heroics and cross generational/cultural divides. All what else is needed is a star duo with buoyant chemistry, and Richard Donner's movie has it by the clip load. Mel Gibson is Riggs, trigger happy loony on the ragged edge, wonderfully playing off Danny Glover's "too old for this nonsense" sage old copper. Gary Busey's "psycho's are us" henchman flits in and out the picture with gleeful impact, and Shane Black's script crackles as the stunt work starts to take a hold.

It's a winning formula that the box office punters lapped up. Three sequels, all of which are of differing quality, would follow. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kick ass fun, 9 Jun. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched Lethal Weapon 3 today, after buying the trilogy (I haven't seen 4, and I only buy movies I remember seeing and liking). It's still as good and funny as I remembered it; the other two movies are, too. There's just something so right in the chemistry between Murtaugh (Danny Glover) and Riggs (Mel Gibson). I don't think any other actors could have pulled it off. You genuinely care for both of them. Danny Glover's infectious laugh and Gibson's endless one-liners never fail to make me giggle. What's so great is these movies often go from laugh-out-loud funny, to tear jerkingly serious, in a matter of moments. They keep you rivetted to the spot, cheering them on as they fight to right injustice and "get the bad guys". And when they do, you feel real exhileration and want to punch the air very much like Riggs does (like in Lethal Weapon 2 when he brings that whole house collapsing down the hill, killing the bad guys within!) Some would say this is just cliched, painting with numbers movie-making. Maybe it is, but it just works! Even now, decades on, Lethal Weapon 1, 2 3 still hold up well as all-action, no-holds-barred, funny kick-ass flicks. The only thing I don't get is, Lethal Weapon 1 and 2 are 18 cert, with strong language and violence; Lethal Weapon 3 is 15, even though it has strong language (numerous "melon farmer" references, if you know what I mean) and general cussing as well as the obligatory gun violence. Why the lower certification?

Anyway, if you're knew to this series, just buy Lethal Weapon first to decide. But they're all well worth it, in my opinion. Well, at least 1,2 3 are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80`s action!, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
It wasn`t the first buddy cop film but it`s certainly one of the best. I just bought the dvd box set which features the directors cut editions. Only watched this one so far, i had not seen it in over a decade and boy does it stand up well. Along with Die Hard the best action of the 80`s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dont make em like they used to..., 14 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly one of those 80's action flicks that go with so many other infamous titles, all containing-lethal weapon included-many famous one liners that have been overused in every comedy known to man over the years. Classic 80's performances that people may call great, and although the acting is decent and mel and glover give much suited performances, all 80's acting isnt really that great, but you really do have to love it, along with all the greatness of 80's fashion.

Much deserved cult action movie with enough action and well paced laughs to keep you entertained throughoutm

they really dont make this kind of action movie anymore-with this kind of charm to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st and the best!, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lethal Weapon [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Action packed as always with Mel Gibson, Good supporting roles from Danny Glover, Gary Busey and Mitchell Ryan, who is normally associated with Clint Eastwood movies. Magnum Force, High Plains Drifter etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Lethal Weapon [Blu-ray][Region Free] by Richard Donner (Blu-ray - 2006)
£4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews