Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk classic
This second album from the punk legends was not universally acclaimed when it appeared in 1979, as their debut was so devastating and unsettling. The introduction, Poppy Day (lyrics from a poem by John McCrae) sets the gothic tone for Join Hands, extending the boundaries of The Banshees' unique punk strain. The album does prove that slow, melodic songs can be equally...
Published on 26 April 2007 by Pieter Uys

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Siouxsie
I was never a fan of S&TB in the early years, being rather anti-punk at the time. In fact I was a bit of a hippy/prog rock purist or 'Boring old fart' as they used to say then,at the ripe old age of 19. However I eventually got into this band in the 80's,by first listening to mid-period albums such as Hyeana and Kiss in the Dreamhouse. More recently I had started to work...
Published 17 months ago by Zomby Woof


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk classic, 26 April 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
This second album from the punk legends was not universally acclaimed when it appeared in 1979, as their debut was so devastating and unsettling. The introduction, Poppy Day (lyrics from a poem by John McCrae) sets the gothic tone for Join Hands, extending the boundaries of The Banshees' unique punk strain. The album does prove that slow, melodic songs can be equally effective in evoking a sense of menace and unease.

Playground Twist is classic early Siouxsie, but it gets even better on Mother/Oh Mein Papa, a successful experiment where the juxtaposed words of the lullaby medley create a sinister feel by the eerie buildup of the music. Other songs like Regal Zone and Placebo Effect are more reminiscent of the debut album, with blistering guitar and Siouxsie's piercing vocals. Icon and Premature Burial are quite dark and melancholy, probably serving as inspiration for later Goth bands like Bauhaus.

The original album ended in a cacophonic bang with The Lord's Prayer medley which includes phrases of O Claire de la Lune/Mon Ami Pierrot, the chilling Tomorrow Belongs To Me (from the movie Cabaret) and sundry other sources. This re-release includes two new tracks, of which the classic Love In A Void is by far the best. Join Hands is more varied than their debut album and a worthy follow-up, and definitely one of their more underrated works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated. Awesome!, 7 Oct 2009
By 
Robert Mellor (New york USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
Still an awesome album after all these years. They were on their own at the time and still are. Siouxsie's unique forthright vocals and the almost tribal, hypnotic drumming of Kenny Morris are perfectly complemented by the, quite eastern sounding at times, edgy guitar of John McKay, and of course all held together by the only of the Banshees (apart from Siouxsie) who was present to the end, Steve Severin on Bass. This was very underrated when it was released but I think a lot of these tunes (Regal Zone, Placebo Effect, Premature Burial, Playground Twist,and my favourite, Icon especially) still sound fantastic and completely different to anything else before it and pretty much anything since. This release also has the added bonus tracks(the classic) Love In A Void, and the previously unreleased (but not that interesting)Infantry. It's a treat to listen to. Some may have a bit of difficulty with the 14 min version of The Lord's Prayer and maybe the first track Poppy Zone but if you've never heard it before and you like your music with a bit of an edge you'll probably enjoy it, and if you do like it check out the first album The Scream , one of the best early('ish) punk albums released and still one of the best albums ever made in my humble ('ish) opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT EARLY SIOUXIE !!!, 29 May 2007
By 
JUAN MARTIN GABASTOU (Weston Hills, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Join Hands (Jpn) (Audio CD)
Sophomore effort for this excellent after-punk band. More sombre and goth-tinged than their debut, The Scream, yet retaining a lot of its punk edge, this record sounds less cohesive and more ¨jammed¨ than their first. Massive tribal drumming and experimental sounds and a highly hypnotic atmosphere will capture your attention for the whole of the 42'+. This jap edition features 2 songs culled from singles as bonus tracks. Get the remastered version for top notch sound, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, powerful and exhausting, 14 July 2011
By 
Crookedmouth ":-/" (As seen on iPlayer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
This was the Banshee's second album, released in 1979 and featuring the original (well, more or less) cast of players.

It is, for me, a painfully nostalgic journey. I was a little to young to be influenced by the earliest years of the punk movement but I caught up as best I could in the late 70's/early 80's and Playground Twist is a track that recalls so many meomories from my teen years.

But I digress.

This is not by any means a commercial or even accessible album (a charge that could almost equally be levelled at The Scream, their first album). McKay's harsh screeching guitar work is fingernails down a blackboard (he manages much the same effect with his sax work - quite an accomplishment) and Kenny Morris and Steve Severin churn out a simple, rythmic drum and bass line to keep it moving along at a slow, jerky and inexorable pace. Over all of this are Siouxsie's shrill, robotic vocals.

Stand-out tracks? It's hard to choose any in such a strange album, but Icons has to be deserving of special mention, switching unexpectedly from a restrained but apocalyptic church chant to a faster moving diatribe. There's Playgorund Twist, of course, which charted at number 28 with its sinister, almost perverted take on childhood nursery rhymes (what must my parents have thought!). I have to say though, that The Lord's Prayer is still the one that literally sends shivers down my spine. Fourteen minutes or more of loosely structured jamming around the prayer? Doesn't sound promising does it? but the raw power that drips from every squeek, screech, gasp and scream as Siouxsie sings in tongues is truly something to hear. Played live, this must have been something really special.

It's not an archetypal punk album but it is so undeniably "of the era" that it should be and if I could go back in time and attend one music concert, 1979 and the Banshees would probably be it.

"Those words hang like vicious spittle, dribbling from that tongue. Close your eyes to your lies, force feed more pious meat."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic punk album now enhanced, 22 Jun 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This 2nd album from the punk legends was not universally acclaimed when it appeared in 1979. The short intro Poppy Day (lyrics from a poem by John McCrae) sets the gothic tone for Join Hands, extending the boundaries of The Banshees' unique punk strain. Here they prove that slow, melodic songs can be equally effective in evoking a sense of menace.

Playground Twist is classic early Siouxsie, but it gets even better on Mother/Oh Mein Papa, a successful experiment where the juxtaposed words of the lullaby medley create a sinister feel by the eerie buildup of the music. Other songs like Regal Zone and Placebo Effect are more reminiscent of the debut album, with powerful guitar and Siouxsie's piercing vocals. Icon and Premature Burial are quite dark and gothic and probably served as inspiration for later Goth bans like Bauhaus.

The original album ended in a cacophonic bang with The Lord's Prayer medley which includes phrases of O Claire de la Lune/Mon Ami Pierrot, the chilling Tomorrow Belongs To Me (from the movie Cabaret) and sundry other sources. This re-release includes two new tracks, of which the classic Love In A Void is by far the best. Join Hands is more varied than their debut album The Scream, therefore a worthy follow-up, and perhaps one of their more underrated works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 30 Sep 2008
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this album.It often gets mentioned as one of the banshees weakest but I have to disagree.
The album has such a bleak,cold,clanging atmosphere it perfectly suits the cover art with the soldiers on a stark white background.At the time many of the punk bands were peddling disposable three minute scruffy pop songs about why the girl next door didn't fancy them,which now just fade into the tapestry of time whereas this pounding icy creature still sounds like the remnants of a post 2nd world war bombed city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 31 May 2006
I got this today (day after release), and have to write a review instantly. I've had this album on Gatefold vinyl forever, but haven't been able to listen due to a broken record player.

I am reunited finally with Join Hands. It's a game of two halves, but the sheer strength of side one - ICON, PLACEBO EFFECT, REGAL ZONE especially - sound brilliant to me for the first time on remastered CD. Clean and yet still edgy. It sounds as though it was recorded in claustrophobic conditions with Siouxsie's voice edgy and distressed. Side two is less satisfying - the overly long and by then outmoded Lord's Prayer, and experimental Mother are less satisfying listening, but Playground Twist rules.

The strength of the whole thing overrides any weaknesses - giving many of today's pretenders a run for their money and foreshadowing 'goth' albums to come - No 'Join Hands', no 'Heaven Up Here', 'Garlands', 'Pornography', and so forth. I do prefer it to the Scream for the sheer consistency of the sound - the birth of Severin's throbbing base.

So amazing to have this - they've done a great job on the packaging too - very reminiscent of the original.

Can't wait for the next batch of reissues - including a two disc Juju next year as well as the current reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brought back some memories, 28 July 2013
By 
Chris (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
I guess if you buy this you know what you are getting - remembered more tracks that I was expecting. Memories at a very small price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Siouxsie, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
I was never a fan of S&TB in the early years, being rather anti-punk at the time. In fact I was a bit of a hippy/prog rock purist or 'Boring old fart' as they used to say then,at the ripe old age of 19. However I eventually got into this band in the 80's,by first listening to mid-period albums such as Hyeana and Kiss in the Dreamhouse. More recently I had started to work my way back through the early albums and found them to be a bit of a mixed bag. There are a few good tracks on here such as Icon and Playground Twist, but The Lords Prayer, which I am told was an intrinsic part of their live act at the time, is a little difficult to stomach at around 15 minutes long and I tend to skip this one when playing the album. My lady friend loves it as despite being in her 50's she still has goth/punk blood running through her veins! Still i'm not complaining because from my point of view even just one good track on an album makes it worth buying, not like in the old days when albums were relatively expensive. I am sure that die-hard S&TB fans would rate this as a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One Mile Behind!, 7 Jun 2012
This review is from: Join Hands (Audio CD)
For their debut album, the Banshees had a very tight, almost professional sound to their records while still managing to maintain the spontaniety and power of the punk aesthetic. On this album however, they seem to strip all of that away, returning to the primitive punk sound they began with. The problem with that is that the amaturish, fragmented punk sound lends itself to singles and EP's rather than albums and so Join Hands suffers because of this.

Now that doesn't mean that there aren't any noteworthy songs on the album, because there are some tracks here that rank as Banshee classics. Icon for example, is a stunningly powerful work and perhaps the centrepiece of the album. Also is the onslaught of Playground Twist, another wonderful Banshee single with Siouxsie's voice powerful as ever and the Banshees exploding behind her.

However the album is marred by several other tracks. 'Premature Burial' is an overlong durge of a track that grates after a few listens; 'Mother,' is pure novelty and kind of clichéd with it's music box accompanyment. Poppy Day has a nice intro, but doesn't go anywhere and the worst offender, 'The Lord's Prayer' is an extremely difficult listen. Important though it is for the history of the band, it really doesn't come off well and the band sound very amaturish and juvinile, not at all like they did on the Debut.

The reamining tracks, being 'Regal Zone' and 'Placebo Effect' are not bad, particularly the latter and this version does contain a Banshee Classic 'Love in a Void.' Unfortunately it also contains a dud track, 'Infantry' and why they chose to include it here I cannot fathom.

This might have made a better debut for the Banshees, because the album would have shown some promise. Unfortunately, being their sophmore album it shows a slump, most likely because of tensions at the time, but still the band had proven themselves worthy of more than this. I would recommened this only to those familiar with the Banshees work and interested in either completing their collection, or just exploring the lesser rated albums. But if you are looking for an underrated masterpiece, you won't find it here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Join Hands
Join Hands by Siouxsie & The Banshees (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews