Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great remastered early whitesnake album
saints and sinners's one of the most successful and rocker album from the early years of whitesnake. it has original "here i go again" and "crying in the rain".

this remastered edition has a clear sound. it has also very interesting bonus tracks. it is a great pleasure to hear rough mix of "saints and sinners". also an unfinished ( there's no vocals on this...
Published on 21 Jun 2007 by saksari

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a couple of Saints,plenty of Sinners!
This disc has the misfortune to languish between 2 classic albums namely 'Come And Get 'and 'Slide It In',it also suffers from the fact the band was fragmenting at the time of its recording,with Marsden,Paice and Murray all replaced once it was released.

Its not a bad album but its best described as solid if unspectacular,the majority of the tracks repeat what...
Published on 20 July 2010 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great remastered early whitesnake album, 21 Jun 2007
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
saints and sinners's one of the most successful and rocker album from the early years of whitesnake. it has original "here i go again" and "crying in the rain".

this remastered edition has a clear sound. it has also very interesting bonus tracks. it is a great pleasure to hear rough mix of "saints and sinners". also an unfinished ( there's no vocals on this track ) song "soul surviver" has a great hard rock rhythm.

cd comes with a 20 page booklet which includes a short coverdale interview, rare photos from that era and song lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a couple of Saints,plenty of Sinners!, 20 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
This disc has the misfortune to languish between 2 classic albums namely 'Come And Get 'and 'Slide It In',it also suffers from the fact the band was fragmenting at the time of its recording,with Marsden,Paice and Murray all replaced once it was released.

Its not a bad album but its best described as solid if unspectacular,the majority of the tracks repeat what has went before,tracks such as 'Young Blood','Rough n Ready' & Bloody Luxury' simply rehashing ideas from earlier discs ,while the likes of 'Love And Affection,Dancing Girls' are just plain average.

That being said three tracks stand out and 2 went on to become all time classics,namely 'Cryin In The Rain' featuring some superlative guitar playing while the original and BEST version of 'Here I Go Again' finds Coverdale pulling out an incredible vocal,that scream still sends a shiver down the spine,finally the title track,one of what i refer to as Snake's lost gems,a full on rocker which could have been Mark III Purple in their prime,an overlooked track.

The remaster has a decent sound,to these ears,the three bonus tracks sadly are poor, two outakes and an unfinished track 'Soul Survivor',not hard to see why it wasnt finished.Not an essential purchase by any stretch of the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
Whitesnakes' best album I believe, this album cheered me up when I was in hospital in the 80s, all the songs are winners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. S. J. LOW "New Luthier" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
Bought the vinyl disk a lifetime ago, but haven't had a record player for at least a decade, and I'd forgotten how much a part of my youth this album was. Awsome. It's on my CD and MP3 player now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
a classic from the time . Even my 7 year old son likes this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Kove this CD., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
I Would recommend this CD to a Friend.Saints and Sinners,Womserful Listening, Headbanging Music. Love it Love It Love It.Love.it.
Wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
Underrated album at the time, remember being critical myself at the time as was disappointed after Ready and Willin' & Come and Get It, while David C's white leg warmers were defo not rock 'n' roll!. Haven't listened to my vinyl copy for years as a result. Have been replacing my old LP's with CD's for several years now - sorry MP3 lovers - nothing beats the real mccoy with sleeve notes/lyrics etc so remasters are an excellent addition - have just got round to replacing Saints and Sinners & Lovehunter. What a surprise listening to 'S & S' now! All 'Snake fans know off the candy coated big hair rehashes of Here I Go Again & Crying In The Rain, but listening to the stripped down blues rock versions again are a joy! Anyone unfamiliar wIth Whitesnake pre Slide it In/1987 show go out & buy everything that came before, including Northwinds & DC's Whitesnake. I 'Wish You Well'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beginning of the change, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
this album was released and recorded during a turbulent period for the band and most of the members were replaced and it signifies the beginning of the change from a solid blues rock band to solid sleazy equally good hard rock heavy metal band.

I quite like the sculpture on the front of the album covers it says alot about the band with out really trying, and also again suits the album rather well becuae obviously the angel si the saint and the snake is the sinner and the devil, it maybe slightly cheesey without anyone really clicking on.

Young blood: EXcellent opener on the album and everything seems a little bit more in your face on the album if I may be so bold as to say it sounds more American the production is very different to the other earlier albums, it is more crystal clearer in production terms and definatley in your face more. some excellent vocals again from the master.

here I go again the original version is on this album too which although I prefer the 87 version i still quite like its a damned fine song and a damned fine album considering the band had just practically been replaced
Cozy powell does some very excellent drumming, perhaps maybe neil Murray should have stayed as I love his bass guitar work its just fabulous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
Love this product and great service too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 6 Dec 2007
This review is from: Saints and Sinners (Audio CD)
Great performances and good songs but the sound is a bit mushy if compared to the Remasters of Trouble and Love Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saints and Sinners
Saints and Sinners by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews