Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake at their finest
David Coverdale regards this as Whitesnake's finest release and frankly I can't disagree with him.

Moody and Marsden on guitar, Murray on bass and Coverdale's former Deep Purple colleagues Messers Lord and Paice on Keys and drums respectively. And the icing on the cake is Mr Coverdale's sublime bluesy voice.

The songs could only be outstanding. Come...
Published on 16 July 2008 by maz

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars extras?
The original album is excellent, almost as good as my fond memory of the original vinyl copy that's somewhere in a closet.

But the "alternate/rough" mixes added nothing.

Sorry DC.
Published on 30 Mar 2011 by Mr. Brian Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snake at their finest, 16 July 2008
By 
maz "maz" (Kent , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
David Coverdale regards this as Whitesnake's finest release and frankly I can't disagree with him.

Moody and Marsden on guitar, Murray on bass and Coverdale's former Deep Purple colleagues Messers Lord and Paice on Keys and drums respectively. And the icing on the cake is Mr Coverdale's sublime bluesy voice.

The songs could only be outstanding. Come And Get It, Child Of Babylon,the tongue in cheek - Would I Lie To You and the hit and perhaps my favourite Whitesnake song - Don't Break My Heart Again.

British rock at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP DRAWER SNAKE, 20 July 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
The 3rd part of the holy trinity which started with 1980's 'Ready And Willin' and 'Live In The Heart Of The City' albums concluded with this fantastic disc,often cited as early Snakes best album,(i think 'Ready and Willin' just shades it).

By this point the line up had settled and was unchanged for the 3rd release in a row and it showed,this album contains 10 nuggets of commercial hard rock each track 3/4 minutes long,absolute perfection.

Opening with the title track propelled along thunderous drums from Ian Paice with more of the same on 'Hot Stuff' with Jon Lord's keyboards to the fore,the 3rd track in is the classic single 'Dont Break My Heart Again' with a Bernie Marsden solo which still makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up!,we're then treated to a couple of typical Snake' rockers,'Lonely Days,Lonely Nights' & 'Wine Women And Song' two fantastic bar room rockers which have yer feet tappin instantly.

Side 2 of the original vinyl was slighty more adventurous,opening with the rushing wind of 'Child Of Babylon',how this track never became a live staple is beyond me,before the quo like riff of 'Would I Lie To You' heralded another hit single,next up a quick double with 'Hit And Run' and 'Girl' both of which would have graced any Purple Mark 3 disc before closing with a superb acoustic led 'Till The Day I Die',again should have been a live classic,has a Zeppelin feel about it,should be re introduced to the live set immediately.So there you go 10 classic tracks and a fabulous remastered sound.

As for the packaging ,excellent as usual,however for the first time the bonus tracks are average,6 outakes from the album sessions,not that different to what was issued,not essential,nice for completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'snake charmer, 14 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
From a simpler time when rock ruled the airwaves - T.V. on the radio - this superb collection from the classic 'snake line up has been dusted off and shined up for the new millenium with some interesting tho' hardly essential bonus cuts to fill up the disc space. This album is more than a quarter of a century old, and is probably the start of D.C. having one eye on the U.S. The unpolitically correct sentiments expressed within the ever so subtle cover typify the cock rock attitude of Mr. Coverdale and the boys. Don't get me wrong this music is great - the twin attack of Moody and Marsden (the original and best), the solid rhythm section of Murray and Paice, and the majestic keyboard work of Jon Lord, topped off with THE voice. Coverdale at the peak of his game blending blues with rock like no one else, if you don't count Paul Rodgers - another product of the north east scene of the late 60's. On record at least Coverdale's libido was on overdrive - each track a tale of love - lost and found - and lust."Don't Break My Heart Again" hit the top 20. The album peaked at No 2 in the UK. Don't expect any deep and meaningful discussion on life's little mysteries, just a bloke after a shag, hopefully! This gem of a record gave voice to a generation of frustrated youths secret dreams and fantasies. Probably the best forty odd minutes that you could have back in '81, now extended(!) to seventy minutes. This record has lost none of it's smutty charm with it's nudge nudge wink wink innuendo. The soundtrack to a weekend out on the pull, only now the pullers will have beerbellies and bald spots. Rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best they ever made............, 28 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Though there are some doubters out there, this remains their best album. The very best of the rock & blues WS - not beaten by the very different US rocker albums - and has not dated in sound (ignore the lyrics, they still make you smile). The WS classic. Bad to be good replicates the humour and updates it - worth checking out too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Whitesnake album ??, 19 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. R. P. Sharpe (leeds uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This is my most listened to Whitesnake album and probably my fave although its a close run thing with Live in the Heart of the City.
David Coverdales voice is at its best and from the very first song any one into bluesy rock will be hooked.
It has a basic gutteral sound to the whole album and I love Daves occasional mutterings at certain points (track 1 1:13 for example)
This is so much better than ANYTHING Coverdale did after 1983
And possibly the greatest Cock rock line ever "Should I lie to you ? ...just to get in your pants.....I Think so "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My youth revisited, happy days, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Grayzee66 (Colchester, Essex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Whitesnake were the first band I ever saw in concert, Come An' Get It tour, Hammersmith Odeon, Superb. I wanted this release because of the memories it would evoke and needless to say it didn't disappoint, from the opening title track, through the charting "Don't Break My Heart Again", the honky tonk celebration rocker of "Wine Women An' Song", the haunting but emotive "Child Of Babylon" to the album closer "Till The Day I Die" This is British Blues Rock at it's finest, DC's vocals are superb, one of the tightest rhythm sections in Ian Paice and Neil Murray, the dual guitar work of Bernie Marsden and Mickey Moody all overlaid with slabs of Jon Lord's keyboards, truly great. The only disappointment is that the Bonus tracks aren't really worth bothering with unless you are a true 'Snake diehard, apart from maybe "Child Of Babylon", but don't let this put you off buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars extras?, 30 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. Brian Bell "ryanbell18" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
The original album is excellent, almost as good as my fond memory of the original vinyl copy that's somewhere in a closet.

But the "alternate/rough" mixes added nothing.

Sorry DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 8 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
classic album every rock fan should have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best?, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
David Coverdale has written some excellent tracks over the years but this album is an early release and will always remain one of my favourites. The best, I don't know, there is never a perfect selection, just play it and enjoy the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded)
Come An' Get It (Remastered / Expanded) by Whitesnake (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews