Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film with great special effects
Fantastic Four is a film that shouldn't be taken too seriously. It's a good film with amazing special effects and action sequences. The cast is good, particularly Jessica Alba. She's great as Sue Storm. Some scenes and dialogue could have been left out of the film. If you're expecting something like X-Men, you'll be very disappointed.
The DVD set is great too. Plenty...
Published on 24 Mar 2006 by Michael E

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lightweight fun for the undemanding.
I enjoyed this despite its flaw. As a comic book fan, but not Fantastic four devotee, I know a fair amount about the source material. The plot is well insignificant as this is really a character driven origin story, the problem is that the characters aren't that strong. Okay the Fantastic four are fairly iconic, and have never been deep. Reed is a stretchy...
Published on 9 Mar 2006 by genejoke


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film with great special effects, 24 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic Four is a film that shouldn't be taken too seriously. It's a good film with amazing special effects and action sequences. The cast is good, particularly Jessica Alba. She's great as Sue Storm. Some scenes and dialogue could have been left out of the film. If you're expecting something like X-Men, you'll be very disappointed.
The DVD set is great too. Plenty of special features and things to watch. The limited edition packaging is nice too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully the start of a great franchise, 24 July 2006
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
As a fan of the Fantastic Four from the late 1960's I was looking forward to this movie.

With a few minor grumbles I am not disappointed. This is a scene setting movie much like X-Men was, it has to be as there are so many characters to introduce. So many hints to be dropped as to possible future characters.

The new origin of Doctor Doom does work better in this age than his coming unstuck whilst meddling with the black arts. It is far better to have them all suffer from the radiation together and Ben's catching the brunt of it is a better explanation of why his change was so permament.

It also ties Reed Richards up with Doom as the early comic books did with their brief college meeting. I feel the movie characters do tie in well with the way they are portrayed in the comics. Johnny Storm IS a pain in the ass youth with a fast car fixation a part played really well by Chris Evans, Michael Chiklis IS Ben Grimm he wanted this role and you can feel how he empathises with what both Ben and the Thing feel. Reed Richards IS a blinkered brainiac who did not know how Susan Storm felt about him. Sue Storm also started off with just invisibilty and only developed the force field after using one of Reed's machines.

Julian McMahon's Doom may be a little melodramatic but by God it does work. In the comic he rarely took his mask off as he was disfigured, the movie shows Doom developing a metal skin which works just as well, and thanks for using the green cape. From that instant he WAS the comic book Doom. Great to see Doom sailing off to Latveria in the end as you know he will be back, with diplomatic immunity maybe?

I look upon this movie as a pre-cursor to something great with the Silver Surfer having been tentatively announced as appearing in the next movie, with Galactus maybe at the end....?

As a comic fan I would love to see the Sub-Mariner appear as well as the Skrulls and any gathering of the Frightful Four but I'm happy enough with the prospect of Ghost Rider coming early next year as well as Hulk and the Abomination.

The extra documentaries on the second disc are interesting but I will not be watching these too many times, the film itself I will though. For those comic book fans who think it is not true to the spirit I say you are wrong. The characters feel right and having Alicia played by a black actress is a cracking idea as the whole concept of their relationship is that you've got to look beneath the surface, and even better what about the Puppet Master now his step-daughter has appeared.

Good movie, great effects and I want more from the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lightweight fun for the undemanding., 9 Mar 2006
I enjoyed this despite its flaw. As a comic book fan, but not Fantastic four devotee, I know a fair amount about the source material. The plot is well insignificant as this is really a character driven origin story, the problem is that the characters aren't that strong. Okay the Fantastic four are fairly iconic, and have never been deep. Reed is a stretchy scientist who is smarter than everybody else, the human torch is as fiery in personality as his powers are physically. Invisible girl is a sensible head to calm the boys, and the Thing is a troubled monster with a heart. Hardly the deepest templates but talented writers could have made more of them.
The direction is okay, as are the effects.
As for deviations from the source material, Victor von doom. Eastern european mad genius becomes an annoying rich business man. It amazes me that they dumbed down the story from the simple sixties comic book original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 5 Oct 2009
By 
L. Culley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantastic 4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this with great anticipation, having watched the film on DVD which in itself was a good release. The disapointing thing with this was it is just the Cinema release with one audio commentary. With the DVD release it firstly came out with a bundle of extras, and with the second extended version there was no extras. It would have been good if this release had the combination of both DVD issues, which would showcase what Blu-Ray could do. The extended version is a far better film with some great added scenes that give the film better character developement, I hope it is released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good old-fashioned action movie, 14 April 2007
The critics tore "Fantastic Four" apart when it was released,but they missed the point.This is nothing more than a good old-fashioned action movie,and on that level it works wonderfully.It's got a good story,fast-paced direction,solid production values,and terrific special effects.And thanks to great performances,it's also got some depth and humour to the characters. Julian Mcmahon of Nip Tuck and Charmed fame seemed a bit too nice to be the worst Marvel villain Dr Doom; I personally would have preferred the wrestler Kane but I just cant see him playing an intellectual. Jessica Alba,Michael Chiklis,and Ioan Gruffdd are wonderful, and is good.But Chris Evans steals the movie in a rousing and delightful performance,and he's the best thing in the movie.The whole thing is a lot of fun! Watch out for the trailer with him and The SiLver Surfer for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, but could've been better!, 11 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Just like with Mr & Mrs Smith, this film had plenty of action but I was expecting more because the characters felt rushed and out of place despite the big names like Michael Chiklis (Shield), Ioan Gruffudd (King Arthur) Julian McMahon (Nip/Tuck), & Jessica Alba (Dark Angel & Sin City).
I believe that the characters needed more time to develop themselves and establish their roles in the film, mainly it this film it shows how they got their powers and what affected them went the cloud struck in outer space.
Hopefully if a sequel gets released, there will be an opportunity to recap on previous events and let the characters develop more freely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Depth to the Principal Characters, 30 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Steven Ardron "ardr021" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The extended version at 120 minutes is good value if you like drama as well as action. Many of the additional scenes are centred on understanding better each of the main characters, their motivations and reactions to what has happened to them; and how they interact in relationships outside the four. This applies particularly to "Thing" and and the Human Torch. Note that the extra footage includes material that was not included on the two disc edition as deleted scenes.

Th extended version also provides better continuity between scenes, strengthening the overall story telling. Overall, the film is enhanced considerably with the new material and I strongly recommend it if you enjoyed the original. I won't spoil the enjoyment by describing the new elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace Fun!, 28 May 2008
By 
Chester Fan 52 (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fantastic 4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not meant to be an acting masterclass. It is sheer fun and the whole family will enjoy it. For starters the picture in Blu Ray is Phenomenal and I have found myself watching it with friends and family four times to demonstrate the wonders of Blu. Also the storyline and acting aren't nearly as bad as some reviews would tell you. Yes, its predictable but at the end of the day its aimed a kids first and adults second. Both myself and my children throughly enjoyed this film and its sequel and they both come highly recommended to show off Blu Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Fantastic Four" and "Rise Of The Silver Surfer" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Discs..., 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
You will probably notice that most of the reviews are for the 'DVD'. And if you want to upgrade to BLU RAY and live in the UK - there's three options (one to avoid) for "Fantastic Four" and its sequel "Rise Of The Silver Surfer"...

The stand-alone American BLU RAY issues for both films on 20th Century Fox are REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are). There are UK releases too…

But its better to bend for the UK released bundle of both. It's cheap, they look properly amazing on BLU RAY and obviously neither has playback problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Be Warned, 6 May 2010
Be sure which of the 3 versions you want before you part with your cash. This is not the version from the cinema but the american version (so I'm told) - though the missing scenes are on the second disc, and it is not the extented version either.

It's still a great film, just make sure it's the version for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic 4 [Blu-ray]
Fantastic 4 [Blu-ray] by Kevin McNulty (Blu-ray - 2006)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews