Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond - Ultimate Collection
My review of this set will not look at the films individually in-depth, as Bond is very much a marmite thing - people either love it or hate it. I personally find these films very enjoyable. I like the Connery films for their old-school storylines, I like Lazenby's film because although he was a weak Bond, he did star in one of the most emotionally powerful Bond films...
Published on 27 Jan 2007 by John Corbett

versus
1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POOR QUALITY EXTRAS , BUT EXCELLENT FILMS
If anybody has single disc films and is thinking of getting 2 disc editions, than i wouldnt bother as some are faulty and dont play at all. I read other reviews of customers having the same problems, but egnored their advice. I had as a present so i hadnt wasted my own money.
Published on 3 July 2007 by Ms. Joanna K. Rumens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond - Ultimate Collection, 27 Jan 2007
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
My review of this set will not look at the films individually in-depth, as Bond is very much a marmite thing - people either love it or hate it. I personally find these films very enjoyable. I like the Connery films for their old-school storylines, I like Lazenby's film because although he was a weak Bond, he did star in one of the most emotionally powerful Bond films ever (with a knockout, very unconventional ending). I like the Roger Moore films as they were just there for fun, escapist entertainment, and they served that function well. Timothy Dalton brought a harder edge to the side of James Bond and was the closest to a ruthless, cold-blooded assassin until Daniel Craig got into the tuxedo. Pearce Brosnan made some of the best Bond films, aside from of course Die Another Day, which is perhaps a bit too far-fetched for its own good.

Yes, this set is missing Daniel Craig in Casino Royale, but my personal feeling is that this set is complete, given that all of these films are made in a similar way and show the evolution of Bond from one film to another through a number of different actors, but are all respectful of what came before. Casino Royale is an excellent film, but is a completely different, younger Bond, so I consider it to be separate from this collection.

Anyway, what you get in this collection is stunning. I just finished watching Dr No, and I have to say, the visual and audio restoration make it look and sound as though it was made yesterday rather than yesteryear! Special effects aside (which are always going to show a film's age) these films have never looked better. Also, Goldeneye and Tomorrow Never Dies are uncut for the first time in the UK, as certain moments of violence had to be cut for their theatrical releases.

You also get 1 disc of extras for each film, and they are extremely insightful, thorough documentaries, commentaries, trailers, countless deleted scenes and still galleries. Some of these documentaries were made at the time of release for promotional purposes and thus give a wonderful insight to the time of release for some of the older films, and other documentaries take a more retrospective look at the films. It's interesting to look at how the filmmakers viewed a film at the time, and how they view it now.

Also, the packaging for each of the releases is wonderful, but a special mention must go to the packaging for the case as a whole. It's a wonderful, sturdy case with pictures from each of the films in order on the cover. The top flips up to release the individual cases stacked in 4 piles of 5, with straps to assist with removing them easily. All this slips inside a wonderfully minimalistic and stylish silver cover with the 007 logo on the front.

As for comments about this set losing its value because of the release of Casino Royale and future Bond films on DVD, firstly as I mentioned earlier, Casino Royale is seen by myself and many others as separate from the 20 films in here, so to some extent, this set does represent a definitive collection. Secondly, I previously owned all 20 of these films in their single-disc special edition formats (aside from Die Another Day, which was a 2-disc special edition) and was able to get a great price for them on eBay when I heard these Ultimate Editions were coming out. I actually got the same amount of money for the old versions to cover the cost of this new set, so I would say that if you can get the right price for this (some stores are selling it for 99.99) then it won't lose it's value much at all. Buy it, and enjoy it. It's certainly one of the crowning jewels of my DVD library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Bond... James Bond, 2 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, I would just like to point out to the reviewer below that 'Never Say Never Again' is not included in this box set because it is not an official James Bond film and wasn't made by EON. This is why other James Bond films, such as the original 'Casino Royale', are also not included.

Nevertheless, this is a fantastic collection of the Bond films. Although it doesn't have all of the packaging frills of the 'suitcase' Ultimate Editions set, the improved visual and audio quality makes up for it. The numerous documentaries that have been scavenged from somewhere also provide a greater insight into the Bond universe than ever before.

And don't worry about not being able to fit all of the future Bonds into this case. All those who have seen 'Casino Royale' know that they have rebooted the series, so surely it is not completely necessary to mix old and new together.

And, of course, it goes without saying that the Bond films are such flagships of British-ness that we can't possibly pass them by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Name, A Number, A Style, 27 Mar 2007
By 
M. P. Crowther "Writer-historian-student" (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This truly is the ultimate Bond collection and now that I have it I won't endeavour to do so when the next one comes out. All 20 films and each with enough extras to keep you satisfied, especially the rather informative "Inside..." featurettes and this applies to my personal favourite On Her Majesty's Secret Service. The quality is excellent concerning the picture and it's a worthy addition.

Though the only downside is the fact that the box is ill-designed, coming out the bottom of the box...nevertheless, Bond truly is forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond Ultimate Editions, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this product as my grandson had not seen many of the older James Bond films. I am delighted with my purchase - and so is he.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only, 1 Dec 2006
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The one and only bond box set you could ever need. Plenty of in depth coverage that will keep all budding 007 fans both old and new glued to their seats whilst watching the revamped series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliance shines through, 2 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this box on a whim, after quite heavy lunchtime drinking in London and stumbled into HMV on Oxford Street with money burning ahole in my pocket. I bought this (quite heavy) beauty (probably much to do with being a tad sozzled), but in sobriety, what a buy! Every Bond film with fantastic extras and remaster and gereally cleaned up. You know that time when you fancy a bit of Bond? Well they are all here for you to enjoy again and again. Daniel Craig is not represented here (shame, as he is excellent!), but that's not a worry. I can heartily recommend this set to anyone; if you are tinking 'it's a lot of monet, I'm not sure' STOP!, Buy this, you'll not regret it and these wonderful fims are to be enjoyed for manyu years to come! 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE GOLD IN A BOX!, 10 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. J. Mcintyre "History Buff" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As an avid movie fan from the tender age of three years old, I was, as I imagine were many of you, exposed to the Bond phenomenon from the comfort of a cozy couch, with milkshake in hand. Even since the advent of DVD, I could never have hoped for such a luxury which was, upon it's opening, of purely Bondian standards. The films were excellent enough, never mind the scale of special features to which I have never been accustomed. This would be the perfect starter kit for the Bond fan, even though there are now updated versions of this set, I won't bother with another until the franchise screeches to a defiant, and definitive halt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James bond must be best films i know Pure english class!, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These films along with lord of the rings are so good they make u proud to be English and not American! this is a must buy for everyone! although the special fetures are not brilliant who really cares its the movies that count and they are pure brilliance! U just have to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ, 30 Dec 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this is not only a fantastic box set but a brilliant box set containing all the excelent bond films,

or does it,

of course it doesnt,

this was released very shortly before CasinoRoyale, the newest bond film, was released, so there is a film missing form this set.

So idont suggest you buy this as there will probably be a similar, if not identical box set, just like this that contains all the bond films here plus the new one.

Be sensible and think before you spend this much money on a set that looses its value so fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars POOR QUALITY EXTRAS , BUT EXCELLENT FILMS, 3 July 2007
By 
This review is from: James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If anybody has single disc films and is thinking of getting 2 disc editions, than i wouldnt bother as some are faulty and dont play at all. I read other reviews of customers having the same problems, but egnored their advice. I had as a present so i hadnt wasted my own money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond Ultimate Editions Collection  [DVD]
199.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews